Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Celestial Wisdom
Publisher: Ryan Chaddock Games
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2019 22:34:06

I've never played "Numenera", don't own the core book {I downloaded this for free last night}, and happened to notice a certain Ryan Chaddock wrote it, so I decided to read and review it as soon as possible. "Celestial Wisdom" is an easy read, and in fifty four pages, Ryan provides us with AI gods, tech devices, plot hooks, and even included fifty printable cypher cards {Which are neat and tidy compared to many pages of hand written notes}. I don't roll play anymore, but I like to write stories and sessions for other people online, and if you need wacky high tech topics to insert into ANY game system, this title has great ideas to unleash on your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2019 02:58:06

I've been on wiki and fan sites for the last six months or so, and after I summoned the Demon Prince of Apathy, paid homage to H. P. Lovecraft's amateur style, then admitted to Cthulhu that sanity is for the weak, I promised the Internet I would improve my craft. I purchased three classes from the great courses, which were informative, but each took twelve hours a piece to get their message drilled into my soul. In a short span of forty five pages, Ray Vallese summed up those courses and threw in industry pointers, such as cliche words to avoid, over used words, and suggestions on the use of pronouns. I wish I had bought this before the great courses {I got this on sale for $2 or so}, dived right in to my work, and worried about the rest later.

I recommend this product to anyone that wants to take their words seriously. My pilgriwizard to the dark side is complete!

Thanks Ray!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Be Awesome At Dungeon Design (Augmented Edition)
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2019 03:31:39

I've read a lot of world design and dungeon design materials and this is now at the top of my list. I'm tired of dice rolls, battle mechanics, and statistics, and have changed my focus to puzzles, non combat challenges, and descriptions to run my games. Creighton B. lays this out concisely and the read was smooth, but as everyone pointed out, the pdf files have a lot of blank space, so just a heads up [This didn't bother me]. Creighton likes to use "empty" rooms and wandering monsters to build realistic dungeons, which I miss from the old days [I started role playing twenty two years ago], and mentions that the industry is too focused on their page count, rooms filled to the brim with encounters, and treasure hordes, than dramatic/fun stories that make sense for the players AND their characters. Overall I think this title is worth the three dollars I paid for it, and makes me think that amateur/private publishing is the way to go over AAA gaming [I fell in love with "Worlds Apart" and "Machhiato Monsters" after one read]. I'm tired of spending top dollar on name brand core books, when something like this SAYS everything they do, but without all those the pretty pictures and game statistics [How many times do I have to buy a fifty dollar core book to read basically the same stuff... again?].

Creighton B, Thanks for your hard work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Be Awesome At Dungeon Design (Augmented Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, for this review. I'm delighted you fond the book useful. Good luck with your dungeon designs!
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
Publisher: Draken Games
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2019 02:23:40

I grew up on "World Builder's Handbook" and "Dungeon Builder's Handbook" by Wizards of the Coast and they served their purpose well, but for less than five dollars, this little beauty handles planet creation a little bit better than the "World Builder's Guidebook", especially with mapping polar coordinate systems, a topic left untouched by Wizard's of the Coast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
I'm really pleased you liked the Handbook and found it useful!
Killing Streets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2019 18:43:49

"Killing Streets" is a great secondary title to "1000 Hells", "World of Darkness: Hong Kong", and "World of Darkness: Tokyo", but It definitely would have trouble on it's lonesome. "Killing Streets" starts off with a nice five page story about some gangsters and follows that up with an introduction that includes a sizable media review list and a lexicon of Asian underworld lingo. Chapter one is a thirty page overview of Asian culture, which includes the rise of piracy, the Triads, and the Yakuza, a brief history since they've started modernization, what effects it's had on people's lives, shifts of power from agrarian homesteads to run down cities, daily life and expectations, and the typical moral decay that follows. It's not a comprehensive history, but good enough to put the coterie in the mood with a bit of side research. Chapter 2 is a rather large compilation of characters from all parts of Asia like Japan, China, Korea, India, and the Penangallan [Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, and Malaysia], and gives your coterie more creatures of the night than they could shake a stake at. "Killing Streets" is touchy about how it's used, and chapter three goes into depth on how the story teller should approach this product, with an emphasis on each character's internal conflict, hostage situations that involve the innocent, and the constant threat of violence and death. The appendix offers expanded rules for skills like streetwise, etiquette, investigation, and law, then finishes up with tainted areas called broken mirrors. Broken mirrors are pockets of Yomi Wan and the Middle Kingdom that have fused together, where people regularly commit suicide, rape, and murder, all while everybody could care less. The Yama Kings use these broken mirrors to spread Yomi Wan and move Gaia into the Sixth age, but they also serve as power conduits for demons, while they act like a power dampeners for Kuei-Jin, deadly terrain for the uninformed. If you're a story teller that detests combat or excessive violence, this probably isn't the title for you, but for $5, it could be worth the fluff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Killing Streets
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Subsidiaries: A Guide To Pentex
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2019 19:27:49

Subsidiaries: A Guide to Pentex covers the top six companies under the umbrella of Pentex which include, Endron International, Magadon Incorporated, King Breweries and Distilleries, Avalon Incorporated, Tellus Enterprises, and Black Dog Game Factory. The best part about the top six is that most are innocent enough on the outside and go to great lengths to hide their activity or make themselves indispensable to the region, so there will be no nine foot tall walking death machines 80% of the time. White Wolf wants the Story Teller to ham up the "I'm an innocent pedestrian/by stander/worker" and forces the pack to use less obvious methods to solve their problems, especially against the toy company Avalon, the software company Tellus Enterprises, and the pen and paper company Black Dog Game Factory. These corps have some nasty tricks up their sleeves for any slack jawed creature of the night that thinks they're in charge of the situation, such as chemicals that affect Garou and Vampires, genetics that target certain sectors of the population, viruses, teams of lawyers, and an insane amount of wealth to buy off opposition. In my opinion, since Pentex is a global enterprise, they should be in every World of Darkness chronicle. A quick description of their logos while the pack is at the gas station, or a Masquerade violation the pack witnesses in a video game that just hit the markets, would do wonders to add fluff to your chronicle. Even if the coterie/pack doesn't investigate now, they may start to associate Avalon Incorporated with nasty news articles about children stampeded to death in toy stores around their area, visit the Umbra and see a Wyrm infested factory with the same logo, or have their Kinfolk tainted by a bane attached to a Tellus Enterprises video game.

These are all CLEARLY mockeries of real life organizations and are to be taken in jest, which I hear is illegal in some sectors of Gaia, and there the most childish heads up to readers compared to other White Wolf products. Some products deal with horrible real life issues such as rape, murder, child abduction, mass corruption, and other very touchy topics to some players, while this one gives fair warning in chapter six to nerds about their dark side of... laziness, uncleanliness, immaturity, or their lack of vitamin D from no sun exposure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Subsidiaries: A Guide To Pentex
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Shadow War
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2019 05:44:36

Shadow War is a great title to have if you want detailed information on the Twilight War, Midnight War, The Bone Princes, and the Jade Invasion. When the Kuei-Jin have conflicts that need resolved or insults have gone too far, a Twilight War is organized and both parties agree on various terms and conditions like who can throw the best tea party, who's the best boxer, who can build a temple the fastest, the best three out of five in a head on head potato sack races, who is the best at a real live game of Chinese chess called "The War of Pines", or whatever else their the minds can conceive. Unlike a blood hunt, the purpose of the Twilight War is to further the Dharmic path of both Kuei-Jin, maybe acquire a new friend. If the Twilight War doesn't do the trick, someone is an Akuma, or someone slights an ancestor, a full blown Midnight War is declared, which involves both parties and their openly declared red screens [Mortal organizations that do dirty work], forts [Locations that may be attacked], and assets [Sources of income that may be attacked]. All in all Shadow War is a fantastic addition to my White Wolf collection and for less than $10 [I bought the Kindred of the East bundle], it worked perfectly with my chronicle. The only down side to this product, which shouldn't deter you from it, would be the fuzzy pages in the pdf copy, some of which I could barely read, one very small paragraph I couldn't read at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow War
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Masters of Jade
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 11:06:41

WARNING: I bought the pdf copy for six dollars. I read another review saying the paper quality of the actual book is poor compared to others in the same product line. Heads up!

This title is about The Guild and how they have built a trade network from the ground up that spans creation. The Guild is composed mostly of mortals, not creatures of the night and especially not the Solar Exalted. The Guild was built after the fall of the first age by mortals that felt betrayed/abandoned during the collapse. I like economic games video games and pen and paper games that incorporate stream lined rules for businesses. Masters of Jade did a fantastic job of this and if your interested, check out "Worlds Apart" and "A Song of Fire and Ice" for good economic/organization rules.

I've read a lot of White Wolf products and created many creatures of night with my players over the years. The most reviled of all the creatures of the night used to be the Fae/Changelings before I experienced this capitalist nightmare. The Guild's use of casual slavery for profit is really disturbing, but what else should I have expected from a White Wolf product? I don't know how most of these people don't think they will be haunted by wraiths or go to Malfeas/Yomi Wan when they depart from their mortal coil.

One of my main complaints about Vampire: The Masquerade is that creatures of the night are mostly unaware of each other until it comes to blows. I liked Masters of Jade since it tied mortals, exalted, changeling [Rakshas], and Wraiths together in a realistic way. Overall it was a great read and worth the six bucks I paid for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Jade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ananasi
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:58:20

The Ananasi [Spiders] are my favorite Fera or changing breed species along with the Mokole [Lizards] and Rokea [Sharks]. Unlike the Garou and other Fera, the Ananasi don't have rage and are instead cold, methodical, and mellow [exceptions for some classes/breeds like the Kumo [You are in fact lower than rat filth]]. They were not made by Gaia like the other Garou, but by Ananasa, the spider goddess who got trapped in an onyx egg. The goal of the Ananasi, Mokole, and Rokea Triat is to re balance the original Wyld, Wyrm, and Weaver Triat. I like the art in this supplement along with the comic that begins the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ananasi
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The 1000 Hells
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:50:23

I like Hell based literature and was unfamiliar with Asian themed Hells. The Yama Kings are all demonic god entities that mess with your players, not characters, players for infinity. I agree that this book could have easily been double or triple in size, but that forces the Story Teller to be creative. 1000 Hells provides the mechanics to make up logical domains in Hell, Yama Kings to rule those domains, and Akuma who trade their souls to enforce their new lords domains. What's with all the Asian demons and tentacles?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The 1000 Hells
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World of Darkness: Hong Kong
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:42:17

This is worth every penny for sure, going over the history, culture, religion, crime organizations, geography, locations, and who's who of Hong Kong, Kowloon, and the surrounding islands. Page 57 to page 125 covers in detail every NPC associated with locations presented in previous chapters. I like character driven stories more than plot or location driven stories, so this worked for me. The chronicle at the end of the supplement is just long enough to keep things spicy, but didn't seem too complex to keep a float.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Hong Kong
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World of Darkness: Demon Hunter X
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:29:14

The main complaint against choosing a mortal character is that they are weak. Shih are very comparable to Kue-Jin in power, but still feel human at the end of the day. Strike Force Zero agents remind me of Shadowrunners and that was a huge plus for me being a fan of every edition of Shadowrun. My favorite part in White Wolf products has to be the comic or manga at the beginning that sets the mood properly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Demon Hunter X
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dungeon Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:41:34

I've been using this book on and off for years. It's not as good as the "World Builder's Guidebook", but it's a great short sword to complement the long sword.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:39:08

I've been using this since dinosaurs roamed Gaia. It covers advanced topics like geology, tectonics, biomes, city life, pantheons, yadda yadda.
I love this book and have bought it multiple times. It comes with handy sheets to help you develope worlds.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mage The Awakening Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:11:11

Great overview of the tarot. Covers basic usage plus major arcana and minor arcana. The art would be the main reason to get this. I paid $25 before the sale to get a bundle of White Wolf products. I think the pdf version itself is free. I already had a physical tarot deck.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage The Awakening Tarot
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items