Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Black Cat 13 Haunting Tales of Halloween #1
Publisher: Scott Jackson Comic Works
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2016 07:57:15

A satisfying short horror anthology with great art and narrative diversity. I can easily recommend it to any collector of horror comics.

To an American audience the use of orange spot color may seem like an odd gimmick but there is some real attention to comic history with this detail. In the UK, full color comics were cost prohibitive. Often comics were sold with a similar color scheme. Often black and white pages were embellished with touches of a single color. Notably red, blue or green would have been the choice. While using only orange doesn't really save Scott Jackson Comic works any money printing via drivethrucomics as it did the Uk comics publishers it's a really nice nod to history.

My only regret is that I didn't see a 2015 issue up on drivethrucomics. I would be tempted to try it out as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Cat 13 Haunting Tales of Halloween #1
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Hello Daniel, Thank you for the kind words & note on UK comics history! Black Cat 13 #2 is in production as we speak, and looking for a timely release this October. Cheers -Scott
Time Traders of Elequis
Publisher: WP Comics Ltd.
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2016 07:45:13

While I wasn't impressed with WP comics other offering I decided to take a chance and give this book a try. Compared to the Haunting Games this book has better and more consistent art. While the first few pages of Time traders are a bit rough as the artist was finding their style, the art is solid by the end of the book. I respect the improvement.

Also, the story is compelling. I do want to know where it goes from here. This is exactly what a first issue should feel like. If they put a p-o-d issue up for sale I would gladly buy it. I honestly hope they do.

For now, I would continue buying this series and would be willing to give WP comics issues a chance based on how well this booked turned out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Time Traders of Elequis
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Haunting Game
Publisher: WP Comics Ltd.
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2015 21:46:11

I bought this a few weeks ago, but due to the holidays the physical copy has not arrived yet. However, I did get the pdf with it so I can comment on the story. Ordinarily I'd wait until I had the physical copy in hand, because sometimes flaws in the pdf are not present in the physical copy. However, the publisher's odd actions on this site have made me feel compelled to post this a little early.

I bought this book for about $5.80. Shortly after I bought it the price jumped to over $100 dollars. A few days later it jumped to about $350 - 400 for each the digital and physical copy (individually). Now the price tag is at $1,942.93. Either this is the most amazing indy comic ever, or the publishers are viciously price gouging.

As for the quality of the book - the art is uneven and often amateurish. For a 5 dollar buy it would be sub par, but at over 1k per issue the quality of the book is offensive. I'd advise staying away.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunting Game
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the info... Our publications have come a long ways since this comic was released. Our goal with each comic we produced back then was to continue getting better with our artwork and the comics we put out, each one better then the last. Today our work is very high end... and I think even the most seasoned comic fan will agree and we welcome all comments. We have as I said come a long ways forward since then. Sorry about that pricing... Unfortunately that was not me... that was a drive thru comics error. All my comics were jumping back and forth like that in prices... I am surprised we sold any during that time. You check out our work today and if you would like to review any of our comics today... you let me know... www.wpcomicsltd.com... We are redoing our website but do take a look... you will see a big difference. Thanks again... WP Comics Ltd.
Sagas of the Northmen
Publisher: Black Jack Press
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2015 06:34:40

In the interest of disclosure I should mention that I am one of the kickstarter backers for this comic. I was given a copy as one of the rewards. Normally I would wait on the review until I had received the physical copy, however it will not be printed on drivethrucomics to my knowledge.

What initially captured my attention about this comic was the unique and exciting theme of the anthology. While I love horror, sci-fi and mixed genre anthologies it was refreshing to see a book that did something markedly different. I can't say that I have seen any other recent Viking themed anthology.

Even better, the book is well curated. While the art and writers vary between stories the book feels cohesive in tone. There are far more hits than misses in this collection. And in the rare occasion where the story didn't entice me as much as the other contributions the art was always compelling. This is one of the most consistently engrossing anthologies I have read in some time.

I had hoped that reading the digital version would tide me over until the print copy arrived. Honestly, I am now even more impatient for its' delivery. I would strongly recommend any version of this book. I am also hopeful that more volumes are made in future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sagas of the Northmen
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Whip Angels Volume 1
Publisher: Studio ONY
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2015 12:49:51

What a difference a page makes.

I had read the preview on the site and wasn't overly impressed. I decided to try to book anyway, and am very glad I did. After the first few rather stereotypical pages the story becomes increasingly engaging.

For a book that is mostly exposition between two characters the pace of the exchange can feel rather lively. Both of the main characters have well defined personalities that are engaging. The art can be expressive. While some of it feels amateurish, it still posses direction and decent execution.

This is an excellent first chapter. If there were more chapters I'd love to see them. And, I would really like to see how the artist has developed over the past few years.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Whip Angels Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Saint Germaine: Quasimodo's Tale
Publisher: Caliber Comics
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2015 07:21:09

At its' core this book is a masterful variation on The Hunchback of Notre Dame. The art is stunningly detailed and the word choice is extremely effective. Because the framing device is Saint Germaine telling a story it would have been very easy for the book to abuse the rule of show don't tell. Even with much of the story told to us, the comic still works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saint Germaine: Quasimodo's Tale
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Deadlands: One Shot
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2015 06:57:10

While I was aware of the Doomtown CCG and the Deadlands RPG back in the '90's this is my first product that I have purchased in the setting. As my introduction into the world it is both a satisfying comic and satisfying world guide. My desire to read more comics in the setting and to try the game is evidence of its' successful execution.

The art is good, though some of the characters do look a like. The tone is enhanced by both the moodiness and vibrancy of the colors. The Horror and Western genres are simultaneously showcased by art that is both creepy and full of action. I very rarely find two different genres blended as seamlessly as they are here.

From a technical standpoint the scan is decent but not without flaws. Some pages have white edges while others do not. There are some dialog boxes that are clipped by the edge of the page. It's a reasonable recreation of the original comic.

Overall, I am excited about looking further into the setting and catalog.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: One Shot
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Wild Life: The Cardinal Collection
Publisher: Dork Storm Press
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2015 19:16:31

I had often wondered about the humble origins of Carson the Muskrat. He starts here as a college student who is undergoing the process of figuring out his life (well before he meets the Dork Tower crowd). Also, he's really funny to read about.

While I want to talk about Wild Life as a proto-Dork Tower that comparison is hardly fair. Yes, the art style has evolved. And yes, I can see the beginnings of some common themes and joke material. However, calling Wild Life a "proto-Dork Tower" makes it sound like it's not a full product or idea on it's own. The reality is that Wild Life is a fully formed idea that is well executed. While there are some areas that Dork Tower may have carried on and expanded, Wild Life deserves to be read as more than just a historical curiosity.

The physical copy was well made, though the dimensions of the book are obviously not the ones of the original print run. Based on the cover art, I suspect the original printing was shaped like the old Far Side lengthy collections. Quirks of the reprint aside, it's a high quality printed book and well worth what I paid for it. I look forward to buying more of Kovalic's collections here.

The only real drawback to the book is that some of the political references haven't aged well. You need to be well versed in 180's politics to fully get all the jokes. I was alive in the 80's and can barely remember the importance of a few of the punchlines. I hope anyone younger than me majored in history or poli sci (or is prepared to wiki several jokes).

Still, the bulk of the comics stand well on their own. Most speak to universal experiences of college kids. I remember myself and my friends at that age and there is a bit of us reflected in the main cast. I suspect that most people will be able to read it and say the same.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild Life: The Cardinal Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Werewolf the Apocalypse: Fianna
Publisher: Moonstone
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2015 16:55:54

Having purchased several of the Moonstone White Wolf graphic novels I continue to be impressed with them. The world building and characters are flawless. The art is amazing and typically the style suits the story well. In this particular book the characters are written with an Irish accent (that is at least good enough to impress me, but I am not Irish). I will continue working my way through the books offered in print.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf the Apocalypse: Fianna
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Hat Squad: Falling Star
Publisher: Moonstone
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2015 16:39:51

If you are craving a story in the classic noir style this graphic novel does an excellent job. The tone, art, and language remind me of the movies that I have watched in the genre.

The book is reasonably priced (less than $7 dollars for print and 2.99 for digital only). The print copy I received was of high quality. Despite being a scanned image book the images were crisp. The art was well preserved and had survived the transition.

After ignoring a woman's request for help the Hat Squad becomes involved in solving her murder out of guilt. They was no time in scouring all known avenues for results. The conclusion is a true noir conclusion. I don't want to spoil it, but I will say that it was very fitting for the story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hat Squad: Falling Star
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Swiiish #1
Publisher: Grumpy Old Bastard Komix
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2015 16:24:13

This is a solid first entry into a series. By the end I genuinely want to know more about where the title is headed. I look forward to seeing more issues and being able to watch the story develop.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Swiiish #1
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Tales of War
Publisher: Keck Publishing
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2015 14:31:30

This is a quality OpenD6 release. While I personally prefer the basic OpenD6, this system uses one of the variants well. It nails the feel of the setting. The potential for adventure with this book is excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of War
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire the Masquerade: Calebros
Publisher: Moonstone
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2015 11:16:04

If you are looking for a stand alone graphic novel to try as a way of testing Moonstone's Vampire: The Masquerade run this book is an excellent place to start. Calebros is a frustrated academic cast into the role of overwhelmed bureaucrat. While he's trying his best at keeping the city from crumbling into chaos his own mind is beginning to unravel from within.

Calebros is an engaging protagonist and the story does an excellent job exploring his identity.The has tension, mystery, and some exciting payoffs. I genuinely would like to know more about the character.

The price of less than $7 dollars is a reasonable rate for the print. It is cheaper than many of the other world of darkness books, although this due to it being in black and white. If you want a low risk entry into the collection it would be hard to find a better book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire the Masquerade: Calebros
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire the Masquerade: Blood & Loyalty
Publisher: Moonstone
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2015 11:06:24

Excellent value can be found in this trade. It collects 5 of the Vampire graphic novels for the efficient price of around $15 dollars for a printed copy. Tue stories are varied, but each show contribute by showing a different aspect of the World of Darkness. Even if one of the stories is a personal miss the amount of content that is sure to be engrossing far outweighs the price tag.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire the Masquerade: Blood & Loyalty
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Werewolf the Apocalypse: Glass Walkers
Publisher: Moonstone
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2015 10:22:34

I don't generally buy digital only comics. I prefer the feel of holding a comic as I read. However, I was purchasing another larger White Wolf comic and decided to toss on this file as an impulse buy. I do not regret it.

The Glass Walkers, for those not as well versed in White Wolf Lore, are the technologically inclined tribe of werewolves that see it as their duty to protect the cities from the wyrms influence. The story centers on a "tribe" of recruits who are investigating a mysterious video game. The characters are well defined and are memorably likable. The story combines mystery, horror and action superbly.

The highest praise that I can give is that after reading this e-comic I want to purchase the second Werewolf trade. This story is included, according to the description. I would happily buy the trade in order to add this story to my physical comic collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf the Apocalypse: Glass Walkers
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items