Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tribebook: Naghaluu
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 11:44:58

BLUF: Buy this book at least for the readability of the work. It is by far the most interesting work so far presented in the Savage Age line. Focused on the Were-Dire Wolves as they existed in the Americas, the book adds a lot of depth to the concept that the Wyld is the member of the Triat that's messing things up in the era. The details of the War of Many Teeth and how it had modern day ramifications are also interesting and makes perfect sense. If an update for this book occurred that brought in more Savage Age lore, this book would be a steal $8. It only needs a few small tweaks to really turn this Tribebook into the best Savage Age product.

Now for the criticism: The book suffers a little from it being an early book of the Savage Age and currently has minimal crossover with the other Savage Age books. I also think that some players might be a little turned off from the way aspect gifts are treated, but I personally think they make sense and add to the uniqueness of this Fera.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tribebook: Naghaluu
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Tribebook: Ceilican
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2021 11:41:17

BLUF: If you incorporate mixed Bastet or Changelings into your Savage Age chronicle, then definitely pick this up. The tribe book attempts to establish an identity outside of the angle from WtA that the Ceilican are only defined by their imprisonment in Arcadia. It truly does flesh out the tribe to being more than the victims of the fae. From my perspective, the book provides them an identity to the Bastet tribes similar to how the Bone Gnawers are to the Garou nation. The value vs cost is spot on. With an expansive update, I could see this book going for $10 and not feel cheated in that price.

Criticisms: Similar to the other two tribe books currently available, the book can use a good once-over to bring it in line with the developments that have been fleshed out in Vol 1-3 of the main SA line. Going deeper into some of their lore and how they were able to balance out their new found fascination with hominid's technological advances and their connection to the Wyld and dreaming would also have been of benefit to the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tribebook: Ceilican
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Bordeaux by Night - Players Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2020 13:58:53

So for my BLUF: This is an awesome players guide for Bordeaux. It's comprehensive enough for the average player without going so deep to be overwhelming. That being said, the experience player will undoubtably spring for the revised guide. It is a deeper lorebook and addresses many things others have noted in their reviews. I'm going to post a more in depth review of the revised players guide and storytellers guide to Bordeaux by Night. Please refer to those reviews for more specific details on the books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Savage Age Epic Jumpstart: The Broken-Brother
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2020 21:13:15

BLUF: This takes 90% of the guesswork out of starting a chronicle in the Savage Age. This is a must have resource for new storytellers to be able to jump straight into the deep end of this awesome Era Setting of Werewolf the Apocalypse. As an added bonus, the authors include a nice discount for some of the other Savage Age books which add depth and complexity to the setting. As it's been said in other reviews; the Savage Age books are what everyone wanted the W20: Shattered Dreams to include but didnt. I especially like that a big bad ass enemy (with a Rank 6 Gift!!!) npc and multiple neutral npcs are included. There are few things that I would have liked (such as some talens and fetishes) but all those are easily found in Savage Age Vol. 3. All in all; this relieves some of the immensity and anxiety that comes with starting a new TTRPG and shouldn't be ignored. You are truly getting content that is worth more than they are selling it for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Savage Age Epic Jumpstart: The Broken-Brother
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Changing Breeds: Wild West Tales Anthology
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 03:09:23

BLUF: This anthology is definitely worth getting for the price. While, I don't normally review purely fiction books; this review was a nice change of pace. Each of the ten short stories are interesting, engaging and fit the theme and tone of the Wild West and Changing Breeds lore. I especially liked The Good Doctor story. Each story is well-written and it is evident that each of the authors are accomplished and talented. My only true criticism is one that I have for all TTRPG fiction pieces; Please give us basic info on the main characters so we can use them in our own stories! Seriously, some of the characters in the book are so enthralling and hint to so many more stories that it'd be truly awesome to see more stories with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changing Breeds: Wild West Tales Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Tribebook: Khara
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2020 16:41:57

So for my BLUF first: If you are interested in the Khara (Were-Sabertoothed Tigers), W20 Shattered Dreams, the Bastet or WW The Savage Age; then you want to scoop this sourcebook up.

Now that being said, there are some rough edges around this book that has been buffed out in the newer Savage Age products; and TB: Khara could really benefit from a revision to get it in line with them. TB: Khara’s current revision is definitely worth the price, and I could even see an increase in how much it costs providing the revision was substantive.

My main criticisms are that it could use some more artwork, a more consistent method of presenting the information, and some more information regarding the important members of the Tribe. It’s easy to see the glimmer of greatness, but it just needs a little more coaxing to bring it to the forefront.

It’s still a 5* book (quality vs. cost), but it could be one of those books that just totally blows you away.

When (if) an update occurs, I will update this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tribebook: Khara
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Rise of the Garou: The Savage Age Volume Two
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2020 10:55:51

I always start a review with the bottom line up front (BLUF). The BLUF is that if you liked Savage Age 1, then you will also enjoy this one. By going into depth regarding the Garou as they were before the War of Rage and coming together as a Nation; the book really sets the tone of the era. Furthermore, it delineates how the different tribes begin to develop their own flavor and identity. I especially liked the addition of the Cave Bear Fera and how they contributed to the formation of the Garou Nation. The author(s) continue to develop the era that the Shattered Dreams book began. The line continues to fill the gap that Shattered Dreams created and I am looking forward to Vol. 3. It's rare for an author to comprehensively create products that build upon and support each one, and Mr. Gunning does a great job accomplishing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rise of the Garou: The Savage Age Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Accounting for the Dead: The Savage Age Volume One
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2020 14:38:49

So for the bottom line up front (BLUF) on this sourcebook; if you are wanting to run a WW chronicle set during the stone age and/or the War of Rage, then get this book. The author(s) behind the book have done an awesome job fleshing out the time period. The other reviews listed are right on target, and I concur with them 100%. Additionally, the authors are very communicative with the purchasers of the book; which is a nice change of pace. My only complaint would be for more content, which isn't a real complaint of course.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accounting for the Dead: The Savage Age Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items