Storytellers Vault
Narrow Results











Back
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks $4.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 5
1 3
0 0
0 0
0 0
Ascension\'s Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Yui F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2020 11:09:23

i think this is essential mage storyteller material, it gives you clear options on how to build the exact kind of world of darkness that you want to run in your mage chronicle. well-formated, well-written and extremely helpful



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2020 13:52:55

Ascension's Landscape is an amazing book that takes helps flush out a storyteller's campaign. This book asks a lot of questions and provides answers to theses questions. For example, how dark is your world of darkness, is it a setting filled with violence, or a setting where things go bump in the night. Or how many mages are there, are mages common place, how many sleepers awaken, how dangerous is it to be an awaken mage etc, etc. There are many great things we could say about this product but we don't want to spoil to much.

The Tabletop Gaming club found this to be one of the most useful books we have seen when planning out a mage chronicle. We strongly recommend this book to Mage storytellers. Its an important tool for every storyteller's library.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 11:12:49

I love this book. I think it tackles common questions in a detailed and straightforward way, crucially without destroying the mystery or metaphysics of Mage. The World of Darkness (WoD) is a mysterious and contradictory monster (IMHO by design), so I assume most players have been involved in conversations discussing how fitting the WoD together could work. Example queries:

  • How many Mages are there and how does this affect the Ascension War?
  • How much violent crime does different parts of the WoD have, what does that violence translate social-economically? From when the games were originally created, how do we track the changes in real life to WoD?
  • How does money work in a world of seemingly abundant Supernatural power, and in particular mind control?

And so forth, with each answer typically resulting in more fun queries. I love this about RPGs in general, that my groups and I get to decipher and decide; I’d very much have appreciated this sort of book back in the 90s, when we were are all first getting to grips with the WoD. It is not to suggest that the numerous WoD books have never presented questions and provided several answers, they have; nor to imply that this book is an exhaustive list of queries and suggestions. It’s that Terry’s approach of exploring different answers in relation to each over and also in a focused product is great and pithy; I’m a big fan of altering numbers/dials and exploring the results. I think what really takes this book from being classed as a Complete Success, to a Phenomenal Success, is including so many Story/Chronicle Hooks.

I recommend this book to all. Whether you are a new player or a veteran, there are many things contained within for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2020 19:38:06

An excellent book that answered questions I didn't know I needed to ask! The only reason it's not a 5-star rating is that there's always room for improvement, and that some of the sections were unclear about which was the default setting assumption in "canon" Ascension.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Tristan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2020 00:43:54

A wonderful book that explores the various options a storyteller has when creating their own World of Darkness through the Mage paradigm. While the base gamebooks offer their own view of the World of Darkness, there is a vast array of options and questions left for the storyteller to answer. What does it mean if the world had a high mage population? How organized are the various Traditions / Crafts / Conventions? In what ways are the shadows in your World of Darkness deeper than our world? Is it darker than our world? Depending on where you live, mundane reality may be dark enough for your chronicle as is. This book offers many options to help new and experienced storytellers alike flesh out their worlds, with plot hooks and fleshed out options to bring that extra flavor to any campaign. While absolutely made for Mage, I believe this book is worthwhile to any storyteller, as the base questions are mostly the same for all game lines. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2020 23:31:31

One of the most unexpected surprises is how often it overlaps intelligently and smoothly into other classic World of Darkness/Onyx Path game settings.

For instance, if you're a fan of Vampire or Changeling, but you've rarely played Mage, the amount of well-thought-through crossover material makes this supplement a good deal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Gabriel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2020 11:59:30

One of (if not the) best fanbook to help Storytellers understand the World of Darkness as a whole. Full of tips to help you make your world yours. I love the chapter that cover how violence changes the setting, especially de specifics about murder rates and all that. Really fun and smooth read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2020 09:25:57

Ascension's Landscape reveles some of the knobs that let you customize the setting of your campaing with guided consideration. While the book is wrapped in Mage-purple, a lot of the content is relevant to any World of Darkness or Chronicles of Darkness game, asking you about the nature of darkness in your setting. The writing, especially the in-character quotations, displays the authors wit and presents interesting questions for Mages to consider.

The value of an RPG supplement is the conent, but the layout and art raise it to the level of a professional product. With a few new pieces of art and the excellent use of Mage templates and art assets, Ascension's Landscape looks and feels like a part of the line.

Overall, this supplement is definitely worth the five-dollar price tag if you play Mage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items