Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide $19.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 5
1 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Gavin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2019 19:47:56

I wish I had had these books 5 years ago when I ran a Vampire game in France. You can easily tell that the author has a passion for the setting, and most likely is a local of the area. Little bits of setting information are included that you wouldn't get in most other books, such as how students often congregate around a certain statue, or why 'corner shops' have a certain name. There's a bit more information on wine than I would need for my style of games, but it's probably best it's referenced for those who want it to be more of the focal point (since it is a major wine region). The characters and setting information is version agnostic (except for the references to some Changelings, which is from The Dreaming and not The Lost as they are completely incompatible), which is both a good thing and a bad thing. I personally would have liked some information about what skills and disciplines characters were favoured/weak for each NPC, but that wouldn't be really feasible. The books were made in Scribus (correction - It was Word, which makes the rest even more impressive) (found out through conversations with the author) and that does unfortunately show every now and again (isses with kerning/hyphenation mainly, but I'm sensitive to this due to DTP layout being my forte), but the author did a damn good job in the layout, even with having to fight what the program thought was best. And there was the occassional issue with how certain sentences read (I'm assuming the author has English as a second language rather than a first), but you can still easily understand what is being conveyed. I certainly hope that the author can make enough money to hire an editor for future projects, just to make it look more professional, even though these books are well executed. With a few polishing touches, I feel they could go far in the self-publishing field, and I look forward to other books they might write that I can use when I next run Vampire (and would like to see them approach doing setting books for other lines, like Changeling The Lost).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi! I never mentioned using Scribus (I know of it but can't be bothered). Everything was done on Word! :) But yes, I agree it needs a new layout format, and some cleaning up of the wording. English is my third language, but truth is I'm a terrible creative writer (I don't phrase shit well :'(). Once I work on my creative writing, it'll get better! The (vampire) NPCs have character sheets in a separate Zip File! I believe you might find that Guide to Coteries Volumes 1 to 4 have a much better layout (full page preview will give you the info needed). I have absolutely no knowledge of Changeling the Lost, but I know I should consider it. I hope you'll download the updated layout/corrections of this and the Players Guide once they're updated, make sure to follow me on twitter/fb/website to know when it releases! (because I can't give notifications through Drivethru)
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by John S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2019 06:41:49

A detailed companion book to the Bordeaux by Night player's guide that is absolutely essential for storyteller's running campaigns in Bordeaux or France in General. Lots of details on the hidden agendas and motivations of the kindred population. You can read my full review, with thoughts [HERE]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Fabricio P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2019 13:10:24

This book is an inspiring read for veterans and newbies alike. The the ammount of work that has been put into this in order to create believeable and detailed characters and settings is staggering, and certainly most reccomended if you want to set your chronicle in the city or need a guideline on how to build and research your own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2019 17:48:07

The companion book the Bordeaux By Night Player's guide, the Storyteller's Guide is a can't miss book for storytellers. This book goes into details of the city and the kindred, the player's guide just hinted at. The kindred presented in this book are fully flushed out, with flaws and closet skeletons, which allows for a game filled with social intrigue and in some cases deep personal horror.

This is a must have book for any storyteller wanting to run a game in the Bordeaux area. The quality of this book exceeds many of the professionally done by Night books. The Tabletop Gaming Club loved this setting and strongly recommends it to Storytellers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Vincenzo B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2019 07:11:41

Another great Secrets of Masquerade guide. Well detailed, it shows a truly remarkable study of Bordeaux history and Vampire the Masquerade mood, integrated seamlessly. Surely among the best Storyteller's Vault products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Arby S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2019 19:07:50

by far my favorite "By Night" setting in both official and unofficial material. This book is full of interesting, memorable, well-researched characters with skeletons in their closet and secrets to be exploited by cunning players and PCs. A treasure trove for any ST wanting to run a "behind closed doors" personal horror tale and weave their characters intothe gripping narrative of the city. There is so many ways to bring Bordeaux crumbling down. Do you dare to open Pandora's Box? Lift the silk blanket off the rotten carcass? Or do you prefer stability over justice?

I give it 5 Stars, one of the best fiction content to come out of STVault and VTM at large.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Publisher: White Wolf
by Lisa B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2019 14:06:09

If you liked the Players' Guide to Bordeaux by Night, you do not want to miss this book. All of the juiciest secrets are contained within, and as a ST, you should definitely get your hands on it to find out just how many ways your players can blow up the powder keg that is Bordeaux's Kindred society (and trust me, there are a number of phenomenally explosive ways to go, all provided in detail in this guide). Let your players pick their poison; there's no doubt things are going to fall apart around them, but they have the power to pick which corner of the house of cards they want to bring down first. Obviously, as a player you should not touch this book at all, much less read it - spoilers abound within, and it will ruin your enjoyment of the setting since it takes away much of the gut punches your ST could pull off with these plots otherwise. If you want social intrigue, well-made, realistic characters with flaws and skeletons in their closets, and love to poke your nose where it doesn't belong, then you can't pass up the opportunity to explore the city of wine. Come for the chance to secure a foothold in a recently shaken-up domain, stay for the "car crash, can't look away"-levels of awfulness unfolding as you learn just who exactly you're rubbing elbows with in Bordeaux.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items