Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Devotion to Power
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2019 20:29:39

This is quite a handy book to have. All of the ideas are at least interesting and could find a home in most Requiem games, and some of them are very innovative and fun new ways to look at using Devotions.

And it was a fun surprise to see Mercurial Form. That one is a deep cut from way back in the first book I worked on. I like how you tweaked it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devotion to Power
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much! Glad you like it.
Snowhaven Jumpstart
Publisher: High Level Games
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 13:55:29

Very cool setting, and the book is just the right mix of rules vs. setting/story. It is not a super comprehensive setting, but as a jumpstart/introduction to the world, it gives a wealth of information. Plenty to start using this book as the basis for a campaign.

I love the insight into the people of Snowhaven more than anything. I don't play 5E for mindless hack & slash, and this book gives a great look at the setting for people who want the urban games of intrigue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowhaven Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Rose City by Night
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2019 10:55:09

From a player's perspective, this is as solid of a City By Night book as any others produced by the studio back in the 90s. Probably more solid than many of those books. It has history, a real sense of what Portland is like to live in, and some compelling characters. I tend to set any of my games in the area that I actually live in, but this book is one of few that would compel me to do something different. This is due, in large part, to the section about Feeding. More than just nifty new rules, the section is there to demonstrate how games in Portland would be unique. The rules can certainly be adapted for use in other settings, but they already feel "native" to the Portland setting.

From the perspective of another Community Content creator, this book is just as valuable. It serves as another example of quality we look for in the Storytellers Vault. Some of us are professionals, some of us are amateurs. Not every title needs to come in at over 100 pages, but we should all be aspiring to deliver a topic as well presented as this book. It isn't about coming up with a masterpiece, using skill developed from dozens of previously published professional pieces. It is about following through and providing a thorough look at the topic we choose to tackle. Rose City does that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rose City by Night
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Denmark by Night
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2019 09:57:22

Great book, and was presented very well!

Interesting characters and "odd" or rare character types seem to be natural fits in the setting.

I particularly liked the insight into the language and culture and how the book relates such ideas for use. Words and concepts were not simply translated; they were explained and demonstrated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Denmark by Night
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Nine Spheres
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 06:52:59

A great companion to print out and keep with the pages of quick reference charts and tables from M20.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nine Spheres
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Weighing the Cost
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2019 21:25:37

I enjoyed reading this story, and I would definitely use this in one of my games. It is rare for me to use a prepared story as it is written, normally preferring to chop bits out or add bits in to fit "my style" of playing. This story would need no such modification.

I really appreciated the focus on normal people in normal situations. Mage can be about very magical, wondrous topics, but there really needs to be room for personal and relatable stories we can all identify with. This story provides exactly that. The characters are all believable, the situation does not break suspension of disbelief (I know...this is Mage, but some scenarios can be pretty "out there"), and it can be used to remind players about consequences of their characters' actions.

On another note, I am also creating some Community Content for Mage. I bought this to get another author's take on structuring a Mage story and its many components. I was not disappointed in this aspect, either. Surely, this will serve as a bit of inspiration. Satisfying stories do not always need complex plots, impossible mystery, and so on. This product proves a simple story with heart is still a very good story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weighing the Cost
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so very much for this review. I truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing your work on the Vault! Thanks, Travis
Renegades of Mercury: Love's Messengers
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2019 11:35:09

I don't read or play very much Wraith, as much as I love the entire concept of the game. Perhaps I have not gotten into the game too deply because...it is so alien. Perhaps seems too disconnected from the rest of the World of Darkness.

The simple idea conveyed in this small supplement really brings Wraith back "home" to relevance in the Lands of the Living. Whether the idea is used in the Great War setting or any other area of conflict, it brings a powerful theme and relevance to Wraith. It isn't a lot of material, but it presents a solid idea that could "connect" the Wraith game with people/places players like myself can identify with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renegades of Mercury: Love's Messengers
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2019 18:23:01

I will start with saying this is certainly worth the modest price. Even if someone just mines it for bits and pieces, a buck and a half is worth the ideas and ready-to-use storyteller characters.

It is just a one-page jumpstart, as advertised. In that one page, the author manages to inject a bit of background, mystery, AND a couple of directions to create a story from. The details behind the phenomenon are vague, but I believe a decent one-page jump-start should be. A rough idea to inspire other storytellers to develop. Personally, I sometimes find that initial spark to be the most difficult, so I could benefit from jump-start ideas.

The real bonus and value to buying this is in the storyteller characters. There are at least a half-dozen fully detailed characters related to the story ideas. Even if you don't want to use the one-shot idea, you essentially have another half-dozen seeds for antagonists.

My only real issue with this is the characters. Individually, they are interesting and very usable for a variety of stories and roles. However, to be included with the one-shot and implied to be connected, I would have preferred to read more about how the characters are connected to each other. How those relationships could become story elements would have been more interesting than diving into the deep history of the individual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heirs to the Mountains of  Madness
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Rio de Janeiro by Night
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2019 17:23:04

Top Tier, professional, and engaging!

This book is everything a "By Night" title should be. He gave us history, the feeling of really being in Rio, interesting characters, and plenty of reason to use the book. I don't want to give away any spoilers (I know some of us buy these things to read more than just play), but I will say that I was left wanting more. Not because it was incomplete or because there were missing pieces, but because I want to know what happens next. And that is the whole point of doing a setting book well.

Some specific parts immediately come to mind, which made it feel unique:

The Carnival and social pieces (normally I don't like all of the "social combat" rules, but these were done well especially because it feels so...natural for the setting)

Octavia (her name is almost too "on the nose", but she was a fun character to read about)

The extensive coterie/relationship charts ("Wait...that character is allied with her AND him?" Very useful to have for really getting to know what's going on before running a game in that city)

It really sets a standard to which my future projects will be measured against.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rio de Janeiro by Night
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
What a nice review! Besides encouraging, your words give me some feedback about what works well for future reference/projects. Thanks a lot!
Oh, and a cool curiosity - Octavia's name is indeed a giveaway, but she's not my creation. She's an official character portrayed in "A World of Darkness Second Edition" as a denizen of Rio. I just did my best to incorporate her into my story main plots. ;)
Progenitors Crash Cart, Issue 2
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2019 11:48:14

This book, primarily about a single character and his activity in the region, is a fun read. The author presented a web of usable personalities and motives which could be easily adaptable to our games. The presentation, layout, and uses of the game rules were all used very well. I might place more importance than others on layout. Perhaps it is superficial of me, but I like to feel like I am reading a Mage (or whatever other game when referring to other documents) supplement. This didn't disappoint.

The specific thing I liked about this short book was that all of the information was relevant to the characters and events. Yes, "flavor text" is great, but is a distraction when it isn't relevant. Same goes for entries like new powers, new items (Artifacts, etc), and other extensions of rules mechanics. This book made use of everything the author put into it.

The only thing I didn't care for really only comes down to how we all play the game differently and enjoy different aspects of it. The characters involved seemed a little too powerful or heavy-handed. They could work as masterminds for a larger chronicle based upon the actions of the Doctor and his associates, but the book just scratched the surface for potential stories like that. Similarly, if scaled down, I could see them as being very fun elements for characters to directly interact with. I really love crossovers, but in this case I would likely adapt this book to just slightly reduce the amount of "heavy hitters" from each of the supernaturals present.

Overall: fun ideas, absolutely could see using it in my games, but would reduce the power levels of provided characters



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Progenitors Crash Cart, Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2018 23:37:15

Certainly an amazing book. I could rave on for paragraphs and repeat (and agree with) all of the praise, but I will keep to one thing I find very important. All of us use the various supplement books' ideas and make stories of our own; we don't shackle ourselves to every little word. This book exceeded my expectations by actually going an extra step and giving us so many different ways of using the ideas presented in the book. The authors don't simply say, "Things happen, this is the result." No...this book tells us, "Things happen, and here are a bunch of really intersting things that might happen tomorrow. AND here are tips for making even more unique outcomes." In addition, everything is written in a way that those of us who enjoy "following the metaplot" can still easily twist a few of the book's events, making our own versions without "breaking" the presentation of the metaplot.

While the scope of this book is far too great to be commonly repeated, the type of information it gives us about the setting and the manner in which it is presented...is the new standard to which all other books will be compared. Can i give this 6 stars?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

SotM's Guide to Dying
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 09:54:18

I love toolkit books like this. Short, sweet, to the point, without need for tons of flowery exposition.

I found this short book to be quite helpful. Too often, I personally get a little bogged down by all of the metaphysical elements of Wraith. Granted, these elements are what makes the game more interesting, but in the end, it is about our characters.

This book is a refreshing gathering of examples and inspiration. Ideas that might be used to inspire my next character, the next antagonist, or even a full blown storyline. After all...the passions behind why anyone becomes a wraith is what drives the whole game.

I particularly like the introduction. Sure, we can all sit and brainstorm how a character died and how it affects them. But...having a bit of a "cheatsheet" of origins as they relate to the game can save a few minutes when preparing the next game session or story arc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Dying
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items