Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Storyteller Quick Reference Charts
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2019 02:07:48

This is one of those supplements you pick up because you just want some quick reference charts. It delivers. It's well formatted in my opinion and it's something that can be shared with your players (should they need it) without worrying about all of the additional graphics most supplements come with (like the official game screen)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storyteller Quick Reference Charts
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Charts of Darkness: Vampire
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2019 02:03:41

The good: the charts and the ideas behind them, especially the Sabbat name list. With new people coming to the game with V5 this will help new people to the game (or new people to V20 which is still getting plenty of play time).

The meh: formatting. While this might be weak it really is a minor point. If you are buying this packet it's for the information contained, not for fancy graphs and side bars. But I won't lie when I say it does help to touch that part of this supplement up. If it's done right, with a font used in the original game books, it will go from looking like one of the old Vampire geocities fan sites to a slick product.

Bought it during the sale but for .50 cents can you really say no?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Charts of Darkness: Vampire
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Fiends and Foes: Ready Made Antagonists for V20
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2019 01:58:27

Overall I like the product and it will work for those in need of a quick fix in most cases. However for a supplement specifically designed to cut down on some of the leg work, some of the characters will need some reworking. For example: the Sabbat Inquisitors is woefully underpowered to fight the causes of their namesake. No one is physically inclined and in fact this seems to be a gaping hole in their tactics. It's stated they are seeking to rout out the infernal and the heretical, yet 2 of them lack any ability to see it (no Alertness or Awareness). There are similar problems throughout the character sheets themselves. Most lack any ability to dodge (Athletics) and others that are social characters lacking abilities like Expression and Subterfuge. Other issues that stand out is the Vampire with True Faith and only has a Humanity of 5 (which by the rules doesn't work) and the 8th gen vampire with 6 levels of Dominate.

The idea for the packet is sound but more research is needed to fully flesh out the sheets, which diminshes the reason for this packet.

Still think it was worth buying while on sale but I'll probably have to redo the character sheets if I want to use them



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fiends and Foes: Ready Made Antagonists for V20
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Fear and Loathing `77
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2019 14:04:00

There is a reason this book has so many reviews with high praise: it's warranted.

As a long time fan of the Sabbat genre in V:tM I've had to deal with so many players who's only working knowledge were poorly run 'monsters of the week' encounters in table top and in LARP (direct quote from one: "those are the devil worshippers right?"). This adventure is easy enough to grasp for new players and old and it isn't so loaded with specific Sabbat details that the aforementioned player types would get lost. It's a solid adventure with some added support in case players veer in one direction or the other. It tackles some of the highlights of being Sabbat (monomancy, esbat, sect politics, etc) and also doesn't play into the meta gaming tropes long term players fall into such as "I'm (insert non Sabbat vampire type) so I should just murder/death/kill these guys". It gives us a look at an uneasy peace between the Anarchs and Sabbat and touches on some interaction briefly.

And being a fan of the Giovanni I'm a big fan of the fact that the writer did his homework and didn't forget/nix the Giovanni position in Las Vegas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Loathing `77
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Bloodcraft
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 14:31:02

5 of 5. Overall the structure of this book was fantastic and I felt like I was reading an official supplement. The borders on the edge alternated back and forth but that looked more like it was designed to be printed than a design flaw. Loved the content and the feeling that it wasn't just a splatbook designed to give 1-2 high powered abilities or rules but it was meant to be balanced.

the new merits and flaws was probably among my favorite sections



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodcraft
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Treasures of the Blood
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 13:42:22

4 of 5 stars. Only marked down for some dithering/hard to read text from some of the in-character notes along the sides due to the font type (presumably) and my desire to see the items statted out.

Overall: Nice potential for plot hooks and in my opinion, well written. Definitely worth the purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of the Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jerome, thanks for taking the time to review the title. I experimented with the in-character asides to see how readers would react; a call-back to the earlier days of White Wolf publishing titles. It's good to get an honest reaction. I certainly hope that you have the opportunity to use the book in one of your chronicles.
Clanbook - Lhiannan
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2018 03:46:16

I feel bad for the low rating so I feel obliged to explain why.

1) I was expecting more. 9 pages is the listed count, over half of that is taken up with images. Page 1 is the cover image, page 2 is essentially an inside cover image (which would have been fine if the file had been much more substantial) 3rd page is the credits which of course is required, page 4 and 5 are just images. Page 5 has an image of a wolf which is just barely offset but gives me the impression this was placed to stretch out the page count because it really isn't needed. Same thing with page 6-9. In some cases, such as the cover and the image of the man on the final page, they look like they were stretched or otherwise not sitting proportionally. Layering the book cover in a graphic editor allowing the adjustment of the two figures without having to play with the proportions would make it look better.

2) The word count is very thin and it's riddled with gramatical errors. For example: "Thatdoesn’tmeanallLhiannan are like captain planet." or "They sand fiercely independent, while some....". Some of wording might have been mashed together due to whatever publisher program was used but others are just odd mispellings and punctuation issues. Going back and plugging it into a program like Grammerly or handing it to an editor might help.

3) What information that is provided doesn't cover what it's primary purpose is for: How did the bloodline survive? All we are given is basically: yes they did survive and here is what they think. The Lhiannon have constantly been cursed with bizarre and overpowering clan flaws which always struck me as an opportunity for a revision, with the latest official version from The Onyx Path giving them two. So when I picked up this file that was the first thing I went to. So their clan flaw is indeed changed but the writer opted for "extra aggravated damage from man made sources, such as guns and swords" without further explanation. This isn't any better in my opinion. This flaw essentially makes them even easier to kill and there fore even less reason for them to have survived. The ability to essentially read their auras easier wasn't a bad flaw and probably should have been kept in this treatment. I ran a Lhiannon in livestreamed game who had to essentially deal with this. But with the power of the Church fading and many of the older faiths coming under the microscope of dilettantes of that era, a Lhiannon in hiding could have hidden successfully within those social grey areas. So the idea behind this pdf is definitely viable but we aren't given any rhyme or reason how any of this happened.

Religion is briefly mentioned and their ability to rise in rank via prestige is mentioned but requires more than just the two lines it's given. At the end we are given three small plot hooks. The last two wind up talking about ideas that aren't mentioned anywhere else.

Ideas to fix this file: Expand on the history of the bloodline and the pivotal point in which they went into hiding. Expand on Ogham, what it is, how it works, other potential uses of the power, etc. Redefine the clan flaw as this is a game breaker. What happened to Dagda? She was one of the only Lhiannon ever printed and also listed as perhaps the only one left. As she was the childe of the Crone this would also be an opportunity to expand on that and her role (or hinderance) in the bloodline coming back. While this doesn't have to be 50+ pages, if it's going to be a 'clan book' it definitely needs more information to sink ones teeth into as it just isn't worth 4 dollars at this point. It would be better suited as a freebie or pay what you want.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook - Lhiannan
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Occult Tome
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 10:38:40

Typically with free offerings you get a nice idea but maybe it includes some broken mechanic or cheap clip art and you are left with telling yourself "ok well I got what I paid for". This little freebie doesn't do that however in my opinion. It's a self contained blood magic jumpstart that provides a much needed mechanic for vampires who rely on in game blood magics.

This is something the main game should have had with it from the get go. I found it system is pretty straight forward and not too crunchy with numbers. I enjoyed the idea that an occultic tome could not only contain some much needed lores or occult knowledge but also information on paths and rituals.

At the end of this freebie are some potential plot hooks/inserts in the form of brief stories about a few sample items designed using the rules and potential mentors.

All in all if this freebie is what I can expect from the full packet the writer has mention then I will be eagerly awaiting it's release. As for this packet: if you are a Storyteller this is a must have addition to your games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Occult Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
I'm honestly touched by your kind words about the work I've done, it means a lot and I can only hope I live up to the praise with my future works!
Rites of the Wilds
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2017 23:44:58

First comment: Lhiannan love! That is so sooo rare that I had to comment on it. The only two problems I had with this were the minor formatting issues and the fact it was a little thin. I would have gladly paid more for a few more pages beefing up some pagan specific rituals. But overall this really looks like an authentic addition to V:tM blood magic. Very well done



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rites of the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Green's Guide to Ghosts
Publisher: 12 to Midnight
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2005 00:00:00

Greens Guide to Ghosts works extremely well, in my opinion, with d20 and the horror genre as a whole. It's style of writing is very much a 'Ghosts for Dummies' format which shouldn't turn anyone away.

When you run as many games as I have in the past you often find players drawn to the genre, but incapable of playing it.

Green's Guide to Ghosts fills that void excellently by giving players terminology, facts and opinions, and real gadgets used in todays world.

While Green's Guide to Ghosts wont cure the lazy player who can't be bothered to study a little, it definately wraps the subject matter in an attractive and tempting morsel to draw them out.

A must to own if you want to run d20 horror and/or have new players you need to break in.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Pretty much everything. Pictures were well done. Glossary in the back was a great addition. Equipment list was good. All in all, a great buy.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: One major quirk and this might be me personally. But I did -not- like how the book jumps narrative back and forth, sometimes in the same paragraph it seems. If I want to read remarks from the character narrating the subject to me, mark it as such so I can follow. I caught myself having to re-read a couple of spots that seem to jump back and forth from a game creator to NPC telling me about the book.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Green's Guide to Ghosts
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items