Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Shadow War
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2019 05:44:36

Shadow War is a great title to have if you want detailed information on the Twilight War, Midnight War, The Bone Princes, and the Jade Invasion. When the Kuei-Jin have conflicts that need resolved or insults have gone too far, a Twilight War is organized and both parties agree on various terms and conditions like who can throw the best tea party, who's the best boxer, who can build a temple the fastest, the best three out of five in a head on head potato sack races, who is the best at a real live game of Chinese chess called "The War of Pines", or whatever else their the minds can conceive. Unlike a blood hunt, the purpose of the Twilight War is to further the Dharmic path of both Kuei-Jin, maybe acquire a new friend. If the Twilight War doesn't do the trick, someone is an Akuma, or someone slights an ancestor, a full blown Midnight War is declared, which involves both parties and their openly declared red screens [Mortal organizations that do dirty work], forts [Locations that may be attacked], and assets [Sources of income that may be attacked]. All in all Shadow War is a fantastic addition to my White Wolf collection and for less than $10 [I bought the Kindred of the East bundle], it worked perfectly with my chronicle. The only down side to this product, which shouldn't deter you from it, would be the fuzzy pages in the pdf copy, some of which I could barely read, one very small paragraph I couldn't read at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow War
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Masters of Jade
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 11:06:41

WARNING: I bought the pdf copy for six dollars. I read another review saying the paper quality of the actual book is poor compared to others in the same product line. Heads up!

This title is about The Guild and how they have built a trade network from the ground up that spans creation. The Guild is composed mostly of mortals, not creatures of the night and especially not the Solar Exalted. The Guild was built after the fall of the first age by mortals that felt betrayed/abandoned during the collapse. I like economic games video games and pen and paper games that incorporate stream lined rules for businesses. Masters of Jade did a fantastic job of this and if your interested, check out "Worlds Apart" and "A Song of Fire and Ice" for good economic/organization rules.

I've read a lot of White Wolf products and created many creatures of night with my players over the years. The most reviled of all the creatures of the night used to be the Fae/Changelings before I experienced this capitalist nightmare. The Guild's use of casual slavery for profit is really disturbing, but what else should I have expected from a White Wolf product? I don't know how most of these people don't think they will be haunted by wraiths or go to Malfeas/Yomi Wan when they depart from their mortal coil.

One of my main complaints about Vampire: The Masquerade is that creatures of the night are mostly unaware of each other until it comes to blows. I liked Masters of Jade since it tied mortals, exalted, changeling [Rakshas], and Wraiths together in a realistic way. Overall it was a great read and worth the six bucks I paid for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Jade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ananasi
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:58:20

The Ananasi [Spiders] are my favorite Fera or changing breed species along with the Mokole [Lizards] and Rokea [Sharks]. Unlike the Garou and other Fera, the Ananasi don't have rage and are instead cold, methodical, and mellow [exceptions for some classes/breeds like the Kumo [You are in fact lower than rat filth]]. They were not made by Gaia like the other Garou, but by Ananasa, the spider goddess who got trapped in an onyx egg. The goal of the Ananasi, Mokole, and Rokea Triat is to re balance the original Wyld, Wyrm, and Weaver Triat. I like the art in this supplement along with the comic that begins the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ananasi
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The 1000 Hells
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:50:23

I like Hell based literature and was unfamiliar with Asian themed Hells. The Yama Kings are all demonic god entities that mess with your players, not characters, players for infinity. I agree that this book could have easily been double or triple in size, but that forces the Story Teller to be creative. 1000 Hells provides the mechanics to make up logical domains in Hell, Yama Kings to rule those domains, and Akuma who trade their souls to enforce their new lords domains. What's with all the Asian demons and tentacles?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The 1000 Hells
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World of Darkness: Hong Kong
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:42:17

This is worth every penny for sure, going over the history, culture, religion, crime organizations, geography, locations, and who's who of Hong Kong, Kowloon, and the surrounding islands. Page 57 to page 125 covers in detail every NPC associated with locations presented in previous chapters. I like character driven stories more than plot or location driven stories, so this worked for me. The chronicle at the end of the supplement is just long enough to keep things spicy, but didn't seem too complex to keep a float.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Hong Kong
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World of Darkness: Demon Hunter X
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2019 06:29:14

The main complaint against choosing a mortal character is that they are weak. Shih are very comparable to Kue-Jin in power, but still feel human at the end of the day. Strike Force Zero agents remind me of Shadowrunners and that was a huge plus for me being a fan of every edition of Shadowrun. My favorite part in White Wolf products has to be the comic or manga at the beginning that sets the mood properly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Demon Hunter X
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dungeon Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:41:34

I've been using this book on and off for years. It's not as good as the "World Builder's Guidebook", but it's a great short sword to complement the long sword.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:39:08

I've been using this since dinosaurs roamed Gaia. It covers advanced topics like geology, tectonics, biomes, city life, pantheons, yadda yadda.
I love this book and have bought it multiple times. It comes with handy sheets to help you develope worlds.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Builder's Guidebook (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mage The Awakening Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 01:11:11

Great overview of the tarot. Covers basic usage plus major arcana and minor arcana. The art would be the main reason to get this. I paid $25 before the sale to get a bundle of White Wolf products. I think the pdf version itself is free. I already had a physical tarot deck.

I hope that was insightful, Sensible Cenobite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage The Awakening Tarot
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Macchiato Monsters
Publisher: Lost Pages
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2019 20:46:12

I've been a fan of $10 and under games for the last ten years or so. I liked "Worlds Apart" the most, but this is my new favorite. It's funny, witty, easy, and I love the fluff. It's easily worth the six dollars I paid for it. I laughed the entire time I read it. It's like you're in my head ;) That's fine, I know. I heard everything you said. AAA+++. I'm tired of dice and I'm substituting them for tarot cards and animal spirit cards instead. If you're a rules lawyer instead of a referee, don't buy this product. Nice references to coffee and Leviathan.

Hope that helps any creatures of the night, Sensible Cenobite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Macchiato Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items