Storytellers Vault
Narrow Results









Back
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets $14.99 $11.24
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 4
6 4
1 1
0 1
0 0
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to view
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2018 05:25:55

I definitely enjoyed it and found it a rather useful pool of ideas and locales, the art as always for this line is more often gorgeous. It is most useful for a Storyteller who wants more information on the daily life of the setting but a player wishing to play something more in sync with the mores of the time will find it very useful too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2017 19:18:42

While it's getting better than some of the other V20 books out there, it's still got a long way to go. It's still on the dry side, and still suffers from just too little, too late and half-witted attempts at Social Justice. But, there are some interesting things in there. They could have used a lot more words and expansion, but it is what it is.

All in all, a solidly "ok" product. Not phenomenal, but certaily not "meh". Worth the price, I think.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andreas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2017 02:42:37

Another great supplement by the Onyx Path team. A great addition to the V20 Dark Ages Vampire book. I loved the part about Setite sorcery and the part about knightly orders. A must buy book for any V20 Dark Ages fan.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2017 15:47:26

A good addition to the vampire books that helps bring the medieval world to life, for instance explains the idea of tournaments and how they worked in the feudal world (without having to read up on people like William Marshall) and I like the touches of the everyday magic of the era (which would now partly come under science).

The darker magic and its side effects is nicely expanded in this book, giving more of consequence when wielding powerful vampire powers such as necromancy.

The new rituals will no doubt will help with story ideas, for instance 'Implant the Bezoar' could make for an interesting vampire murder mystery storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2017 12:59:30

Purchased the PDF version a few week ago and am enjoying it immensely.

In addition to some new combat abilities, backgrounds, merits, and combination disciplines to support the new material, the biggest draws for this book are:

  • Expanded magical options for Dark Mysticism, Koldunic Sorcery, Setite Sorcery, Necromancy, Assamite Sorcery, and Witch magic, all of which are given some excellent lore entries and explanations. Fans of magic in World of Darkness will likely really enjoy this.

  • More excellent medieval word-building, including new lore and rules for how to incorporate fiefdoms, knights, and mass combat (more on that below). I am of the opinion that, particularly in a setting like Dark Ages, time period information, mechanical tools, and world-building are critical, as they provide a blueprint for those of us who are not necessarily history buffs to be able to properly create and evoke a pseudo-historical atmosphere in a memorable and immersive way, rather than just feeling like "DnD with Vamps", and I feel like the book really shines in this regard. The entries on knighthood and medieval combat were particular highlights for me.

  • The mass combat rules. I feel like these are going to get a mixed response, but they could also be a major reason one might enjoy this. Conceptually, I like them a lot. They offer an opportunity to simulate medieval warfare tactics and to engage in seiges and other larger-scale conflicts (albeit in a cinematic, WoD manner. This is not trying to be a wargame simulator, nor should it be expected), which not only lends itself well to the medieval atmosphere, but also presents a chance at mixing things up on a grander scale than normal. That said, I personally still find them a bit difficult to keep straight after a few reads, so their practicality may vary for some. The book does provide an example scenario that lays out how everything works -- which is most welcome and helpful -- but I personally didn't find them to be the most accessible thing in the world, so I suspect it may take some getting used to for some players and GMs to really make the mechanics shine.

All in all, I really liked this book, and I think that anyone who enjoys magical characters or worldbuilding will find a lot to be happy about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jonathon H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2016 12:54:58

I'm loving this book in one light, and cringing at it in another. There are so many awesome, unique niche details that are given full light in this book. You can build the most perfect, individual snowflake you want using this book, and have it all be perfectly above board and canon... and that's the weakness of this book. With all of the tools provided here, you could make yourself a Demon worshiping, half-fae, abyssal mystic with necromancy, and naturally developed blood magic... all without stretching.

This book is like a one ton block of salt. It's great to supply decades worth of meals, but if you dropped the whole thing in on one meal, it'd ruin everything.

I plan on taking pieces of this into my games and characters, sprinkling here and there. I highly recommend that any ST that allows this as canon require a thorough review of how their players use the lore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ryan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2016 13:39:47

Lots of neat sorcery paths, but the book I received looks and feels like someone took sandpaper to the top section of the book's spine. Not cool! I'm not sure this neded to be a hardcover as it clocks in at 117 pages.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2016 09:08:28

The world building presented is excellent, the new rules for Necromancy are very intriguing and create a power that is truly dangerous to wield. I do also love the inclusion of the new warfare rules allowing for large battles, I have been expirimenting recently with rules for larger battles and I believe the rules presented in the book will be better than the jury rigged system I created. I also love the expanded rules for non-thaumaturgical sorcery, he fluff behind the powers is very well written. All in all a must for Dark Ages players. The only thing that urked me a bit was the inclusion of Wyrm powers but I see why they where included, for storytellers who use Werewolf The Apocalypse Lore it can be a help. Just personally I never use Apocalypse Werewolves but I can't hold that against the book for including the option to have a Wyrm power. Great job all around I feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Alan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2016 13:39:32

Following on from the world-building established in V20 Dark Ages, this book does an excellent job of developing the setting and rules in a number of areas.

Characters of an occult or sorcerous nature are given a number of additional options to explore, from 'hedge-magics' covering folklore remedies and small but potent superstitious acts, up to mortal witchcraft and the unholy magics of Dark Thaumaturgy. This makes it far easier to develop and define the magics available to antagonists (and villainous players), mortal and vampire alike, particularly within a vampire-centric WoD campaign.

Rules and guidelines are included covering different interpetations of knightly orders within the setting, and the rules and benefits of joining such groups, from large organisations to specific master/vassal relationships. Martially inclined characters are also supported with additional Advanced Training combat maneouvres for ranged, melee and horse-mounted copmbat. Faith and Medieval Warfare (two topics that greatly change the kine/kindred dynamic in the Dark Ages setting) are expanded upon with additional rules, allowing characters to lead armies and wage war against mortal foes on an even greater scale. Additional Combination Disciplines (covered in two different parts of the book, possibly my only editing criticism being that I would have preferred them to all be placed together) also create a number of additional character options across the clans.

Clan-specific sorceries are also expanded upon, with extra attention given to the histories and powers of Setite Sorcery, Assamite Sorcery and Abyssal Mysticism. The Setites in particular have had their sects and motivations fleshed out a great deal, with new paths and rituals that offer up a great variety of character concepts, including norse-themed serpent cults and numerous references to the in-clan schisms that will eventually give rise to the zealous schemers of the modern nights. The new rituals developed for the Assamites and Abyssal Lasombra are also well realised, not just as new abilities but as exposition for the workings of the sorcerous orders themselves, demonstrating the heirarchies and methods of the clans within the rules. Possibly my favourite addition to the clans has been the region/family specific branches of Koldunism, with ToS adding a new path (power over forests with nods to Grimm fairytales and the Evil Dead film franchise) and a number of path-specific rituals that further develop the territorial powers of the Tzimisce Koldun. Additional rules also cover the inherent curse of Koldunism, a growing envy that rival sorcerers within the clan develop as their power grows, a well-considered mechanic that foreshadows the Fiends' inability to unify against the Tremere and their eventual slaughter at the hands of their younger brethren. This then, is probably the book's greatest strength - the ability to communicate a great deal of nuance about the clans and the setting within the clan-specific sorceries, developing and redefining them far beyond their antagonistic stereotypes, and could even create campaigns and player perties focussed around a single one of these clans without sacrificing any of the variety or intrigue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Keegan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2016 13:04:20

Tome of Secrets is packed with a lot of information and while I got this book with the Kickstarter I have to say you get a lot of bang for your buck here.

The book starts bye diving right into the different paths of Thaumaturgy for various clans feel wholy unique and seem to draw from and add flavor to the clans they're associated with. These gifts can be a treat for players skulking around in the Dark Ages or even terrifying, ancient rewards for kindred in modern nights or even devilish powers they come up against (most of the milage I've gotten from this book so far) from elder antagonists. The book then expands the medevil world of vampire and adds knight organizations, backgrounds that help define a knight's reputation, holdings, and training, and special combat maneuvers.

My favorte part of this book however is easily the Dark Thaumaturgy, has a lot of great powers and cross over bait with Werewolf which I appriciate and I plan on using in my Apocalypse games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items