Storytellers Vault
Narrow Results









Back
V20 Ready Made Characters $4.99 $3.74
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 12
0 0
4 0
0 0
0 0
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to view
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by stephane B. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2017 16:06:20

Wasn't going to grab this. But it was 5$, it was Written by Matthew.... got me interested. I purchased it and got very surprised.

I love the various characters, but also the "plot hooks" that are also thrown in there. Sometime they are enough to make a full story or side story.

Well worth the investment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2017 05:11:46

I initially wasn't going to pick this one up. My regular group and I don't generally run pre made characters, so I questioned whether or not I would find this one useful. Ultimately though, the PDF was inexpensive, and I've consistently enjoyed Mr. Dawkins' work, so I decided to take a gamble and see if I might find something to use. I'm glad I did.

This book does a great job of representing each clan, but not in such a way that it feels like the same Clan stereotypes we've all seen before. The characters are unique enough to not only bring something worthwhile to a campaign, but I found there to be enough creativity behind them that, even if I didn't opt to use a particular character, they gave me inspiration to start thinking about different ways and angles from which certain clan members might be presented.

All in all, this is a solid resource for anyone who needs interesting characters to populate their world with, as well as anyone who just wants easy access to some creative inspiration for building their own. Having never considered buying a book of pre-made characters before, I was pleasantly surprised, and would absolutely recommend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2017 11:54:32

Reading pre-generated characters has always been one of my favourite things when picking up a rulebook. A well written character sparks the imagination and gives me an insight into a race, a concept or in this case a clan.

This collection contains 13 characters, one for every clan. There are some interesting “outside the box” approaches in this book, aside established clichés but still fitting to the concept of the clan. The characters in this book are delightfully twisted and unique, exactly what I’ve been looking for.

Besides the characters, each with a starting and an experienced character sheet, there are different suggestions on how to tie characters together in a coterie, offering an insight on why a diverse group of kindred might work together. And finally some interesting ideas for plot.

I’ve never been a storyteller before, but I’m currently planning on finally becoming one and and I’m sure this little book will help when I finally set up my first game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Thomas R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2017 10:57:44

This book goes above and beyond. It's not just a bunch of characters already made for you, it's an inspired menagerie of ways to subvert, twist, and use the clan stereotypes. Also, you get quite a lot of ideas into making these characters into a working coterie. There's much more here than they had to give you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Charles P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2016 07:16:24

I picked up this from RPGnow and decided to give it a review. It's thirteen Neonates, one from every clan, with suggestions for using them as NPCs or player characters. Also, how they might get along. I was originally going to give this one a pass but decided since it was only five dollars for the PDF to pick it up. I was surprised to see it had a "Coterie Chart" in the pack for making these characters interact and I have to say I approve. I loved those in Chicago by Night. I also noted there were some decent adventure hooks in the back of the book but was disappointed they were generic rather than tied to specific characters.

The characters all very much feel like Post-Revised which is trying a little too hard to be serious in my opinion. I generally prefer my vampires to be a little bit exaggerated in their behavior so my favorite of the 13 were the Scottish Giovanni football couch (which I will have far too much fun doing the outrageous accent of--based on my grandfather no less), the MMA fighter killed in the ring by the Sabbat, and the Pre-WW2 Jewish girl who torpored through the Holocaust.

The latter is just a serious actual character and one with a lot of potential for drama as well as good RPGing. I'll also probably use the Ventrue PC as she has a very easy to use job (she's a fence), has an interesting backstory (parted from her lesbian fiance by the embrace), and the PCs can probably regain a point of Humanity by reuniting them right before things go horribly wrong.

I also give credit for 'Tzimisce Veterinarian.' as a concept.

There's a couple of other interesting ideas in the book as well, including a member of the Giovanni family embraced by a member of the Lasombra who is more interested in his mortal family than his parent one. Also, a Toreador embracing a Dadaist is an inherently interesting idea because Dadaism is an inherent rejection of the concept of art. It's basically like the Tremere embracing someone who hates the concept of magic and finds it stupid.

Plus a Ravnos Lawyer.

Overall, I recommend this book and think you'll probably get your five bucks worth with at least some of the book. Certainly, it can be used to pad out the Kindred of a city if you don't feel your homebrew city is populated by enough Kindred to just causally interact with.

9/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Lucas V. t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2016 13:54:53

Im here because of the gentleman gamer and want to say that every world of darkness book should be a holy relic because they are all great keep up the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2016 13:28:05

Each of the character designs cleverly explore the creative potential of each clan. Even if you don't get a character idea you want to use outright, you're bound to be inspired by the Gentleman Gamer's fun and flavorful ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2016 13:51:37

I love this book, the characters are so unique and give a great idea for further character designs. Especially when they go against type.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Kevin C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2016 09:13:57

It's always handy to have some pre-made characters ready to go when you need one to help move the group along when they've taken a path you didnt expect and need to get them back on track! This, in my opinion, will definatly save my backside with my group! Thank you!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2016 14:35:05

This is a great book and very handy to someone who is new to Vampire, despite being a RPGer since the mid-80s. The books offers an intriguing collection of characters ready to play, as both novice and experienced builds. The rich backgrounds offers spurs to adventrue ideas and the PCs themselves allow low-prep games easily. The feature I liked particularly was the coteries and the groupings and relationships of the characters. I should also add that the author is Matthew Dawkins and his writing is really great - I've enjoyed his gentleman gamer youtube reviews for many years and great to see his RPG writing. Thanks Onyx Path.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2016 12:57:59

True confessions time: I didn't want any V20 ready-made character nonsense when I saw it as a stretch goal during the V20 Lore of the Clans Kickstarter. I got the PDF when they sent out the link to backers, but I thought the book wouldn't be worth looking at... And then I DID look, and oh my GOODNESS is it great! This is waaaaaay more than I'd expected when I heard the announcement, both in terms of showing us what's great about Vampire: the Masquerade AND in terms of showing us what's possible within the game. Is it perfect? Nah, but that's what makes it kind of perfect. Yes, I've said that about a LOT of V20 products (e.g. The Hunters Hunted II, V20 Black Hand, Rites of the Blood), but this one is really neat for it's ability to offer more than just another supplement. Rather, it offers seeds for your chronicles, whether as something new or as something to grow in the fertile ground of an existing chronicle. These characters come with enough detail to act as starting points, OR they can be picked up for players in a more advanced game. Each has a 'neonate' set of traits as well as a second, 'ancilla' set of traits to give you plenty of options. They present just enough back story to hook you without forcing your hand in what shall become of any of these characters in your chronicles. There is also a very nice set of ready-made coteries of various Sects and outlooks using these character, and finally a helpful bevy of story ideas for these vampires. For the price, it's a STEAL, but don't let that be your only reason you pick this up. This book's something that will help you love Vampire, even if you already love the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by jeffrey l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2016 12:34:56

A GREAT RESOURCE FOR QUICK PLAY! I PERSONALLY LOVE BEING GOVEN A CHARACTER TO PLAY, I FIND THE CHALLENGE OF PLAYING A CHARACTER ON THE FLY GREAY!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items