Storytellers Vault
Narrow Results











Back
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition $29.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
77 9
13 4
4 4
3 2
3 4
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to view
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2016 16:18:36

I received the 600+ premium POD book today and the spine broke the first time I opened it. The book is too big to acutally be used considering the binding is just glue. Do NOT spend such a large amount of money on this book. Stick with the .pdf if you make a purchase. I hope I can return this book as it was a total waste of money. POD just isn't as good as true book binding (sewn in pages).



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2016 19:36:58

I was a little concerned about the binding on such a large book, but it is high quality and stands up to regular use.

I love having all of the pertinent information in one volume now, as opposed to having to search through supplements to find information on the TU, Nephandi, and the like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2015 16:57:15

This book is absolutely incredible. For anyone who ever loved Mage or new fans, this book is an essential purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Illara S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2015 13:10:51

A perfectly beautiful book. As a fan of the original, this perfectly sums up the rules, the history, and the perspectives of Mage The Ascension.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Monte T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2015 13:02:53

This is a review of the Deluxe Printed version, both the physical copy and the content therein.

This edition of Mage is a love letter to dedicated fans, and succeeds at that with flying colors. If you loved ANY edition of Mage: The Ascension, then you will be thrilled to put this volume on your shelf. The various sidebars throughout the opening chapters lay out each previous edition of the game and how to incorporate those themes into M20. When you're buying this ultimate volume, know that what you are purchasing is "Build your own M:tAs." Veterans will be able to jump in with both feet to the familiar themes and rules, and from what I have read the Spheres are far more comprehensible than they were in some of the previous editions.

As a NEWCOMER, I can say that reading all 696 pages is a tad overwhelming. The first third of the book contains at least a novel worth of fluff text(that may be necessary to grasp the spirit of Mage, but is ABSOLUTELY fluff text). The reading experience becomes more interesting when you start to delve into the spheres, and even more so when you delve into the various Traditions and their counterparts. Character creation, the gamemastering portion, and everything else is fairly standard. It is definitely tolerable, but please note that this book is EXTREMELY FRONT-HEAVY.

And finally, regarding the physical copy...

I have never purchased a Deluxe Physical copy from DriveThruRPG.com, and I was simultaneously impressed and concerned when I received this book. The art, paper, and everything about the core book is magnificent. It truly feels like a high-quality 21st century Roleplaying Game. Until you get to the binding.

The binding is abysmal. When I previously said: "...you will be thrilled to put this volume on your shelf." I actually meant horizontally. There is no possible way that if I put this hulking volume on my shelf straight-up, that the binding (which is already not having a good time) wouldn't die a slow, painful death. It is not possible to place this book spine-flat on a gaming table. I am required to gingerly cradle the book on my bed, holding the front face with my other hand. I cannot read it lying down with the book vertically on my chest, due to the fact that the glue binding will fall out. Frankly, I paid around $132.00 including shipping, and in my mind I should be able to read a book how I want without it dissolving in my hands.

Overall, it's a great volume, but the horrid binding is not worth the ridiculous price. Pick up your volume digitally, lest you be staring at a discordant pile of pretty pages when the damn thing ships a month later.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by P. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2015 14:33:30

Before we get into this, know that this is a HUGE book! It's crazy-huge. It can cause structural damage when dropped (I assume, since I haven't actually SEEN the physical version, but best not to risk it I think). It is ALSO brilliant for all sorts of reasons.

Mage: the Ascension came out at a time when magic (or 'magick' as we say in the biz) seemed to be failing as a concept. Sure, we had D&D and some stuff from Star Wars or what-have-you. The thing is that Mage brought magick to OUR world, or to the World of Darkness as it is within the game. More than that, though, this form of 'magic' felt real, with requirements and societies and responsibilities – not to mention a LOT of rules – in a way that made it more wondrous, scarier, and ultimately just mad-compelling in a world that didn't know how truly miraculous its very existence is.

...Then came the other editions of Mage. I won't say that any one of them was better or worse than the rest (however, know that I DO have my own preferences), and even with the various improvements and tweaks, changes always brought controversy. After the third – excuse me, REVISED – Edition, old White Wolf packed it in for the World of Darkness, bringing us the Reckoning that finished their game lines and allowed for the 'new' World of Darkness to come along. So all of the worlds ended, and end of Mage came with a bunch of unresolved feelings for me. I wanted more of the lore, more of the Otherworlds, more of the magick that I found in Mage: the Ascension. I didn't want it to end...

It turns out that it never did end, not really, and in true fashion of what I loved at first sight in Mage, this book is a little (irony intended) piece of magick in its own right.

This book, 'Mage 20' or just M20 to some of us, is labelled and presented along the same lines as Vampire: the Masquerade Twentieth Anniversary Edition (or V20 in our 'gamer' shorthand), but this is NOT the same kind of book. The V20 is a dolled-up compilation with some 'spit-shine' on rules and new art. It's lovely, no doubt, but from the outset, the Developer Satyros Phil Brucato (his real name... now) wanted to do more with M20 than simply compile two decades of Mage titles into a single volume. What he and his team did is nothing short of a physical and notional manifestation of the same willworking that Mage planted into my mind so long ago. It's all that came before BUT nothing like its predecessors. It remembers the past (even those what may not have ever happened!) WHILE keeping an eye locked on the future (even those futures that may never come about... Trust me, it's a magick thing that makes sense in the game). It gives you everything that you need to play just about any form of Mage: the Ascension, and YET it straight up TELLS you that nothing presented needs to limit your experience.

All of the factions are here, updated and shiny. All of the Spheres (including those of the Technocracy and their ilk) are here with crisp and clear presentation. All of the histories – up to and beyond the Avatar Storm of Revised Edition – are here. So too are polished mechanics for travel outside of our mortal realms, for magick casting, for wonders and bygones and more. Also here is advice to players and Storytellers for Mage games, along with so many charts and tools that you'll feel like you ought to have paid tuition along with the purchase price (that's a joke... but just). Oh, and don't forget the fiction, the art, and the gorgeous presentation. It's not just magickal, it's a work of art made of love, ink, and paper!

Speaking of paper (or virtual pages, such as the case may be), it is HUGE. I mentioned that before, but it bears repeating. You don't likely need all nine Traditions, all five Conventions, all ten Disparate Sects, but it's wonderful that they're all there. Your game may not include the Otherworlds – or it may only include SOME of them – but it's all there. The nine Spheres (the mechanics of how magick works if you don't know) maybe don't need the three 'technomagick' variants, but those add plenty to the game. It's daunting, as mentioned by other reviews, but that's the nature of magick, I reckon. If you want to explore this world – or get reacquainted if you already know Mage – this is a great product for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2015 09:59:46

While the sheer size of this volume may be intimidating, the truth is that this represents the best of the 20th Anniversary Classic World of Darkness games to date. The artwork is eye popping, the writing passionate and intense (reminiscent of the old school 90s White Wolf writers), while the central premise is mind blowing to the uninitiated.

There are some excellent new developments in terms of creating your own paradigm and style of magic, which still hangs on the core freeform magick (sic) system, while the setting material and various factions and groups accumulated through the years are all there, looking and reading both modern and fresh. The sheer variety of characters you can play, or interact with makes this very much an immersive, kitchen sink setting. One moment you might be fighting in the gutter, the next floating in the spiritual heavens with angels. And everything else in between. It's an effective combination of postmodern fantasy, psychedelic melodrama and existential depth.

While there are some quibbles with a few semantic definitions (the Forces Sphere, for example) and a few oddly arbitrary decisions occasionally made in both setting and rules, the impact of the whole cannot be denied. It's the ultimate RPG of modern magick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by William G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2015 19:12:37

Fantastic book. I've been eagerly awaiting this release and I am not disappointed in the slightest. Chalk another one up for Onyx Path and Kickstarter!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 23 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
Back
0 items