Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
 
$19.99 $14.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
38 25
11 5
6 3
2 0
1 2
Mind\'s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Yves C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2021 10:34:55

A nice book, whith everything you need to play. I'm just desapointed that there is no Update concerning the last books of the 20A Vampire the Masquerade edition, creating characters out of nowhere when there is so much vampires to use instead... (like the new Regent of the Sabbat) (as Errata or things like that) There is a lot of incoherancy in the book, like the possibility to play some Bloodlines that not exist anymore (Telyavelic Tremere for the exemple are just erased since Telyavel himself was banished from this realm in DAV, that's one exemple amongst a lot...)

So :

  • Mechanics : Good !
  • Lore : EW ! Poor and incoherent.
  • Story Line : Very poor, and not following other things.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Tyler P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2020 17:34:33

This book is massive, but that is no surprise for trying to include the lore and information that a possible new player would need to start playing this game. However, there is something in here for older players that are used to the years of written material that this game has been active for. It has also allowed for new players to actually jump into these games without needing to know those years of material. The quick write up provide the feel for each clan and sect without it needing to be its own book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Dana R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2017 12:50:47

Great new rules and setting. So glade BNS is picking up where White Wolf left off for LARP.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2017 15:03:15

Great game, works well with their WtA version as well. Can't wait for their version of Changeling. I definitely recommend if you're a fan of World of Darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2016 17:02:44

Yes, it brings back all the fun of playing MET back in the 90s. Yes, its cleaned up, less confusing, and a much smoother system then what you remember. No you won't miss anything they took out. Yes, its all here in one book. No, there really is no need to fix anything or write up a bunch of house rules.

Yes, finally!

BNS has shown all the other publishers that have had thier turn with the WoD material how make things right. It really is that good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Lance L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2016 14:59:47

Fantastic version of the much beloved Vampire LARP -- you can tell that a ton of work went into getting this (mostly) right. Love what they did with status. Love what they did with the overall game mechanics. Don't love what they did to a couple disciplines, like possession and several of the Tremere paths, rituals, etc. But certainly worth the purchase. Got both the hard cover (from local game store) and the PDF from Drivethru RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2015 11:22:53

I am very much a fan of what they did with the system - both in terms of mechanics and the updated settings. Having played in the Sabbat and Camarilla venues with these rules, I can say I am impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Maximilian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2015 05:32:10

The book is well written, and a vast improvement on the old rule system. -2 stars for the dented corner on the hardcover book (probably happened during shipping). It's a heavy book, so I guess I can understand that happening, but better packaging might have prevented it, and I wouldn't have spent $60 on a book from a store with a dented cover.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2014 08:14:29

Love the book and the system. Really love the By Night Studios crew. My copy was sent to me in pure black and white, no color what so ever. In a matter of hours of contacting them they told me they would be reprinting and reshipping my book along with the pictures I had sent to the manufacturer so that this would never happen again. Awesome game and awesome company!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Anthony T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2014 16:48:34

I've enjoyed the new rules and the PDF. only issue is the wording for influence actions being a bit ambiguous in some cases.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2014 16:26:47

The content is fresh, the rules are not annoying like NWoD MET, but oh boy, you better have an iron constitution to lug this sucker around a LARP. You could use this book as body armor.

The book is a full size sourcebook, as opposed to the half sized books of MET of your, and is three times heavier than Laws of the Night.

If you have a tablet, get the pdf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Craig J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2014 12:34:49

Great for setting and mechanics. Over all one of the best examples of a single book system I have seen. Worth the buy by far.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2014 19:16:47

0 out of 5 for crap customer service

SO this review is mostly getting dinged due to By Night Studios CRUMMY customer service. The Rules and undated time line are pretty well done.

So just after the release of the PDF, I started noticing tons of positive reviews for the new version of the rules and while I didn't care for what we saw in the early previews I thought that there may be enough to make it worth getting. I was interested in the PDF/POD combo but had no idea of when it would be release. Since I know that Onyx Path tends to offer upgrades to the combo set if you buy the PDF before the combo is released I decided to contact By Night to see how they would be handling it.

After messaging By Night I got a reply from them stating that they intended to do the very same approach that Onyx Path does and allow those that get the PDF early to upgrade to the combo set. So I went ahead and bought the PDF. Over all I was super amazed on how well it came together and I was excited to get a physical book.

Fast forward to after the POD version is available, I see no mention on the upgrade I decided to contact them again, to see if there was a delay or if sadly there was no way for them to do it. I received a reply that didn't address my question. So I polite reworded my question in case there was confusion and waited a reply. No reply came, so I resent it, no reply, so I posted the question on their Facebook, no reply, asked again still no answer, all the while I saw them answering other question on they very same Facebook posts, and while addressing other questions that I posted about rules and availability of their other PDFs, so I know they were able to see my questions.

Each and every inquiry was politely worded, and would only have taken them a moment to answer. I get that things don't always workout, especially for smaller companies, and a “sorry those plans didn't work out as we hoped”, would have been crummy but reasonable, but ignoring it and hoping it goes away is BS way to handle things.

I held off posting this until now as I hoped they would have responded but they didn't.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/26/2014 02:35:12

It's a good book. I like the new system, it's solid, and the new fluff, while controversial, actually make sense in the modern days.

My only major issue is that there are parts of it that are errataed on their website, but no way for anyone to know that without going on to that website. But, other than that, I like it quite a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Publisher: By Night Studios
by Carl O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 15:54:25

I am in love with the mechanics of this book.

Rare bloodlines now self-regulate since you have to sink in some of your extremely limited Merit Point Cap into being one.

The disciplines are either more in line with their tabletop counterparts (Fortitude, Potence) or have been reworked to make more sense (No longer must a necromancer go down the making zombies Path to Soul Steal, it now rests at the top of Sepulcher). Thaumaturgy is both more accessible and less overpowered while stilling being desirable.

The costs of experience now escalate in a manner similar to tabletop and upping attribute traits now costs significantly more. Combined with graduated experience caps (less exp after you earn your first 100 exp) you can build to a very powerful level without being great at literally everything. An EXP floor also keeps new characters less powerful than established characters but gives them more than the starting base EXP to help them hold their own.

I currently am an Assistant Storyteller in an OWBN game (which does not make use of this book at the time of this review) but I will definitely be giving this updated system a shot in an independent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items