Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Monsters Without Borders
by Fabrizio F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 08:39:28

First DMG product I purchased. Love the idea, love the cause, love the content.

I hope I can soon test the monsters and later get the full book.

The old style pictures are not my jam but they have charm and the concepts are great, so applause!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Dragon Knight Class
by Fabrizio F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 08:32:54

Hey, nice work! I like very much the flavor and feel of the class and the whole dragon servant theme, and generally the more dragon-themed stuff we have going around the better, at least for me.

The class seem to me like it could be a bit hit or miss for people given the approach to the draconic servant theme. I personally like it a lot, expecially the Final Fantasy/Bravely Default vibe I get from the dragoon, but I have a hint that is taste dependant. The class seemed quite strong and interesting to me, but I cannot completely judge it balance wise due to limited experience and ability to test it. However, I am quite in love with the concept, so I'll be sure to get the chance to test it soon. Keep up the good work,!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dragon Knight Class
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Sellers Shop v1.0
by Kyle G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 07:55:50

Potentially good. as it stands it needs work. but my suggestions are in the discussion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sellers Shop v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

One Shot: The Cage
by Lisa S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 04:13:42

Nice adventure with a very straight outline and MUCH possibilities to occur while around town. We had a very good time in Beregost with the circus and possible exponates "on the loose" like the ooze and my players almost got too lost in their detective work in the strange manor. Eventually they got to Ulcaster and defeated the Babau, only to be very interested in the story behind the orb. Would definitely recommend this for a one shot (we played for ~5 h)!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Shot: The Cage
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for review! :D I'm thinking about updating this adventure soon, is there anything you found lacking or wished was explained better? Or what did you like especially and wished there was more of? You can also write an e-mail to christian.eichhorn.dmg@gmail.com if there's anything to say and it's more convenient for you. Thanks again, I'm happy you had a good time ;)
Riddle of the Raven Queen
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 00:42:51

Pretty good module. The trials had me a bit frustrated due to it being a DDAL game and the characters weren't as flushed out as they should be.

Overall, great module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

CCC-TRI-03 Fences and Swords (Part One of the RocSlide Series)
by Michael I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 23:56:05

We ran this tonight, and even my murder hobos seemed to have a good time. The exploration path was a lot of fun, and I look forward to playing the other one next time.

Our kobold rogue ended up trying to join the pirate gang, and rolled a 21. So ... maybe he's one of them now?

Page four of the mirrors seems to be the wrong image - I had to get my wife to draw the napkin in on a copy of the other page with no chair.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TRI-03 Fences and Swords (Part One of the RocSlide Series)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Keeper Class: Bind with a Symbiote, Transform & Terrify Your Enemies!
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 23:17:36

I love the overall look of this class. Having ecently seen the Venom movie myself and possessing a deccent amount of the symbiote lore, I feel like it was faithfully represented in this D&D format. I did notice something a bit weird, though.

I read that you can cast spells without expending spell slots or material components. As one who favors the spellcasting classes, this is a godsend for casters everywhere. However, I found it an intesting choice to only be able to cast a number of spells per long rest equal to your Charisma modifier. This possibly causing an influx of how many spells an indivdual could cast at a random rate. I also didn't really find anything that clearly stated exactly how many spells you can have at any given point at any given level, the closest thing to it being the Cooperation or Corruption evolutionary callings which listed what limited spells you can get at specific levels. Do all the callings get spellcasting, or is it just these two branches? Are the spells pick and choose to be prepared daily like a cleric or druid, or are they like bards or warlocks were you select spells that you always have prepared? A little clarification would be most apprciated.

I will, say this class already has some amazing new character ideas flowing and I look forward to playing this class in my next homegame campaign after my current one finishes. Keep up the amazing work and stay frosty friends!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Keeper Class: Bind with a Symbiote, Transform & Terrify Your Enemies!
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Way of the Dragon Queen - A Monastic Tradition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 17:20:59

lovely lore, well formatted. Crunch-wise reminiscent of the elemental monk but with stronger wizard spells. Was hoping for more powers beyond casting a spell for ki points



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Dragon Queen - A Monastic Tradition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Lovers' Handbook
by Ryan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 16:36:01

I got it as part of the RAINN bundle and opened it up out of curiosity, to see if it was as ridiculous as other D&D "erotic" publishings. I was, however, completely surprised and impressed by the advice and discussions inside. It covers a vast array of considerations, ranging from the role sex/romance can have in a campaign, how you can best employ tropes, how you can organically foster these character connections, and how specific races would view things such as attraction. The writing is concise and frank when it can be, but explains both real world and D&D concepts in a very understandable way. There's a lot in here that honestly would be beneficial to a readers' real world interactions, especially along lines of respecting boundaries. It respectfully and intelligently covers many issues relevant to the bundle I purchased it in.

One of my players identifies as ace/demisexual, but she is playing a classic lusty bard. I was pleasantly surprised to see such things covered. There's so much valuable content condensed into this product, it makes me wonder about the author's background, as it wouldn't surprise me if they literally work in a field that interacts with these concepts.

The art could easily be considered hokey (intentionally so, imitating romance novel cover art), but don't let that dissuade you or make you think this isn't a seriously worthwhile product. I opened it with very low expectations, but now I feel pretty much any DM could benefit from reading through it, if not just people in general. It may leave you thinking more analytically about not just your campaign but the real world and other media, too.

tl;dr: This is surprisngly good and filled with very well-considered advice, informative even beyond the expected scope. Appropriately, this feels like a real labor of love and I recommend it, even to those who wouldn't normally think to buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lovers' Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your incredibly flattering review! If you were curious about my background, I think I speak a little on this in the free player companion, The Lovers' Guidebook. I'm personally demisexual myself, so I completely get where your bard is coming from! I also have a very good friend who's asexual, who still writes sexualized characters. I think to some extent, our distance from sexuality leads us to view it through a somewhat more analytic lens. I don't have to personally experience sexual attraction to postulate on what it would be like to be attracted to an elf or an orc, or have a ton of fun coming up with creative flirtations based on those attractions. While I don't work in a field that deals with romantic subjects, my husband studied psychology and I've always had an armchair fascination with psychology, so that also contributes to my tendency to research and analyze. I've also been a roleplayer for roughly twenty years now, and I'll freely admit that most of that role-playing experience was not at a table with dice, but online in text-based RPGs that were strongly narrative driven. I've role-played romances for over half my life, and I even met my now-husband through one of these online RPGs, and he and I continue to roleplay with one another five or six days a week. I've dealt with the uncomfortable situations, the awkward private messages, and the extremely problematic characters and "romantic situations", and I wanted to write this supplement to help impart some of my own experiences and hopefully share some wisdom with other players who are facing these things for the first time. I'm so grateful to hear that you think my words will be valuable in that regard.
CCC-GHC-BK1-03 The Darkest Knight
by Walter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 15:33:13

I had a lot of fun playing this adventure at Gamehole Con. It should be noted that our DM warned us ahead of time that there was a very high probability of character death. No one in our party died. One person did come close. I found this adventure to be a nice mix of creepy and silly.

As I'm now preparing to run the adventure I see one problem with it. There is no guidance as how to adjust combat based on APL. The DM's tips section states that there should be sidebars providing this guidance but they don't appear anywhere in the PDF. I imagine that this was accidentally missed during the editing process. Veteran DMs can probably make the needed adjustment on their own. Myself? I'd like to see an updated version that includes the sidebars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GHC-BK1-03 The Darkest Knight
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Barchoba, Celestial Familiar and Magical Item
by Ernest G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 14:36:54

Balanced. Looks like it can be used without the DM needing to do a lot of setup and can be used for little elements of flavor here and there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Barchoba, Celestial Familiar and Magical Item
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Fey Codex
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 12:18:25

An excellent book of ideas, but the mechanical rules don't fall quite in line with 5e's design paradigm. The races aren't given enough oompf (+1 in two different stats, instead of the +1 and +2 that other races get). The feats are also a mixed bag, with some of them being weak or not following 5e design (particularly alternate vision).

The book isn't bad. The fluff/narrative bits are interesting, well written, and sure to inspire. But a lack of images, lots of white space, and rules that don't line up with the game in terms of wording or balance, all make me mark the product as just ok.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Fey Codex
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Joy of Monster Cooking
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 12:13:44

With a background, an expansion on how Chef's Tools work, and a handful of real world recipes (although some substitutions might need to be made, for example Bulette is hard to find at your local grocery store), it's a cool supplement. Not sure how useful it'll be at the table, but it was an amusing read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Joy of Monster Cooking
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

{WH} The Witch, a character class of natural arcana and the old ways of magic
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 12:06:41

I've never been a fan of "full" classes. I think a strength of 5e is the archetype system, which allows us to customize classes with themes. There's no reason one couldn't make bards or warlocks with a witch archetype. Heck the upcoming Alchemist archetype would likely even be a good fit.

HOWEVER if you're gonna have a witch be a full class, this is a great one to have. Giving you a selection of Archetypes (here, Covens) Jinxes (think Invocations), and spells the Witch plays like a warlock but your power comes from a communal source in nature (tied to phases of the moon), instead of an otherworldly one.

I'm one of those DMs who loves crafting their own custom content when a player asks for it. But if I had a player ask to be a witch? I'd just hand them this. It functions similarly to a warlock, but is mechanically different enough that I wouldn't want to try and map it to one. Also all the narrative stuff, the fluff bits, are top notch.

As always, Walrock hits it out of the park.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{WH} The Witch, a character class of natural arcana and the old ways of magic
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Children of the Fey
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2019 11:53:42

My games aren't so Fey focused, so while this supplement is less useful for me, it's well put together. The races are all interesting, well balanced across the board and well written. The additional fey stat blocks in the beastiary cover a large swath of CR values. Overall, a great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Fey
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 10624 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles