Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
PunkApocalyptic RPG Quickstart
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2021 23:51:20

This is very good as quickstart guides go, both in terms of layout and the amount of flavour and rules content. Essentially, it allows a GM to get this, show players the QuickStart and suggest "hey, let's play this". If enough folks like it, you can then known it's worth buying everything available to keep it spinning for a few games with your gaming group. At a "pay what you want" price (auto-suggestion is $0.50!), it's totally worth getting to see whether you'd like to play this game, and go on to purchase the full rules and the (currently one available) supplement, plus the mission PDFs. It was a good enough QuickStart that it made me go "all in" to hoover up everything else (even though I bought the main rules from a supplier not named DriveThruRPG due to quicker delivery option). Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PunkApocalyptic RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Scumbag's Guide to Scrapbridge
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2021 23:38:20

This is good and well worthwhile. It's well written and clearly written (although those averse to profane language probably shouldn't buy this... or be playing this game!). It has some good flavour on Scrapbridge - it makes it easy to find characters, places and inspiration without having to wade through the type of excessive, padded minutiae that is common to supplements in many gaming systems. Lastly, and importantly for the nuts and bolts of gaming, it includes about a dozen interesting monsters/critters for GMs to throw at players. Many of these creatures provide built-in ways to make the combat a more considered, tactical affair than just running forward and hitting them. Nicely done. A lot of gaming systems could learn from this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Scumbag's Guide to Scrapbridge
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

In Plain Sight
by Adrian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2021 10:56:59

This is probably one of THE best ancestry books for Shadow. Not every book is as detailed or open ended, in a good way, as In Plain Sight.

My only slight complaint which doesn't detract overall, is I wish they provided priest suggestions for the Old Man Cat Master Path. Suggestions so if you wanted to play a priest to him you had ideas on what to pick for your three traditions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Plain Sight
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Soulbound Armor
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2021 13:56:36

This is a product that a lot of people are probably interested in, as animated armor is a common choice for player characters who want to add a bit of mystery to a character. Before now the only real way to do it was through the clockwork race in the official materials, but this offers a more varied and faithful option for people so they don't have to settle for the more robotic aspects of clockworks to play out their character ideas.

Soulbound Armor also integrates into the lore better than most other supplements I've seen for this and many other games, coming with well-written lore of its own that fits seamlessly into the Shadow of the Demon Lord setting. It also offers a lot of customization options for player characters, both in character concept and progression. I cannot recommend this supplement enough, it's an excellent product for anyone interested in animated armor characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soulbound Armor
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Soulbound Armor
by Austin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2021 09:27:50

Howdy y'all, this is my first ever review so know that I may be unfocused and make mistakes. That being said, let's get into it.

I would like to start by saying that I really love this book, it's got great value for the price. What do I mean by that exactly? Well, the official product I could compare this to is the line of splat books that some of the other races, like orcs and humans get. What I mean by that is that you get the full package here! In depth lore to help you best understand the nature of the soulbound armor, a new spell for creating your own soulbound servant (if you are an evil wiz kid), and the main reason to buy being the creation rules for your own soulbound character.

The Soulbound as an ancestry, to start of this talk, is a powerful ancestry. Some may be put off by this, but let me tell you that the flexibility of the novice path is flexible enough that I can assure you it won't be an issue. It allows for more customization, all of which is appropriate for the ancestry, than say the centaur and yotun ancestries. I do also need to mention for the GMs out there that it is well balanced in my opinion. At first I was worried that it was too low powered, but after I put my mind from 5e and back to SotDL I realized it was well in line with the system.

Overall, I think this is an excellent product, great bang for your buck. I am looking forward to running a one off featuring the all soulbound party pretending to be innanimate suits during the day, carted around by a mr magoo type old man who is unaware of their being alive, and at night slipping into town to fight off some bandits or other force of evil.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrible Beauty
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2021 00:07:47

Without doubt the finest treatise on Fey for roleplaying games. More murderful than whimsical, bending to their own realities, this is not your father's Legolas: these fey are immortal, alien and aloof. Come for the severed head tied to a unicorn saddle, stay for page upon page of inspiration for upending everything you've ever thought about elves and change your campaigns forever. Five glowing stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrible Beauty
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Ryan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2021 11:49:50

Every bit of praise this game has received is deserved. The one thing that hasn't been mentioned is how well organized the books are. They are easy to find and reference items quickly. As a long time Game Master this is extremely helpful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Drew U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2021 09:03:00

This is the best classic fantasy sytem made yet. It is extremely easy to modify to fit one's needs in genre, does away with the worse norms of other classic fantasy rpgs, and has a wealth of options. Its cheap and has a wealth of expansions to boot! Buy this asap if you like this sort of game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of War
by Liam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2021 17:58:27

Well thought out paths that add to the collective library of options for any player, Novice, Expert or Master!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of War
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Glad you liked the supplement! Thank you for the review :)
Tome of Horror and Madness
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2021 14:06:56

Another amazing addition to the SotDL universe! This time, the theme seems to be all about giving more options to the PCs while they progress through their adventures.

The new Ancestries are incredibly diverse and multi-faceted, and very unique among the other Ancestries I've come across. I adore the Symbiotic Infestation and Truth Seeker paths, especially, since I could easily adapt either into whatever direction my PCs develop into.

Attention Alternative Support (Useful) Players: this book is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Horror and Madness
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for an awesome review! And we are really glad you liked the supplement :)
Hired Help
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 08:17:39

Like a lot of the Poisoned Pages supplements, this one builds upon the existing rules of hirelings from the core rulebook giving it much more flexibility and customisation. If you find yourself using the hirelings rules I lot or even just want to generate some useful NPCs in locations the players can hire on your adventures, this supplement is brilliant. With a variety of statblocks, ranks of hirelings and small but useful developmenet tables to customise them, from variant Ancestries, Dark Secrets, Personality Quirks and more. Hired Helps presents a smorgasboard of quick to pick up and easy to implement ruleset for hirelings crammed neatly into just 6 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hired Help
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Coins of Aureus
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2021 07:49:42

Amazing addition to the SotDL universe! Several new talents in the paths serve to enrich the worship aspect to the new God of Coins. I particularly enjoyed the new "Aureus Shrine" talent found in one of the new paths as a beautifully thematic way of encouraging actual worship into a religious Player Character's actions/roleplay. I hope future religious and non-religious additions alike emphasize the worship of their Gods in this way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coins of Aureus
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Layer of Eggs
by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 11:56:43

Aboslutley worth the price. Layer of Eggs is an hilariously gross Shadow of th Demonlord suppliment. The art if evocative and I really like the opening bit on what led to the creation of the monster.
The backstory for the creature is fun and an absolute inspiration for a novice or starting adventure. I really hope to see these sorts of products in teh futre. I would have loved for there to be a more fleshed out adventure along with single monster products like this. A short mine adventure like the dragons' lair in "Killing the Dragon" would have been great and I would pay more for a suppliment like that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Layer of Eggs
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Paths of Darkness
by Nick J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2021 19:15:06

The first in a two part series, Paths of Darkness contains six new Master classes of a more unsettling nature than most. Each has its own unique form of emphasizing the darker sides of Rul, such as the Agonist, who is granted strength through their own suffering, to the horrifying Soul Eater, who devours life to fuel their own malicious spells, at the cost of their own body bearing the marks own one who transgresses. Each is interesting and well worth the low price of 1.99. With the apocalypse encroaching and the destruction of Urth at stake, good and evil must find a way to cooperate long enough with these foul beings to (attempt) avert the oncoming darkness, and stop the armies of the Void. Even villains have a chance to be heroic or all die screaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Curse of the Spider Wood
by Andre B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2020 11:03:25

I really like the balance of the different elements of this pdf: The history of the spider wood is a good read and generates lots of ideas, but as a gm, you are not drowning in too much detail and get lost in walls of text. The "hard crunch" like monster stats, random tables and new - really specific - paths is really good, but not too extensive either. Like other products of SotDL, the setting is not totally fleshed out, but carries a lot of ideas to improvise with. The setting of the spider wood is pretty much self-contained - though there a some connections to other SotDL prodcuts - and therefore is highly portable to other systems and worlds. That said, i like that i get an all-inclusive package with stats etc. as a gm and dont have to work on that part of the game myself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of the Spider Wood
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 191 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles