Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Storyteller Secrets
by Charisse V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2014 15:50:34

It was very helpful and awesome at the same time! Definitely worth waiting for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Storyteller Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2014 08:14:29

Love the book and the system. Really love the By Night Studios crew. My copy was sent to me in pure black and white, no color what so ever. In a matter of hours of contacting them they told me they would be reprinting and reshipping my book along with the pictures I had sent to the manufacturer so that this would never happen again. Awesome game and awesome company!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Quickstart Guide
by Elmer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2014 21:08:33

As someone who already has the book, and is viewing the Quickstart as a way to get people introduced to it, it does the job well. This quickstart gives the overall rules for the game, including challenges, time, and related mechanics; character creation and two Clans, the Ventrue and Brujah; all the base Merits and Clan-specific Merits; appropriate Disciplines for those Clans; skills and trait descriptions; example equipment; and essentially everything you'd need to run a test game. Some things that are largely complex or wordy for the Quickstart (like Backgrounds and Status) is excised. The Quickstart advises you to build characters at the Ancilla generation and that's the only background talked about. Quite workable for test games to try out the rules.

Also as a bonus, if you already have a copy of the book, the Quickstart would make a great 'lite' copy for only the rules to have on hand for extras at a game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Anthony T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2014 16:48:34

I've enjoyed the new rules and the PDF. only issue is the wording for influence actions being a bit ambiguous in some cases.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2014 16:26:47

The content is fresh, the rules are not annoying like NWoD MET, but oh boy, you better have an iron constitution to lug this sucker around a LARP. You could use this book as body armor.

The book is a full size sourcebook, as opposed to the half sized books of MET of your, and is three times heavier than Laws of the Night.

If you have a tablet, get the pdf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Craig J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 12:34:49

Great for setting and mechanics. Over all one of the best examples of a single book system I have seen. Worth the buy by far.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Steven J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2014 19:16:47

0 out of 5 for crap customer service

SO this review is mostly getting dinged due to By Night Studios CRUMMY customer service. The Rules and undated time line are pretty well done.

So just after the release of the PDF, I started noticing tons of positive reviews for the new version of the rules and while I didn't care for what we saw in the early previews I thought that there may be enough to make it worth getting. I was interested in the PDF/POD combo but had no idea of when it would be release. Since I know that Onyx Path tends to offer upgrades to the combo set if you buy the PDF before the combo is released I decided to contact By Night to see how they would be handling it.

After messaging By Night I got a reply from them stating that they intended to do the very same approach that Onyx Path does and allow those that get the PDF early to upgrade to the combo set. So I went ahead and bought the PDF. Over all I was super amazed on how well it came together and I was excited to get a physical book.

Fast forward to after the POD version is available, I see no mention on the upgrade I decided to contact them again, to see if there was a delay or if sadly there was no way for them to do it. I received a reply that didn't address my question. So I polite reworded my question in case there was confusion and waited a reply. No reply came, so I resent it, no reply, so I posted the question on their Facebook, no reply, asked again still no answer, all the while I saw them answering other question on they very same Facebook posts, and while addressing other questions that I posted about rules and availability of their other PDFs, so I know they were able to see my questions.

Each and every inquiry was politely worded, and would only have taken them a moment to answer. I get that things don't always workout, especially for smaller companies, and a “sorry those plans didn't work out as we hoped”, would have been crummy but reasonable, but ignoring it and hoping it goes away is BS way to handle things.

I held off posting this until now as I hoped they would have responded but they didn't.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2014 02:35:12

It's a good book. I like the new system, it's solid, and the new fluff, while controversial, actually make sense in the modern days.

My only major issue is that there are parts of it that are errataed on their website, but no way for anyone to know that without going on to that website. But, other than that, I like it quite a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Carl O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2014 15:54:25

I am in love with the mechanics of this book.

Rare bloodlines now self-regulate since you have to sink in some of your extremely limited Merit Point Cap into being one.

The disciplines are either more in line with their tabletop counterparts (Fortitude, Potence) or have been reworked to make more sense (No longer must a necromancer go down the making zombies Path to Soul Steal, it now rests at the top of Sepulcher). Thaumaturgy is both more accessible and less overpowered while stilling being desirable.

The costs of experience now escalate in a manner similar to tabletop and upping attribute traits now costs significantly more. Combined with graduated experience caps (less exp after you earn your first 100 exp) you can build to a very powerful level without being great at literally everything. An EXP floor also keeps new characters less powerful than established characters but gives them more than the starting base EXP to help them hold their own.

I currently am an Assistant Storyteller in an OWBN game (which does not make use of this book at the time of this review) but I will definitely be giving this updated system a shot in an independent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2014 11:52:09

Years in demand, By Night Studios has taken a fan favorite and given it life anew. One might say, "the game has been Embraced." A combination of every core V:tM Mind's Eye Theatre book, it allows ST's and players alike, an opportunity to tell the story the way they want to. In previous editions of the game, players were condemned to play only the things that the ST thought they could manage. In this new incarnation, the rules and interactions between characters is so fluid that there is little to no balance issues. This allows for players to play anything they want, barring point expenditure. You want to play a Camarilla Kiasyd with Potence, go ahead. You want a True Brujah elder, yep you can.

As for the rest of the rules, this is the first time we have seen a functional set of rules for status, and a way of incorporating them in game without the need to house rule something. The three separate settings offered in the core book: Camarilla, Sabbat, and Anarach, all have setting specific rules and status that makes every game unique. However, I would be remiss, if I didn't mention the one of the greatest changes from the old systems, the lack of "WIN ALL TIES". No longer does a single power give you the ability to wipe the floor with your opponents 2 out of 3 challenges. In addition to this, a well constructed Neonate is as equally impressive as an Elder. Also, did I mention that the rules for playing an Elder are available to any character, without ST approval. In fact, the rules to play anything are available to any character, so long as you have the points to spend.

Overall, this is one of the best buys I can encourage a player of LARP. If you do not currently have a group, find one. If a group does not exist, make one. The rules for this game are very intuitive and easy to follow. Also, I highly recommend the .pdf, as it is fully bookmarked and searchable.

Well done By Night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Mark D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2014 13:56:14

A great game system, well play tested and a world beyond the previous (World of Darkness) systems. With JUST this book you can run or play in a World of Darkness vampire LARP. Rules for PC (and NPC) ghouls, vampires, revenents and dhampires.

Some minor grammar / spelling problems, but nothing that effects the clarity of the rules.

An update on the Old World of Darkness Setting, that moves it into the modern century.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2014 23:13:19

An amazing continuation to the old style, of the game. The rules make for a more streamlined simplistic, version where character creation take minutes vs hours and hours of min maxing. Lookimg forward for clan books when they are created.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Colin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2014 10:42:50

This book delivers what it says - a complete ruleset to play the game. The game, however, is only Vampire: the Masquerade in name only. It is a complete overhaul of the setting, altering fundamental portions of what we were used to in the last "Revised" setting, and even more alien than V20. It continues the genre shifting trend of letting any generation use Dominate on any other generation, but pushes the envelope even farther. Expect a Camarilla that not only acknowledges the existence of the Antediluvians, but one that lauds them. Status traits give varied and sometimes inexplicably magical effects, Thaumaturgy and Necromancy have gotten almost complete overhauls. As a Sabbat fan, I felt the Sabbat section was almost an after thought and, coupled with the changes to the Camarilla party line, really felt like "Camarilla, the dark version". Anarchs on the other hand receive even more magical status effects, including the perfect ability to tell anyone anything about the vampiric condition without risking the Masquerade.

This book makes for a game that feels a lot like Requiem using names from Masquerade. That is probably something someone wants, but this is even less of a spiritual successor to Vampire: the Masquerade than V20 is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2014 09:07:10

As a Kickstarter Backer I have been waiting for the release and they did not disappoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Brettwick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2014 15:24:45

Like many of the reviewers I have been a long time follower of Vampire: the Masquerade, originally in its Table Top form, and eventually into its Live Action Role Play iterations. I’m a big fan, but have never felt the LARP rules were anything more but a bottle-neck to actual role playing. Thus, with previous versions of the LARP’s rule-set being both clunky and time consuming I had hoped that I would see any number of changes from Mind’s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade.

…and I did.

I’m a big believer one should reveal where they sit, before telling you where they stand on any issue. I’m a social player, am drawn to Vampire for the politicking and back-room manipulations, and enjoy the game as both a role playing opportunity as well as a social event. I am not a rules lawyer, I am not a combat player, and I’m always more interested in things that help me create plot and story than I am in ways to “win.”

In summary, I believe Mind’s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade took a great deal of steps in bringing the game more in my direction.

First off, the book is huge. HUGE. Get it in your head now that this book should have been accompanied with a holster, shoulder bag, or personal Sherpa. More importantly, it’s not just fluff! Every Clan, Bloodline, Discipline, or character option as it pertains to playing a Vampire is all conveniently located in one single book. I am a big fan of one stop shopping, and having every single rule you’ll need to run your Vampire game in a single location is huge for me.

Second, having the entire history of Vampires and their Sects was impressive. I thought I had known the majority of the history, but this book clearly showed me numerous evolutions I wasn’t aware of, as well as having filled in the gaps in history that I had apparently missed along the way. However, it is long, it is big, and it would be a great deal to ask any new player to read and assimilate before jumping into a game.

Now as for the Disciplines (which have been the meat and potatoes of the Vampire LARP scene up to this point), those got a few tweaks, some simplified, some clarified, and some greatly improved. In the end though, I didn’t feel that any of the Discipline changes dramatically impacted the kind of Discipline effects you might otherwise have been accustomed to.

However, Character Creation and the impact of Merits and Flaws have on your character has seen dome dramatic improvements. I truly believe that you could sit down and make a half a dozen characters of the same Clan and have each of them be dramatically different – well beyond just which Attributes you chose to be Primary for your character (which, by the way, gets a cool makeover in forcing the Player to select a specific Physical, Mental, and Social focus for their character). Your 7 points of Merits and Flaws can so dramatically impact the kind of character you’re creating that Players will have to carefully consider just what kind of character it is they’re trying to make right from the get go.

The Challenge System is streamlined, the equipment rules are a beautifully designed A la carte system that allows players to customize their characters inventories, and the Influence rules are far more simplistic and yet somehow more useful and versatile than they have ever been. But, the real kicker here are the new rules for Status. What I believe to be an integral part of any Vampire game has bees Status, and Mind’s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade really delivers a unique and innovative way to put meaning to Vampire’s social hierarchy. This was by far one of the most “grin causing” reads in the entirety of the book – so I won’t spoil it for you.

So in giving any RPG book a rating one has to ask themselves, what am I rating? Is it the quality of the writing? Is it the changes to the rules? Am I just comparing it to other versions of the game?

I love this book. I love the rules changes and improvements, but it is beefy. You’ll have a load of rules to remember, and as always it’ll take a great deal of hand-holding to get your new players comfortable with the system (let alone the world). I’m a believer of less is more, and sadly Mind’s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade falls handedly in the more category.

I would argue that Mind’s Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade was a concerted effort to build a Live Action system that truly represents the essence of Vampire the Masquerade – and in my mind it was the most successful reimagining of the system since its inception.

Thus! 4 of 5 stars. A great book, a tremendous value, and a solid system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 59 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles