Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Omega Slice Playtest Rules
by JEFFERY W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 13:47:59

This is a well done character portion of the BNS Apocalypse, love the mechanices cant wait for the full book to be done



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Omega Slice Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Lance L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 14:59:47

Fantastic version of the much beloved Vampire LARP -- you can tell that a ton of work went into getting this (mostly) right. Love what they did with status. Love what they did with the overall game mechanics. Don't love what they did to a couple disciplines, like possession and several of the Tremere paths, rituals, etc. But certainly worth the purchase. Got both the hard cover (from local game store) and the PDF from Drivethru RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Delta Slice Playtest Rules
by David L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2016 23:58:22

This book is one of my more favorite and Infact I'm looking for groups to play this. For right now though I didn't seem to have much of a problem with it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Delta Slice Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Delta Slice Playtest Rules
by Steve L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2016 14:45:04

A new and much needed extension on the gama slice. These new systems make every tribe "Combat effective" but removes the incentive to play a Get of Fenris. Teses slice make play testing possible but leave many questions open. The new system is worlds better than the old system since it was a combination of native American mystic believes meets captain planet. The rank system left more questions than answers. But I do like the fact that of you spend rank in social situations it hurts your re-Nown pools for rank advancement. It is not mentioned if fleeting Re-Nown is like fleeting status in masquerade where it refreshes after each game session. Now in gaining re-nown ST's should be very careful in eliminating player bias. If Mr. Get kills the worm by himself but is not part of the OOC "cliq" he gets no re-nown at the next moot. Since these games are designed to all be played in the same LARP at the same time using the same rules systems I have reached out to the By Night team with mechanics questions and have never gotten any response. I was hoping that the delta slice would answer these questions but as they say "No dice". A prime example of this is when a gift is stat +skill+rank vs. Stat + WP +rank.....do vampires substitute generation of rank?. Also the editing on these slices is horrible. I have to read something 3 times to infer a meaning on some basic rules sections. In the gama slice the merit "Grandmothers touch" pg 285 has a mention of an int focus that has nothing to do with the mothers touch int focus..."Grandmother’s Touch heals 2 points of damage, instead of the standard 1 (or 3 points of damage, instead of the standard 2, if Intelligence-focused)." but the mothers touch int focus reads..."Focus [Intelligence] You can use this power on any target within a number of steps equal to the number of dots in your Medicine skill" pg 220. This is an example of these issues. The Curse is a strange and troubling mechanic since any garu must sit in his little mystic hiding hole to kill all rage gains for 24 hours before interacting with humans....a little strange but OK. The silent striders have a 2ed rank gift that makes a 6th gen vampire act like a 13th gen? Thats a little powerful for a 2ed rank gift? But then again the Follower of set 1 pt merit of personal cult that grants 30 free XP in backgrounds is OK? Speed beyond thought is elder celerity and for a 5th rank gift its a good match. The star gazers 2ed rank gift is just obscene and this gift in on par with some 5th ranked gifts. Their 5th rank gift is a victim of bad editing. when you spend the ancestors background ..is that a permanent expenditure or is it a temp thing like fleeting status? Now kinfolf would be nice to play and needed PC's in a fuly encompaceing LARP but can they have acces to merrits and if so...which ones. Overall the new rules are good but the editing is realy bad and leaves a lot of wide open questions. Hope this helps and I really hope these questions get sorted out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Gamma Slice Playtest Rules
by Steve L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2016 12:18:28

Overall its a good system but I encountered a few editing errors that will need to be corrected. An example is the explanation of the merrit Grandmothers touch. Also there is ZERO mention of how to gain Renown and how that system even works. Just how much each rank cost. The part where each Auspice gaining a 6 dot cap in one abality is great as well as that dot being cost X1 as opposed to cost X2. The main thing that needs to be crystal clear is that when this book is a finished product and out in players hands that these rules can be instantly be put to use in a vampire game..so far this look like that will be the case. The tribes are ballenced as far as what they all need to do unlike the old system which turned into a version of "Captain Planet combined with native American mysticism" As always the Wyrm is to cool for words but I imagine that the new book of the wyrm will be another book entirely.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Gamma Slice Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Quickstart Guide
by David P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2015 06:12:07

A poor insight into the clans is provided in this otherwise well done intro kit to Mind's Eye Theatre for Vampire the Masquerade.

While the write up for the Ventrue and the Brujah leaves little out those are the only two clans which are presented in this book, as such it provides a mediocre insight into the Jihad and the camarilla.

Otherwise this free resource is a solid introduction to the MET for VtM.

The developers could have made more space by cutting out the equipment section and trimming down the disciplines so as to only include the first few levels, also the merits and flaws could have been cut to make space to represent the other five camarilla clans if not all thirteen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Beta Slice Playtest Rules
by Ralph E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:56:36

This book is very clear about its purpose and provides a lot of detail about the setting. Character creation is straightforward and most rules are easy to understand.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Beta Slice Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Beta Slice Playtest Rules
by Mattheau F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:10:58

This game is still in development and I am already in love with it. This game is fun and the developers love feedback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2015 11:22:53

I am very much a fan of what they did with the system - both in terms of mechanics and the updated settings. Having played in the Sabbat and Camarilla venues with these rules, I can say I am impressed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Maximilian B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2015 05:32:10

The book is well written, and a vast improvement on the old rule system. -2 stars for the dented corner on the hardcover book (probably happened during shipping). It's a heavy book, so I guess I can understand that happening, but better packaging might have prevented it, and I wouldn't have spent $60 on a book from a store with a dented cover.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Alpha Slice Playtest Rules
by victor m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 14:24:49

Our group simulated combat with werewolfs, and all of them, it became clear that it is impossible to win a fight against a get of fenris. with a certain combination of advantages and get the disciplines of fenris he can quickly reach 8 rage, healing much damage per turn and a number of traits for combat actions / dodge around 30.

We understand that werewofs should be powerful mystical creatures but if it were possible to generate a coefficient that represents the power of the characters. And if a division was made between the coefficient of werewolfs by the coefficient of gangrel with the same amount of XP, we can say that the earlier version of VTM the coefficient would be close to 2 and, in this version, it reaches 5 or 6.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Alpha Slice Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Werewolf The Apocalypse Alpha Slice Playtest Rules
by Robyn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 21:26:00

I love it. It's well balanced, it works well in cross venue with Vampires, so far as my troupe has tried playtesting it, and the combat system puts them to a place where they don't just auto-kill a kindred. I can't wait until the whole thing comes out and I'm excited to see what they do for the lore and other tribes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Storyteller Secrets
by Charisse V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2014 15:50:34

It was very helpful and awesome at the same time! Definitely worth waiting for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Storyteller Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2014 08:14:29

Love the book and the system. Really love the By Night Studios crew. My copy was sent to me in pure black and white, no color what so ever. In a matter of hours of contacting them they told me they would be reprinting and reshipping my book along with the pictures I had sent to the manufacturer so that this would never happen again. Awesome game and awesome company!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Quickstart Guide
by Elmer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2014 21:08:33

As someone who already has the book, and is viewing the Quickstart as a way to get people introduced to it, it does the job well. This quickstart gives the overall rules for the game, including challenges, time, and related mechanics; character creation and two Clans, the Ventrue and Brujah; all the base Merits and Clan-specific Merits; appropriate Disciplines for those Clans; skills and trait descriptions; example equipment; and essentially everything you'd need to run a test game. Some things that are largely complex or wordy for the Quickstart (like Backgrounds and Status) is excised. The Quickstart advises you to build characters at the Ancilla generation and that's the only background talked about. Quite workable for test games to try out the rules.

Also as a bonus, if you already have a copy of the book, the Quickstart would make a great 'lite' copy for only the rules to have on hand for extras at a game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre: Vampire The Masquerade Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 56 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles