Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2021 22:52:48

I am revising my review on this title. Initially I didn't like it because it didn't have some of the things I wanted most:

Psionics Non-tactical combat rules *More story tracks

I still don't think I'll ever use the multiplayer rules, but I have played several games with Escalating Battles, Progressive Difficulty (method 2 - includes elite enemies and difficulty toggles), and Deployment variables.

I am currently combining these rules with some of optional rules in the base set:

  • Combat events
  • Story Track
  • Red and Black missions

So my campaign goal is to try and finish the story track with these rules, and complete a black mission by turn 25. If I can do that, I will declare "I have beat the game."



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Parsecs From Home - Expansion 1 - Trailblazers Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Conan: Waves Stained Crimson Campaign
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:51:51

This campaign is 108 pages covering several adventures. The campaign covers several cities and explores new islands. Each island has a map and information for you to use . Information about Pirates and some pirate groups is included. Author gives advice on how to motivate a group to play each adventure. includes a variety of encounter types from combat/stealth/investigate/dipolmacyexplore/and leadership. Has information on several ships and ideas for further adventures. Depending on how well the group does, by the end of the campaign they can be pretty wealthy so a gm should carefully read through the adventures and decide how to handle that issue. The basic idea is to save themsleves, get revenge, save the world, save the girl. It is a well written campaign that could be finished n about 5 to 6 game sessions depending on the size of your group. At 15 bucks it is worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Waves Stained Crimson Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Seventh-Inning Slaughter!
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:40:11

This product is 28 pages long and is set in Illinois, USA July 4, 1943. The adventure can be placed at another time but is intended to be in the USA. Can be used for a new or existing group and played in one game session. Includes a map of the stadium. Also has some handouts for players. One nice thing in this adventure is some historical info on baseball during the war with womens baseball leagues. The adventure events are done by each inn of the game.
A new pc group might have trouble with this adventure since it happens not in a war zone. It is a nice change of pace adventure, being out of a war zone and back on the homefront. Due to the page count I think this should have been a five dollar adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Seventh-Inning Slaughter!
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Raiders of the Serpent Sea: Player's Guide - FREE
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:29:57

This product is 51 pages and covers what would need to play in this gameworld. It is a game with heavy nordic influences but still original.
Areas covered are: pc creation-species-class archtypes ships-weapons-armor-drinks Rules for glory mechanic history of world and key groups and factions includes 2 page world map and several location maps. The artwork helps to give you a feel for the world. With the information included you can easliy play a campaign without needing anything but the guide. You can also used this as an add on to your existing 5e gameworld as a far off land or demi realm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Raiders of the Serpent Sea: Player's Guide - FREE
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Conan: Shining Kingdoms - The Dwellers Below (PDF)
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:20:14

This product is 43 pages long. The adventure will take one or two game sessions to complete. Adventure takes place in Tizrah in Shem. Adventure includes iinformation on Tizrah nd some npcs. Author does give advice if you want to place the adventure elsewhere. The adventure includes a siege, dungeon exploration. encounters include non combat/combat/stealth/magic. Includes ideas for running adventures after this one and ideas on how to use Tizrah. A classic stop the cult from bringing in a crazy god to rule the world adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - The Dwellers Below (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Conan: Shining Kingdoms - Sons of Vidarna (PDF)
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:13:07

This product is 17 pages. This adventure can be played in one night with a two to six size group. It inludes amap and information on thecity of Zamora and the Maul. Includes information on House Sattari. The adventure is pretty straight forward in design. Has a nice mix of combat/stealth and some non combat encounters. Adventure starts with group working for house Sattari, otherwise the gm will need to do some work to start the adventure. Author provides advice on how to handle the several different ways the adventure could end with ideas on how to go from there. A nice adveture that can be ran in a single night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Shining Kingdoms - Sons of Vidarna (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures IDW Year Five Tie-In PDF
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2021 22:05:33

This product is 26 pages covering the events from the year 5 comic series produced by IDW. The time frame is classic trek in the main timeline.
included is a new faction for the federation -the originalists. the product gives some details on the political views and movements in the federation at this time. The second faction is Aegis-a overmind being tied in to the charcter Gary 7 from a classic trek episode. To help understand and use Aegis I would recommend watching the episode with Gary 7. Several new lifepaths are availaible: I'qosa-Aqautic species Iotians-from classic trek episode where everything was based on the gnags of 20th century Chicago and what happened after that episode. Tholians-also from a classic trek episode. New NPCS: Gary 7 and Isis Henry Mudd and celia Starfleet admiral Konaxi Surak of Vulcan Several different Tholians Ships: USS Thessus-not sure what class I'qosa ships couple of Tholian ships. Overall I liked this supplement. I liked the updates on the Iotians and Tholians. I disliked Aegis. The idea of galactic overmind seems overused with star trek discovery. The Tholian info and ships are an excellent addition to the game. For these reasons I think this is worth five bucks for the Tholian, and Iotian information.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures IDW Year Five Tie-In PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Gamemaster's Guide
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2021 09:01:44

This guide updates the Achtung! Cthulhu rules for the 2d20 system. The rules are easy to understand and there are plenty of in character blurbs to really flesh out the feel of the game. Adversaries' stats from weakest to strongest are presented including several Elder Gods and the artwork is glorious for men and monsters alike.

With numerous groups of enemies and a brief history of the game world, this sourcebook is a must have for anyone running 2d20 Achtung! Cthulhu!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20: Gamemaster's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures Shackleton Expanse Campaign Guide
by Craig J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2021 14:47:19

An essential resource for those running campaigns in the Shackleton Expanse. One small glitch: the INNER WORLDS TABLE on page 305 appears to be incorrect and a duplicate of the OUTER WORLDS TABLE. If you want to generate warmer worlds you will need to come up with your own table.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Shackleton Expanse Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Conan: Waves Stained Crimson Campaign
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 07:20:26

Let me be honest. I'm a sucker for 'Stop an Apocalypse' adventures and this one doesn't dissappoint. At just over a hundred pages, these five adventures form a campaign that takes the players on the open seas and pits them against an evil sorcerer trying to raise an Elder God.

The adventures are fairly interlocked together so it'd be somewhat of a challenge to run them without the other ones. That being said, they mesh together perfectly and really capture the gritty barbaric feel that Conanesque adventures should inspire.

As usual the art is fabulous and the price tag is good for the amount of material presented. Definitely another win for the Modiphius crew.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Waves Stained Crimson Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2021 13:24:50

A free trip into a new system - a Mephisto review

A quick trip to France

Achtung! Cthulhu is a roleplaying game that started with an unusual rulebook that supported two game systems at once - the classic Cthulhu game system and Savage World - and for which there are several rule versions for Fate or PDQ, for example. Now Modiphius, however, focuses, Achtung! Cthulhu on its own rule system 2d20, and in the run-up to the two essential rulebooks, publishes a quickstart for testing first.

This quickstart consists of two parts: on the one hand, the short rules and, on the other hand, a first introductory adventure. The rules and background give a brief insight into the world of Achtung! Cthulhu and the conflict between Section M on one side and the Black Sun and the Nachtwölfe on the other, transferring the Cthulhu setting to the backdrop of World War 2.

The rule system is based on rolling d20 for tests, rolling below a difficulty. Therefore, a 1 is an excellent result, while a 20 is a bad roll, causing additional problems. The dice are rolled against the sum of an attribute and a skill. The number of successes is determined by how many d20 beat the target value. Additional successes allow players to gain Momentum, which is used to bring positive game effects into play. While two d20 are rolled by default (hence the name 2d20), Momentum points and other mechanisms can be used to gain up to three bonus dice.

Another option is giving the gamemaster Threat, a currency that the gamemaster can use to buy additional threats and complications later. Also, non-player characters can use Threat the way player characters use Momentum. Luck - in the form of Fortune - gives players additional options. Of course, the rules system of the starter focuses heavily on combat. In fights, the player characters first accumulate stress; only greater damage causes injuries. The topic of magic is only briefly touched upon in the quick starter. The possibility of casting counter-magic offers the player characters a way to ward off the dark magic of their opponents.

Another new concept in the 2d20 system is the so-called truths, which are similar to the aspects in Fate. They describe and define something in the game world, which then has rules implications. Similar to Fate, players have the ability to define truths through the use of Momentum.

A quick trip to France is a short adventure in which the player characters are sent out to France. Here, Black Sun activity has been reported and needs to be investigated. The adventure begins with the parachute drop over occupied France and with searching and contacting the resistance. Eventually, the player characters must penetrate the Black Sun's fortress, where, of course, a sinister ritual must be stopped at the last second. While the plot looks pretty archetypal, the adventure is primarily set up to introduce various rules, mechanics, and concepts, making this a good tutorial for new players. Of course, there is a small arsenal of pre-made characters (character creation rules are missing from the quick starter) that players can start with right away.

If you would like to get a first glimpse into the world of Achtung! Cthulhu and its implementation for the 2d20 system will get a great chance to get some insight here. Both the basic rules are well summarized, and the adventure offers an interesting introduction to the setting. And as this frist trip is for free, it is worth trying it out.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu 2d20 Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 14:04:40

This corebook does a great job of detailing both the 2d20 system used to play the game as well as the Fallout World the game takes place in. I'm only passingly familiar with the World having never played the video game (Although I have played the board game) and had no issues getting the feel of the Vaults and the Commonwealth as well as the adversaries both human and otherwise.

Various quests and plenty of background are included to give a GM dozens and dozens of gaming ideas to fuel a fertile mind. At the end of the book is included a more detailed adventure. This quest is a murder mystery that gives the players an opportunity to create new characters for a long campaign or have seasoned characters come upon a town during their travels.

As always with Modiphius products the art is top notch and goes far to give readers a visual feel for the game, which further helps GMs new to the world immerse PCs in it. All in all I consider this book well worth the price of admission!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fallout: The Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of core book
by jerry s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 13:04:32

Good game system and some great art and fluff but, as iv heard oters say as well, the organization and layout of the rules and mechanics make this a little harder to navigate then it should.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of core book
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
by Jason I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2021 09:01:28

I have not had a chance to playtest Wormsign yet.

That being said, SPECTACULAR artwork and production design. Rich sections of lore and world-buikding. As far as introductories or quick-starts... This is how how to do it.

Everything you need to get a taste for the world and for play. I ALMOST BOUGHT THE COREBOOK SIGHT-UNSEEN AFTER REVIEWING THIS I WAS SO HIGHLY IMPRESSED.

There's an art to successfully crafting a role-playing game, an art largely neglected in recent years. These folks are reviving that artform. And that is welcome.

I wish long, successful careers to everyone involved.

I hope the game plays as well as it is presented.

The world of rpg needs more pieces that inspire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dune: Adventures in the Imperium Wormsign Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Achtung! Cthulhu: Secret War Documents
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2021 19:25:38

This really makes for a great way to get that game immersion and flesh out your adventure. I know when I filled out mine it made me think of the organiztion and the personalities behind it. The players would refer back to it and it was worth way more than the purchase price.

Please make more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung! Cthulhu: Secret War Documents
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 448 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles