Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Star Trek Adventures: Kobayashi Maru Supplement (FREE)
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2020 12:32:46

This was my first interaction running Star Trek Adventures and it was really cool. I had a couple of players who weren't familiar with the setting but they quickly got the hang of their pregen characters. I think the book would be better if it had some more advice on ship to ship combat, but otherwise it was a good adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Kobayashi Maru Supplement (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
by Iv R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2020 12:11:28

I really liked Star Trek Adventures but it's a bit heavy for my own taste. I love Star Trek and I can see myself running a campaign with the system, I just think I need to get a lot of familiarity with it before commiting to buying the whole game



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Cold & Dark
by Florent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2020 14:32:59

Cool system, I've been using it for The Expanse and 99% of it is transferable with very few, if any, tweaks. This book however badly needs summary tables, as everything is dispersed and difficult to reference at a quick glance. Gear and COGs in particular are bad to navigate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cold & Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Kobayashi Maru Supplement (FREE)
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2020 05:25:18

Not only a high quality product perfect for any Star Trek fan, but free as well! This adventure is a great short adventure for starting Star Trek characters and I would love to run it for non Star Trek aficionados who would have no idea in or out of character what was going on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Kobayashi Maru Supplement (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
by Nathaniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2020 22:41:22

Overall, I love the theme of the campaign as I have always been a huge fan of Greek/Roman mythology. There are several really great subclasses presented in the campaign that flavor well and are quite good mechanically and thematically.

Beyond that, some of the campaign is quite contrite and is too straight forward which can lead the players to feeling railroaded into how and what they have to do. A little more player choice in the early game would be appreciated. DM's you may want to rewrite a little.

The middle section of the first half, Act II/III is almost too free world. Going from island to island can become a little exhausting and redundant. Especially when players don't have a great reason to visit each island other than, well we have to get X or Y from that island to move on.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords Adventure Book
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Conan PDF Master Collection
by Brian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2020 13:43:24

By Crom, this is a great deal! At first, I was a little skeptical and left a request for more information after reader what others had posted on this collection. Within just a day or two, the publisher got right back to me and had confirmed everything was in working order, so I jumped in on the purchase as a surprise for my players. The wealth information at my fingertips makes me feel as though I've stumbled upon an ancient library of forgotten lore, buried for millenia beneath the jungles of The Black Coast. The quality of every page is marvelous and I have yet to encounter any trouble with the files themselves. Aside from a few of the grammatical and spelling errors one would expect of scribes being pressured under pain of flogging, the charts, tables, and various informative sections are expertly constructed while the new mechanics, creature encounters, items, and sorcerous abilities seem perfectly balanced with the game and its many new archetypes. I have yet to delve into the ancient texts pre-dating the 2d20 system, but a conversion guide is available for those bold historians who wish to take their learning a step further without the need to first become masters of the old ways of the d20 era. The fact that these manuscripts and guides remain at all is a marvel on its own, but their inclusion in this bundle makes for an amazing deal that is more tempting than the fabled Heart of the Elephant. With all that I own now, thinking that there will be future additions at no cost has me thrilled to face down the horrors of the Hyborian Age with a band of dog brothers and sisters, eager to bloody the sands at our feet. Do not pass up this wonderful opportunity!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Conan PDF Master Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Liminal: The Eyes Have It
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2020 20:55:23

For the price its a good deal. I would have liked a little more information and adventure developement. Its a quick read at 12 pages and does give you enough information to run it but you will need to do some work. The best part I thought was how the adventure ended and the future advenure hooks that you can use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: The Eyes Have It
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Liminal: The Eyes Have It
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2020 06:34:18

Another solid adventure for Liminal, capturing the feel and ambience of this unique world. One thing I like about the Liminal adventures I've read so far is that they're more mystery than combat, although there is enough fighting for players who enjoy that to get their battle on at the end.

This adventure allows PCs to assist P Division in investigating a murder of one of their own and involving them in a political conspiracy that could have great affect on the Fae courts of London. Although it's nominally a sequel to One Boggart's Rubbish, it's not neccesary at all to have played that first or even know what it's about to enjoy the adventure, which at under two dollars is a steal for the great Roleplay potential and interesting NPCs involved.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:35:30

[REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

this quickstart module is great for quickly establishing the basic rules of the Vampire world and the personal horror of it all. The characters are strongly written and the plot is easy to follow. There are some possibilities the module simply does not account for though, and there are points where it is assumed that players will automatically be invested in certain things. The pregen character sheets are filled out nicely, and the ST advice is good. I don't think this accurately reflects the high-politicking nature of a lot of V5, but then again the system can be just as easily suited to very personal stories like this. I think there are points where the module kind of just expects players to automatically feel bad for stuff. It also oddly focuses rather heavily on the mystery aspect at first, but gives very few clues or actual ways for the PCs to unravel said mystery. The mystery itself isn't I think meant to be the main focus, but then why include all the details of the victims and the crimes? Unlike other reviewers, I quite enjoyed the flashback section, as the entire point of that is to get rid of player agency. The hunger just happens. You have to do it right as a storyteller, but the idea is literally that you are not in control. Sam is a strong driving presence in the module.

[SPOILERS AHEAD] On the other hand, I feel that the module's suggestion to have the killer admonish the PCs in the Confrontation Climax is particularly weak. She killed those people by choice. what she did is in no way comparable to the PCs. If the goal is to make the PCs question their actions, why have the actual serial killer be the vehicle for that??

additionally, the module gives no real direction for the relationship between Sam and Lector or for what he would do in general if the coterie just straight up kills Martha. This is odd to me if only for the moments in which the module prescribes moments to the second, like the flashbacks. Additionally, I am really confused by the "epilogues." They may or may not reflect the versions of the characters a given group plays, and they seem more like something you'd find in a video game than an RPG. You are literally told what your character thinks by the end.\

[END OF SPOILERS]

Overall though, I would say that this is a great first step for anyone into the World of Darkness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Monsters: A Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Liminal: Pax Londinium
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2020 13:23:42

The dangerous peace of London - a Mephisto review

Pax Londinium

Pax Londinium is the first major sourcebook for the urban fantasy roleplaying game Liminal. While smaller cases (i.e. adventures) for the players' crew have been published in addition to the rulebook so far, Pax Londinium presents a larger setting for the first time. But also with this London sourcebook Liminal continues its previous approach and states already in the introduction that there is not a single London, but London always lies in the perception of the observer. In this sense, the sourcebook provides several ideas but does not elaborate the setting down to the last detail, leaving enough room for gaming groups to find their individual interpretation of the city.

The book begins with the various power groups that can be found in London. Some of the groups already presented in the basic rules are presented. Their regional influence and usually a vital member are introduced. Some aspects have not been in focus so far, such as the fact that the Order of St. Bede has a media department. Furthermore, there are several power groups unique to London, of which the Hidden is undoubtedly the biggest. These people are no longer noticed by others and secretly care for the well-being of the city with their guilds. The authors openly admit that Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere inspired them. What is essential is that London is a divided city. While the supernatural groups north of the Thames are allowed to pursue their plans discreetly, the area south of the Thames is closed to them. Both the Order of St. Bede and the P Division of the Police, as well as old pacts, ensure that these rules are observed.

In the second chapter, some London legends and customs are explained and put into the context of Liminal. Here, one finds, for example, the ravens of London. One chapter shows the significance of the ghosts and undead of the city, while the next is about deities that partly influence the city. But not only celtic myths are found here, but also the Orisha or Egyptian influences affect in London. A further chapter introduces some strange encounters from secret video shops to supernatural courier services to a griffin.

The concept for a crew, a mysterious organization that brings together supernatural investigators, completes the book. Besides, there is a short magical rule supplement for chronomancy.

Pax Londinium consequently continues the philosophy of Liminal, that gamemasters get ideas and inspiration, as well as a few smaller concrete things - but not a sourcebook which details every supernatural personality and conspiracyl. The book is less about a concrete description of London than about feeling and atmosphere of the city and its mystical secrets. If you like to play Liminal away from small rural investigations in a city full of secrets and mysterious powers, Pax Londinium is an excellent choice. You will get a fascinating sourcebook, which is again atmospherically illustrated.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liminal: Pax Londinium
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Enterprise Player Characters
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2020 05:46:52

This is really great stuff. the whole crew sheet line in gerneral has been great, but I particulary like the Enterprise style sheet that these are on. It's also great that Shran was included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Enterprise Player Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Star Trek Adventures: Enterprise Player Characters
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 08:30:15

I remain a big fan of Enterprise, even though it's less well recieved than some of the other Star Trek shows. I thought this was a solid list of characters from the NX-01 and the write ups did a good job of briefly explaining each character. Some adjustments may need to be made to the characters stats based on what time period you use them in, but that's easy enough to do. The artwork also depicted the characters very well although I wish Shran looked a little more like Jeffrey Coombs but I was glad to see him included as he was definitely one of my favorite characters. All in all it's a solid list of character write ups good for any game that includes the Enterprise Crew.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Enterprise Player Characters
by kristine y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2020 13:24:08

similar to the other player characters from the other star Trek series. Includes stats for the major characters of the series. Some have questioned some of the given stats but I would say the stats given are at the start of the show and not the end. The ship stats for the Enterprise NX are nice to have and the product is nicely layed out. The only thing I would have included would have been stats for the Vulcan ambassador Soval and Starfleet Admiral Forrest and Silik, but they may have stats in other books. If you want to set a campaign or even a one shot in the Enterprise era then this is for you at a good price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Kobayashi Maru Supplement (FREE)
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 06:56:22

Very cool. I can see some players maybe being frustrated at the idea of a no win scenario, but Star Trek fans will love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Trek Adventures: Kobayashi Maru Supplement (FREE)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Art of Conan Sourcebook
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 06:18:11

Pretty happy with this. Obviously there is the amazing art, but i really like how its arranged by story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Art of Conan Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 399 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles