Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 02:02:55

I really liked Scion 1st Edition so I was really excited by a second edition to clean up some of the glaring flaws 1e had. Unfortunately this book doesn't really do that. it bolts a scion framework onto the Storypath system, which doesn't really work well. (You are mythically fast, well too bad this system uses Stamina to dodge!) It also changes the setting which was the part of Scion I loved so much into a world that I have trouble beiving in. I can (for a game) accept that the gods are real and grant power tot heir progeny, I can accept that the forces of evil rise up to attack mortals, but I really just can't belive that everyone on earth is aware of the truth of the exsistance of the old gods...and it didn't change any of human history. The setting completely losses me at that. I know that they wanted the modern setting to be close enough to our world to be relatable, but it ends up being more suspension of disbelief in human actions than I can muster.

All in all a not very good mechanical system paired with a setting that isn't logically consistant ends up with a product I just can't recomend.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2020 20:04:27

Continuing a tradition of Chicogo By Night campaigns from the 1st edition in the early 1990s, this is a model for how to organise a city campaign as well as being a great sandbox for the Chicago setting. The addition of the Lasombra is welcome, although I'd prefer to see this in a more core rules book, but each Clan gets a good write up. You could literally use just this, along with the core rules, to be able to run campaigns for years - and the various NPCs write ups are full and varied, along with a selection of Loresheets which are becoming an increasingly useable game aid at the table. The art/layout is excellent too and it's both easy on the eye and easy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Night Horrors: Spilled Blood
by Nicklaus E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2020 09:37:32

There are a number of antagonist options here, being a Night Horrors book, but most of what I really dig into is the clans and bloodlines that one can use to expand upon their own games. There are a number of very specific strange things going on with it that one could form a chronicle around, but don't really fit in many situations (IE - if you're running an ocean-based chronicle, pick this up). Overall, I really enjoyed this much needed drop of blood to rouse me out of the vampire torpor the line's been in without additional content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Spilled Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Player Tools - Cards & the Core Mechanic
by Gary F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2020 14:23:32

Good. This should be in the core book or given out by Onyx Path.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player Tools - Cards & the Core Mechanic
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

V20 Ghouls & Revenants
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2020 20:26:02

Super suppliment ! Love to start as a mortal get ghouled and eventually earn my embrace.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ghouls & Revenants
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2020 04:54:50

The sheer size of this book is intimidating, and some may find the writing style grating.

There are some new developments in terms of creating your own paradigm and style of magic, which still hangs on the core freeform magick (sic) system, while the setting material and various factions and groups accumulated through the years are all there. This very much an immersive, kitchen sink setting. A game some will undoubtedly love, but others will find it a bit much!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

M20 Book of the Fallen
by Thorin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2020 17:25:45

Loved it, Crunch books are fine, but I'm all about that lore and RP. This is a wonderful book written from a position of empathy and honesty that may turn many people off, people who should probably be a little more introspective about the reasons about that if you ask me..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Book of the Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Side of the Moon: Ready Made Characters
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2020 15:32:14

Dark Side of the Moon Ready Made Characters is exactly what it says it is.. 6 pre-made character for Trinity Contiuum flushed out and ready to play.

The Tabletop Gaming Club is pretty new to Trinity Contiuum, but this book let us jump right in. The characters have enough depth to give players a strong starting point while still leaving room for the players to make them their own. The story hooks provided for each character also helped our gamemaster put together the game session. Overall we found this product very useful especially for newer players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Side of the Moon: Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Many Names of Odin
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 14:37:33

The Many Names of Odin gives us a indepth look at the Aesir god Odin. The book provides us with 4 different ascepts of Heimdall fully detailed along with four example Scions of Heimdall. The book also a new Terra Incognita to flesh the world.

There is a small section in the book that provides two alternative virtues for Aesir Gods, Responsibility and Desire. We found these two virtues quite fitting for the Norse pantheon.

The tabletop gaming club really enjoyed this book and we recommend it to players and storytellers of Scion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Many Names of Odin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Many Names of Heimdall
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 14:20:12

The Many Names of Heimdall gives us a indepth look at the Aesir god Heimdall. The book provides us with 4 different ascepts of Heimdall fully detailed along with two example Scions of Heimdall. The book also included 2 story hooks and a new Terra Incognita to flesh the world.

The tabletop gaming club really enjoyed this book and we recommend it to players and storytellers of Scion. THe only flaw we found is that it could have benefited from having an example scion for each of the 4 ascepts of Heimdall instead of just 2 of them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Many Names of Heimdall
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Solo Adventures
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 14:05:27

Scion Solo Adventures gives us a set of rules and reference materials in order to play Scion games by yourself. It also provides tips for how to solo-role play and how to use improvisation to keep your story moving forward.

The Tabletop Gaming Club experimented with these rules and concepts. Most of the members reported back to enjoying the scenarios they played out using the rules. Although, we don't think solo play will ever replace group play, there are times that you have no else to play with, and these rules make playing a game on your own possible and enjoyable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Solo Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Yugman's Guide to Ghelspad Part One (5e OGL)
by Alain G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2020 04:42:29

This supplement updates some material from the 3.X era, as well as a little bit of new content. Most of it is centered on the Hornsaw Forest and those who inhabit it, with a couple of exceptions.

Overall, I found the quality really good. I liked the small comments from in-game characters such as Zarra or Yugman, it adds a little bit of spice. The paragraph on self-harm and mental health at the table was a really nice touch too. However, I could not rate this a 5 star review as I wanted to because of what I perceived as a few flaws in the design (either balance issues, or confusion wording in some places)

Arachnid Apotheosis => this feature is really underwhelming for a 17th level feature. It seems more or less as powerful as a cantrip, but it requires a) to make a melee attack (while the subclass doesn't have anything that supports melee attacks) and b) make a saving throw, and then the good effects only comes at c) when the monster reaches 0 hit points. For comparison, the venomous barb abilty of the Pact of the Serpent is more powerful... EDIT : and now that I think about it, I would have preferred to see a Vengeance domain for Sethris rather than a Venom domain.

Tanil's Blessing => nothing really important, but there is a "per day" that slipped under the radar, and that is not really 5e-like (NB: I really like this subclass)

Ophidian Spirit => now that feature is confusing. It is not clear whether you have the benefit of all 3 abilities, or if you need to choose one. In addition, the duration of 1 hour/warlock level is kinda weird. Can you cumulate multiple use? Like use it once to get +3 to AC, then do a short rest, then use it a second time to get another +3 to AC? (Insert here a minor comment about the "per short/long rest" wording). It seems like this feature was shorten so that the subclass would fit the page, and I think some clarification are required ;)

Spells => some spells are never mentionned elsewhere, and there is no spell list per class, so it is not clear how one can access these spells. Maybe the combined book will have a spell list?

Bite of the mamba => I am not fond of ability score loss in 5E, I believe that the original designers avoided to use this tool for a reason, and therefore that it is better to avoid it. It is my personal opinion ;)

Sethris Potency => increasing a DC by 1d4 + proficiency bonus seems really powerful, even for a 3rd-level spell. DC in 5E are less spread out than in 3.X so I am a little bit cautious about that one. An alternative (the one I was thinking about when I drafted a conversion for that spell) is that you replace the poison DC with your own spell save DC. This globally provides the same increase for low-level poisons, but doesn't increase too much poisons with very high DC.

Entrance the beast => it is not clear if the first sentence is an actual ability or not (my bet is not, but if it is, there is a ton of information that is missing.

Entrance the beast / Snake eyes => these two are missing information about how often these can be used.

NB: these are mostly details, and again, overall the book is great ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yugman's Guide to Ghelspad Part One (5e OGL)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Endless Frontiers Volume One
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2020 21:32:09

The Space Opera aspect of Aeon is the area I find the most interest, and this book goes a long way in fleshing out the various movers and shakers of the space game, and between the pre-designed ships and the tons of new tags, it is already helping me in my own chronicle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Endless Frontiers Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Leviathan: Mabuhay
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2020 22:38:14

Very nice product, great characters, great format. Needed type of map, deckplans, at a minimum a wireframe of the ship to elevate it. Would have paid more with maps.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Leviathan: Mabuhay
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Many Names of Odin
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2020 14:14:51

Really dug this one. Many Names of Odin, like the excellent Many Names of Heimdall before it, offers both an alternative virtue set for the Aesir and a number of alternative mantles for the titular god.

Each one represents a unique take rooted in a different aspect of the mythology and manages to feel both fleshed out and full of potential for play. You can tell a lot of love and research went into this, and it comes through in the final product.

If you're a Scion GM or have any plans to play an Aesir scion, definitely check this out. It's well worth the money even just as a fun read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Many Names of Odin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1173 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles