Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by Ben V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2019 12:14:50

This book should not exist. When I first heard that you'd be able to play a pre-visitation scion I was pretty interested. It could go lots of ways. Sadly it turned out to be a demo version of what the game should be. Character creation is just the same as in Hero except in Origin you don't get any of things that make the setting actually interesting, namely the birthrights. This is just an excuse to make us buy an extra book. Everything in here could have been easily included in the Hero book as it is under 200 pages with a lot of unnecesary fluff and graphics that take up half or entire pages. But we are forced to buy this product because it contains the game rules that are required to even play Hero. Super disapointed in this. This book is just a rulebook for Scion with some fluff on the setting with rules to play Scion-light designed to grab some extra cash from our pockets.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
by Kyle N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2019 03:47:17

Origin is a solid (though mayhaps a bit flawed) system. But THIS is where Scion shines. Views of divinity! Showing the relationship between the Mortal and the Divine in the World of Scion! A grand and unique view of the setting.

The biggest one for me? There is not masquerade, like there was in 1e. That's right. The Gods are real... And they don't hide this. Nobody in the World doubts that the Gods exist, and that their champions walk the World. It's like a superhero setting, only the heroes are Heroes of Divinity.

Also, while I enjoyed Scion 1e, the more I learned about the actual stories of the Gods that were written for the line, the more I realized that oh, liberties were taken. Very unfortunate ones. Not so here, where the Pantheon writeups are MUCH closer to the source material. (No citing of Marvel Comics for the Nordic gods, for one). In particular, the Hindu Gods (the Deva) have one of the best writeups in the entire book. And the Aztec Gods (the Teotl) are very different from their 1e writeup of "The Designated Nominal Heroes", explaining much more about their nature.

I honestly wish I could rate this higher than just 5 stars. I'd recommend Scion 2e to anybody who likes adventure, anybody who likes over the top heroics, and people who are Mythology Nerds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by Kyle N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2019 03:22:44

Honestly, I've heard some people say that this book has some errors, but frankly? My group and I have found a few things here and there, but nothing that really took us too long to figure out.

And what this book does well, it does PHENOMINALLY. I love the Storypath system shown here, and am eager to adapt it to other games. The system is surprisingly elegant in what it allows, while having just enough mechanics to it to give the dice-rolling moments some real weight.

And more than that is the tone that it sets. I love the setting of this game, and as someone who enjoyed Scion 1e at the time, everything that Edition did, this game does better.

A LITTLE bit of patience will go a long way with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2019 12:04:43

Scion Hero takes what was great about the original game and updates in with more cultural awareness and modern gaming sensabilities. To check out our complte thoughts, check out our review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-17-scion-hero-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2019 12:03:32

We love the updated and expanded setting presented in second edition. The storypath rules are great, though can be a little challenging to interpret in places. We would have loved a character creation summary. To hear our complete thoughts, check out our overview/review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-16-scion-2nd-edition-origin-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
by Amund L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2019 04:20:07

We have had an absolute blast playing this the past months. Great purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2019 17:20:21

This book really feels like it was poorly managed by higher ups in the publishing group. There is a good game in this book. But it takes a lot to get the information out of this book to get it.

Character creation is difficult to follow and you will have to read the examples to get it. It took our group a couple hours of reading and re-reading to get it.

Some sections of the book change how they refer to some stats causing the lack of consistancy to breed more confusion.

It's difficult to figure out how to do simple things like listen for danger. At times, it feels like the skills are attempting to be very specific but then turn around and try to be very general. Some things even repeat themselves under different skills making it hard to tell when you apply one and not the other. We spent more time discussion what would apply in a situation than enjoying the situation the Story Teller gave us.

The short stories are fun. The best part of the book. Love reading them and they really show that this system can do.

If this book had better management, I think it could have been great. But it does feel like there was no strong hand to guide the book through it's life cycle and make sure everything was connected properly at the end.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2019 17:13:12

Rather enjoyed everything about this book. Mechanics, lore, enemies, character creation, etc.

I think the lore section and mechanics section should be printed in two seperate books. There is soo much goodness and content in this that the bindings can not hold it. I have had to repair my bindings already and I expect to repair them again soon. Print quality from the Drive Thru is the biggest negative for me. But Onyx really came on strong with this book and because of that, I will be getting the rest of their product line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition PDF [BUNDLE]
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2019 17:06:34

I don't know what happened with Book One but there are so many mistakes in it that it's often hard to follow. Some parts are called one thing in the beginning of the book and are later changed to another. Character creation was difficult to follow and took our group a couple of hours to understand what they wanted and where. Then playing the game it was difficult to understand how to do simple things like listening. Skills at times feel overly general and then oddly specific with no simple way to see what would apply where and when.

Book Two we had no major problems with.

The stories in both books are really fun and enjoyable, mechanics are clunky and odd with no intiutive ideas, and proof reading feels rushed.

It's not a terrible system, just expect to read and re-read it a number of times to figure anything in it. It's a project of love and you can feel and see that. I think it was poorly managed by higher ups in the book's development that caused these problems.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition PDF [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2019 16:26:39

There's a good game in this book, there really is, but dear god is it ever tedious to get to, not impossible by any means, but definitely more work than I like to put into just reading an RPG book. The problem is that it's just not very well put together. The order in which the informatin is presented, as well as the quality of the writing, leads to quite a bit of unnecessary confusion and ambiguity. I was eventually able to make sense of pretty much everything (I think), but not before reading multiple sections that presented the same information phrased differently (and then managing to deduce meaning from the combination of both versions), or spending quite a bit of time puzzling over the meaning of various rules or just poorly presented information.

This definitely looks like a good game, but it really suffers due to bad presentation. Overall, the book doesn't live up to the kind of quality I've come to expect from Onyx Path. I haven't read Hero yet, hopefully it'll be a little bit better.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2019 15:55:53

Changeling the Lost Second Edition keeps everything great from the first edition, and refines or replaces any clunky systems with evocative narritive driven options that evoke the dark fairytale feel of the game. To here our complete thoughts, check out our audio overview: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-28-changeling-the-lost-2nd-edition-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Scion Second Edition Errata and FAQ
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2019 01:33:40

This Errata is woefully incomplete. There are many mistakes (minor in their nature but made larger by their multitude) still present in the final PDF that are not addressed in the errata document.

The overall feeling I get from this compiled Errata is that it's less an attempt at actually addressing all the many problems (most of which are minor typos, I admit) and more an attempt at damage control.

Also, the Origin book (the only one of the two that I've read so far) is not very well written. The order in which the informatin is presented, along with the writing itself, leads to quite a bit of unnecessary confusion and ambiguity. I was eventually able to make sense of all I've read so far, but not before reading other sections that presented the same information but phrased differently (and then managing to deduce meaning from the combination of both versions), or spending quite a bit of time puzzling over the meaning of various rules or just poorly presented information.

This is very sub-par for Onyx Path.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Errata and FAQ
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Mouse of the Sun and Rantai
by Magnus K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2019 19:47:48

These PDfS are simply too expensive.They are supposed to be collected into a book in the end, but when you use some basic maths, you realise that the price for all of them is as much as a nicely printed book (at current, and the book is not even done by far, as far as I know), which is simply a lot of money when it is not a phycial book. However, one of my players needed the mouse for the campaign I am running, so I bought this particular one (and sure, I like it a lot). Since I like it a lot, I am rating it at 3, due to the price. A good product, but a bit pricey.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Mouse of the Sun and Rantai
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Relics and Rituals
by Alex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2019 00:08:29

Fantastic book, lots of great material for any OGL/Pathfinder game. However, pages 96 and 97 are missing from the pdf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Relics and Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Fetch Quest
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2019 18:25:11

I've played Fetch Quest a couple of times now since I got the Kickstarter set. The first time, our group had three players. The second time, we had four players. Both times were a blast! I'm hoping to rope one more player into the group to see how it is with five players at a time. This game is fun, cooperative, and easy to learn. You can set it up and start playing it very quickly. Also, it's an adventure! (Seriously, if you're not turning it into a tongue-in-cheek RPG-esque experience... Well, I don't want to say you're doing it wrong, but...)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fetch Quest
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1053 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles