Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
No Gods, No Masters
by REMI [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2024 06:23:16

An official campaign! Finally! Scion is a complex game, and having an example of ambitious scenarios was really essential for me to get started with it. I was afraid of basic or conventional ideas, but that's not the case at all. Here is an interesting story that considers a group of Scions from different religions, well-developed NPCs, and useful tips for running the campaign... A big BRAVO to the Scion team, and I hope you continue to publish scenarios and campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Gods, No Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2024 22:48:05

My favorite World of Darkness game line. I love vampires and werewolves and all, but i cannot get enough of my funny wizard game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
At The Gates Ashcan Edition
by Dominik [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2024 06:41:42

It's a nice little starter for a high fantasy game using Storyteller system. If a tabletop game with JRPG flavor is your thing, this is an excellent taster before the full game release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
At The Gates Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
by Jose [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2024 01:44:48

It feels as if they are trying to contain all of CoD in a single idea, but the idea itself isn't well explained or developed. You get a bit of explanation of what some character options are but there isn't enough to properly understand what you are supposed to be in the game, what the group composition is and how the world in general works, a lot of things are left too vague.

I hope the final thing is good, but this pdf is too vague to get a good idea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Live By The Blade (A Jumpstart for Scion: Dragon)
by Trisstan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2024 14:17:03

A great way to try this fantastic game. The book has everything you need to start playing your first Dragon adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Live By The Blade (A Jumpstart for Scion: Dragon)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
by Weston A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2024 22:32:21

This is THE werewolf game for me. So far, no other game has captured what it means to be a creature of two natures: man and wolf, flesh and spirit. The Sacred Hunt is a great way to focus your stories and an organic way for your characters to grow stronger with time. I like the spirit world and how it behaves like nature does, with all the wonder and terror that entails. In this game, you are a hunter that can hunt prey in both the world of Flesh, and the spirit realm known as the Shadow. There is a legacy you need to keep in mind, a duty to keep Flesh and Spirit separate, but you have an incredible freedom in how you go about that. Yet, you are not a hero in shining armor. You're a monster, and you need to be careful or the people you care about could get hurt. You choose how much of a monster you are. You have five choices of what kind of werewolf you will be, determined by the phase the moon was in when you had your First Change. And there are five Tribes that each have their particular Sacred Prey and different ideas of how to become the best hunters. Auspices are the tools you have and how you approach the hunt, while your Tribe is declaration of what prey matters most (all Tribes will hunt any kind of prey, not just their Sacred Prey) and what philosophy resonates with you the most. Of course, you can be tribeless as a Ghost Wolf, but there are disadvantages. Most importantly, though, the choice IS there. That is what makes this game (and other Chronicles of Darkness games) great. There is not much restricting your table from playing how you want. The game has great lore and excellent, evocative world-building. You are the children of a wolf god and the moon herself, so the stories go, and Wolf, your father, was the greatest hunter that ever existed. He kept the spirit and flesh separate. All was well. But then he grew weak, and his werewolf children made the decision to kill him, and the world was never the same again. You are given the purpose of taking on Wolf's role, and it is up to you how and if you accept that. Really, the game is elegant in this way in that it does not overwhelm you with lore if you are new to the game. You can learn as you go. All you really need to know for the lore is that short story above. The rest is, as they say, history. You live in the present, and there is hunting to do. Of course, you can dive more into the lore when you are ready and the game leaves a lot open for you to decide what is and is not canon for your game. Like other Chronicles of Darkness games for 2nd Edition, there are example settings in the book that provide fascinating plot hooks for your group. Of course, you can ignore all of that and make your own setting. There really is a lot of freedom here.

There are some issues, such as the organization of the book not always being the best and I dearly wish there was more material for the Tribes. Some of my issues with the mechanics are problems with the Chronicles of Darkness 2E system itself, so I will not be getting too much into those and stick with what is particular to Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition. There are also almost too many mechanical details that simply don't need to be there and slow the game down, such as the flowchart of conditions to explain what spirits are doing when they do things peculiar to them. The mechanics of spirits in general are somewhat challenging to understand and while I enjoy the spirit aspect of the game, I definitely think it takes too long to really understand them. I also have an issue with one of Forsaken's core mechanics: Harmony. Harmony measures where you are between the two extremes of Flesh and Spirit since you are technically both at the same time. The book describes Harmony as something that constantly goes up and down, with the middle of the meter being the "ideal" state. However, since you need to fail a roll to resist having your Harmony go up or down, and you have at LEAST 2 dice at character creation to do this and the roll is a success if even one die is a success, your Harmony may not change much even if it is tested. This only becomes more of a problem as you increase the Attributes used for the resistance roll.

Despite some problems, which every game has, Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition has held my interest for years and is my all-time favorite TTRPG game. If it isn't obvious by now, I very much recommend this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
House Rules - The Basics
by Karol [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2024 02:09:29

If you ever wondered how to interpret Trinity Corebook rules - you NEED this book! It really is A MUST BUY for any Game Master / Storyguide in any Storypath game! Author clarifies or fix things that are vague or just problematic in oryginał corebook. If you ever had problem with players buying stuff - this book is for you. If you ever wondered how to build Advance Science tools and weapons - this book is for you. If you are dissatisfied with vagueness of base Trinity combat - this book is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
House Rules - The Basics
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
No Gods, No Masters
by Matthew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2024 17:43:09

The first Scion 2e Adventure Path does not disappoint. No Gods, No Masters takes the players through the entirety of Origin and Hero Tier, with the possibility of early Demigod. It pits them against (or with!) the Keepers of the World, a mysterious inter-Pantheon coalition of deities that seeks to sever The World’s connection to its Gods for the sake of its mortal inhabitants. As my previous parenthetical mentioned, it does not assume the players will automatically reject the Keepers’ plan, although as the module goes on and more acts of questionable morality become apparent, the book’s guidance for a pro-Keepers Band becomes more scant, but right up to the end NGNM still offers rules and guidance for what could happen for all obvious paths the players take, and many of the less obvious ones too.

My one reservation is the number of system errors in the book. There are dozens of references to nonexistent Skills, Callings, and Purviesw. I have left my review at 5 stars because this is the Ashcan/non-final/pre-errata copy, and I assume errata will take care of these mistakes. There are a handful of references that assume the third act takes the Band through the entirety of Demigod Tier to Apotheosis, but I assume errata will take care of that too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Gods, No Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Exalted: Tale of the Visiting Flare
by Wojciech [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2024 15:11:08

It's a neat tone-setter for Exalted. Looks lovely, the characters are evocative, and it's a bit sad that it doesn't have any follow-up in the vein of the UDON comics of old.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: Tale of the Visiting Flare
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
by Patrick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2024 11:39:40

This document provides no mood whatsoever regarding the world or aspired feeling of the game. As a result, it reads like a soulless kitchen sink urban fantasy setting.

The rules engine is overly complicated. Nothing we haven’t seen stems of time over the last 20 years, and for my taste actually worse than most alternatives. Again, the document reads as inspiring as a badly written engineering undergraduate textbook.

The document served one purpose for me: making sure I won’t contribute to the kickstarter.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
by Neall [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2024 11:22:51

The next evolution of StoryPath and urban horror from the stewards of the Chronicles of Darkness. Really excited to see what the finished version of the game looks like once it's been polished and integrated more into the setting rather than the deliberately bare-bones ashcan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Heirs to the Shogunate
by Timothy [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2024 10:16:42

This is a magnificent supplement which greatly expands options for Dragonblooded characters and provides extended setting materials. I'm particularly fond of the Forest Witches and the Gunzosha armor.

Now, they just need a proper Solar Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heirs to the Shogunate
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Relics and Rituals
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2024 06:48:40

I just purchased this book and it is still missing pages 96 and 97 as well as pages 160 and 161 and also 192 and 193. is someone going to update the pdf with the missing pages? I am giving it 3 stars because of the missing material and not the book itself.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Relics and Rituals
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
No Gods, No Masters
by Nicolas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2024 16:33:28

Fascinating book It's quite honestly on.my top three scion books



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Gods, No Masters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
by Molua [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2024 11:51:31

The mechanics presented are clean and seem well written- a fairly direct upgrade from previous games in similar genres. I have no doubt that Curseborne will be a good game and that Storypath Ultra will be a good system.

Unfortunately, this preview is really trying to sell you on Storypath Ultra when it should be selling you on Curseborne. We know enough about the Storypath system, there is oodles of material out there for it. This ashcan should have dropped a bit of that and added some basic explanation of the setting- inspirational media, intended genre, tone and themes would have really helped make this ashcan sing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Curseborne: Ashcan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1838 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles