Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dark Ages: Darkening Sky
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 19:25:20

To be clear, I only read the Vampire adventure in this book, so I can't speak to the other scenarios presented. Simply put, I didn't really know why I should care about this storyline. The Big Bad is bland, the NPCs seem trifling, and nothing grabbed me about this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Darkening Sky
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras 2
by ADOLFO D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 13:52:52

The book structure is a mess, the new merits and covenants and other powers are all over the place. Something I used to love about the Chronicles of Darkness (First Edition) is the fact that we could just come up with our own stories and the books were attachging more to the system instead to the meta-plot. And on this book, there are a lot of space that could have been used to expand rules for playing in medieval times that were used to add stories and lore that doesn't have much of a use if you are creating your own. I really like some of the new powers and merits here, but the way the book is organized and the amount of content that doesn't have use if your intention is just to get more information and mechanics on how to run a game in medieval times, this book is not enterely worth it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras 2
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity RPG Quickstart
by Waldemar I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2020 08:59:22

It is a good quickstart product, but the included adventure started the trend of using "rogue psions" as adversaries. I don't think that is the best option for introducing the setting. The included scenario is a shoot them up. It works to showcase the combat system and some of the more martial psion aptitudes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

C20 Ready Made Characters
by Waldemar I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 01:05:07

It is a guide with ready made characters, and it also provides ideas for how these characters could form motleys. Ideas for adventures are also included. Simple task, and the book completes it. The mood may not be to everyones liking, and one of the adventure seeds is over the top, even if in mood with the particular motley in question.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
C20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

C20 Kithbook: Boggans
by Waldemar I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 00:46:38

A good kithbook expands on the stereotypes and provides the players with new concepts of what a player character from that kith can be. Kithbook: Boggans does so in an admirable fashion, taking the most common commoner kith and giving it a new spin. A Boggan character may not be the centerpiece of the story, but the most important one in the motley.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C20 Kithbook: Boggans
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity: Terra Verde: Psi Order Norça and Sudamérica Sourcebook
by Waldemar I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 08:57:59

If not the best order/region book, I would certainly put this at the very top of the line. Terra Verde was only published as a PDF back in 2001. It gives a good setting for transhumanist and biopunk adventures. Does contain quite a lot of metaplot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity: Terra Verde: Psi Order Norça and Sudamérica Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity Field Report: Oceania
by Waldemar I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 08:54:56

Oceania was one of two Trinity Field Reports that were only published as PDF-files back in 1999. As such it shares the merits and flaws of the other TFRs. It is a brief introduction from an "in game" point of view to a topic in the game. Its first publication was as a mock- up OpNet page on White Wolf's webpage. The content provides a first glance of underwater life in the 22nd century, with hints to some of the setting's secrets. It works well to give a first taste to underwater adventures, but does require some work if the storyteller wants to use it as a background for a series.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Field Report: Oceania
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 03:21:21

I liked the concept of Promethean but it seemed unplayable. This version fixes that considerably! The layout is still a bit of a mess but the themes are amazing, I love the entire concept of thePilgrimage and the New Dawn. Prometheans are surprisingly powerful and versatile. Si much potential for roleplay and drama and character interactions. I am currently playing a game of it and I am having a lot of fun with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 03:18:47

Doesn't include an appendix of Tilts which is annoying as I have to refer to other books for them. Otherwise good and really useful with a lot of potential story hooks



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 03:15:49

I have played first edition so was intrigued to see what had changed. I adore the splitting of Seemings and Kiths, and I think that allows for more flexible and interesting character creation. I by and large continue to like second ed to first ed nwod for a creation system that is harder to min max. I really love the seasonal court effects when it is that season, I feel like they all add distinctive flavour and drama. Overall fantastic book and I cannot wait to play/run it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Cainite Conspiracies Anthology
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2020 15:33:42

I did not find this book to be an enjoyable experience. For some reason, WW-based products have always made fantastic gaming books rich with plot and characters, yet that hasn't translated into compelling novels. I have read a number of them to get at metaplot details not covered in the books, but at best they've been passably entertaining. This short story collection is the same, with the added problem of numerous spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors. The reading experience was jarring for all the errors I encountered, and it didn't help that most of the stories just weren't that interesting or well-written. Justin Achili's short story was a nice, nasty little thing. The Salubri story made me very excited, until I made progress in it, and by the end I wish it hadn't been written at all. The Baali story was good, though. The others were bland at best. Would not recommend this collection.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Cainite Conspiracies Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2020 15:23:53

This is a cool book with lots of metaplot development, and that's an area where the Vampire series always shined. I can't say I like all of the developments, and sometimes the reading is physically difficult due to the font and format of the book (ie, hand scribbles on varying types of paper notes with busy backgrounds, a lot going on in the page). Still worth a read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Quantum Entanglement (A Jumpstart for Trinity Continuum: Aeon)
by Benjamin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2020 07:25:05

(REVIEW BASED ON THE ADVANCE PDF ONLY)

While this is easily affordable, I would have to say that I was really underwhelmed by this product, based on what, as a quick start, it aims to do.

Just a short caveat: I am not going to review the mechanics of the game, purely this product in the context of it being a quick start introduction to Trinity AEon.

You get only three pages of background (an introduction and two pages of glossary) to introduce the setting and then eleven pages covering a summary of the Storypath system. This rules light overview might be the highlight of the book (and arguably it is selling point for people who might be interested in dipping their toes in further). It is clearly written, and I think it would probably give an experienced GM enough to go on to run a test game using he system.

However.

The rest of the booklet is the introductory scenario to use for this quick start and, frankly, it doesn't feel up to scratch. Avoiding spoilers, I can say that the Player Characters investigate a murder and the disappearance of some latent psions. All well and good so far and the pre-generated characters (another possible highlight, but more on that in a moment) are all given a reason to be interested in getting involved and solving the case. But this is where we hit a problem, given that this is meant to be an introduction to the setting and the system; All the PCs, as presented, are investigating the crimes for separate reasons and there is no consideration given or advice provided as to how they would come to work together, let alone if. It is just presumed that they all turn up at the scene of a crime and agree to work together. There's even a couple of characters at least who on the surface would be antagonistic to each other. There isn't anything wrong with a group of PCs who have friction, it creates great drama at the table, but that tends to work when there is a unifying rationale for them to stick together. Here you have five freelancers who for all intents and purposes could end up having five independent investigations. Yes, a GM could pull all this together and make it work but a) that's work for them b) it implies some setting knowledge as to how that might work, which as a quick start your target audience probably do not have and c) this is a quick start, it should be presenting an easy to run simple set up that teases me to want to know more. This could easily have been rectified by having the players be part of an AEon Trinity team, and that would help introduce one of the key organisations within the setting. Back to the scenario itself. It isn't bad but it reads as confused and tonally not what I'd expect from a introduction to the setting. Let me elaborate. It's an investigation and as such there are people withholding details, others who aren't who they say they are and allegiances the players may not expect, however I don't feel that on first reading any of that is as transparent as it should be. First time storyguides need clarity and this product fails in that regard. This is sometimes a flaw of scenarios when the writer unveils the plot as they go, it would really be helped by a summary paragraph up front explaining the real goings on to the Storyguide and the villains' plot and goals. We are not readers of a novel, or the players who will be taking part, please in future lay out the plot up front to avoid confusion and create clarity. Speaking of the supporting cast, while the main villain of the piece seems to have clear motives the rest of the cast are paper thin at best and come across simply as plot devices. Seeing as what the villain may do to them, based on player action, or inaction, that seems to be validated as an opinion. I find it hard to see players empathising for most of the supporting cast and their possible ultimate fate seems arbitrary and intended purely to shock.

There is one exception, but they are problematic for other reasons. The players may make an unlikely ally during the adventure and they are of a faction deeply rooted in the lore of the setting. It is a nice, and surprising, touch but one that seems ultimately misplaced. This is apparently intended as a quick start, why throw in something that needs a whole host of explanation that is not adequately provided in this product? Perhaps it is intended to lure the players and storyguide in to want to know more but with a setting as rich and complex as AEon I can't help but think that it could side-track the investigation and that same teasing effect could be achieved in a more effective way.

My fundamental issue with the adventure itself is one of tone. This feels like a scenario that was written for the grimmer, grittier and darker AEon Trinity of the '90s. Now that isn't to say that the current edition cannot be grounded in gritty stories, but it pushes optimism to the forefront. If I am going to introduce the setting to players (and prospective Storyguides) I want a product that showcases the core themes of the game. Investigative missions are a great idea for this but when it throws in mind control and body horror that seems much more suited to Onyx Path's World of Darkness and Chronicles of Darkness lines. As I have said earlier, this isn't bad it just feels like it fails to exemplify the main tone of the setting as presented in the main game book and as such becomes a bit of a misrepresentation when it could have been a showcase.

I also alluded earlier to issues with the pre-generated characters. For a start they seem unfinished (they are missing contacts and as many Edges as a regular new PC) but also none of the characters has any gear whatsoever. This might have been to simplify things but in a science-fiction setting technology is a key facet and contributor to the flavour. It is a crying shame that some of the key technological elements from AEon are completely ignored e.g. bioapps, minicomps and their agents. Also with the lack of gear players running through this scenario are going to have to rely heavily on Psi power use. While that puts the spotlight on their gifts it does present a skewed view of the game and its setting. For example, I have never seen a player of legionnaire character who didn't also pack a firearm (or three...), even if it was a non-lethal one. AEon is not a superhero game. It is a game about people who also have gifts and powers.

One positive about the cast of characters is that they are a diverse selection of nationalities, genders (kudos for the inclusion of a non-binary character) and cultures, however as mentioned above there is nothing unifying them. They wouldn't even need to be part of the same faction just some notes about how they know one or two of the other characters would really help the setup of the scenario, the cohesion of the group and add to the background of each of the cast.

In summary, for the price I don't regret buying this product, but it is likely that the only part of it that I will use are the pre-gen characters, after I've finished them off. Simply put, as presented this is just not what I would use to introduce new players to either the ruleset or setting, which is a huge shame.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Quantum Entanglement (A Jumpstart for Trinity Continuum: Aeon)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

M20 How Do You DO That?
by Damian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2020 17:38:04

Thank goodness for "M20 How Do You DO That?". In a straightforwad and concise fashion, the book gives a ton of great ways to resolve sphere use issues with providing examples in a clear-cut, easily accessible way. Definitely recomment this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 How Do You DO That?
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World of Darkness 20th Anniversary Character Sheets
by Damian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2020 17:31:39

Even though I really only needed the M20 Character Sheets, I'm glad that Onyx Path decided to include everything in an all-in-one file. I do have friends who run both Wraith and Werewolf so being able to print up my own character sheets before joining their chronicles really helps.

I did find the M20 Interactive CS to be a little sluggish in response, but that could very well be an issue on my end. Other than that, this was a great way to get all the available character sheets out there. And for free!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness 20th Anniversary Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1240 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles