Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Geist: The Sin-Eaters Second Edition
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2023 04:21:59

Like pretty much every 2nd edition of the CoD core books, this one is an improvement in many aspects. The setting has been expanded and clarified, new Antagonists are added, and the system made more fun. I particularly like the main powers of the Sin-Eaters, the Haunts, which are all really cool and give a strong bizarre ghost vibe. Excellent book overall.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Geist: The Sin-Eaters Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
by Michaël D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2023 10:26:17

Really good quality! I received the book in perfect conditions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
M20 Victorian Age Mage
by Sarah H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2023 15:07:06

Instead of jumping right in I'd like to start off with something I didn't detract stars for; the layout. Between the noise ridden backgrounds and the placement of Tradition/Convention symbols behind the text in their respective chapters it makes for a very hard read for those of us with visual issues. And yes the M20 core book did have the symbols behind their text as well, but they at least had it faded to the point where it wasn't as much of an issue. That said screen readers don't have that many issues with the pdf outside of the pronunciation of certain words. We aren't the main demographic, I get that, but oh boy are the backgrounds a shift from the less chaotic ones they usually use.

My gripe instead comes from this book boiling Mage down into Traditions good Order of Reason bad. This went as far as attributing some of the horrific things the Traditions have done to the Order of Reason instead. Sure, the Celestial Chorus and the Order of Hermes are mentioned doing bad things and the Verbena are mentioned offhand once during one of those segments, but it pales in comparison to what it was. For me one of the main draws of the system was the fact that there were no good guys. The Traditions were abusive and power hungry (and were even more so back when they were at the top). Likewise the Order of Reason/Technocracy had similar failings, only with less infighting. It was very much a pick your poison situation with many mages choosing their respective sides based on which reality best benefitted their particular utilization of magic. Yes there were good aligned characters, but there were not nearly enough of them to try to claim the Traditions are good in general.

That paragraph alone took it down to three stars for me. The additional star was lost due to the overuse of certain terms. Yes they are descriptive and do detail things that were going on at the time, but they really don't need to be repeated as frequently as they are in this pdf.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Victorian Age Mage
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Adventure! Tales of the Aeon Society Rulebook
by Davin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2023 09:18:54

A fun and entertaining world, an great companion/prequel to one of my faovrite RPGs I've ever played, Trinity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure! Tales of the Aeon Society Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hollow Courts (A Changeling: The Lost Novella Collection)
by Adria K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2023 22:42:13

First off, an admission: one of the authors, Alethea, is a Facebook friend of mine. Does that make me a little biased toward her particular story? Maybe. But I'm more trying to go into this as a fan of Changeling than just a fan of hers (although thanks to her FB shoutout for letting me know this book existed.)

Changeling the Lost, particularly 2nd edition, is definitely not your mama's faerie tales and the stories in this anthology reflect that. They don't shy away from the cruelness of the Gentry and the fear and loss their escaped playthings feel, despite having fought their way back and the freedom they've won. The stories are bittersweet. The happy endings come with a cost or a caveat. As someone who likes happy endings, this can be a bit of a downer but, as I said, knowing CtL like I do, I am not surprised, nor am I disappointed and I don't think fans of the game will be, either. I also think the anthology is a good way to get players and storytellers into a good mindset before playing, since it presents the world of the game in more detail and in some ways on a more personal level than the rulebook.

To the stories themselves, I very much enjoyed them. One of the twists in Spring I don't want to say was telegraphed but savvy readers will pick up on it. This is the story, I think, that best encompasses the game, from the presence of the Crone to the machinations of the Courts and the Gentry. There is the importance of Oaths and of the community of the Lost. Summer, I think, is a good exploration of a Lost character. It deals with the guilt and the worry of one who has broken free yet is still looking over their shoulder but also has the catharsis of acceptance and moving on from such a dark time in their lives. It also does well to explain the Huntsmen, which are more prevalent in 2nd edition. Autumn (which is Alethea's story) was probably my favorite, again, not just because it was hers, but it is the happiest of the stories and more full of adventure and framed around the more traditional faerie tale. It invokes not just the presence of magic (and the capricious nature of it) but triumph and overcoming, moreso than in the Summer tale. Winter was probably my least favorite. While it touches on the grief and loss the Court is supposed to embody, it seemed...rushed as a story or like there were parts that the author had to trim out for brevity's sake. At the beginning, it does well to touch on the slippery slope Lost can walk between free will and falling back into their Keeper's whims but then it seems to change tone and never quite gets into the new main character's head or motivations and to me, barely scratches the surface of the purpose of the journey. No real marks against it, but I also noticed a mismatch in a character's name and a few typos in this one.

As I said above, this is a really good anthology for the source material. The stories don't exactly wind together but familiar names and events are present throughout all four. If you're a fan of the game, pick it up. If you're just learning the game, pick it up. If you like twisted faerie tales, pick it up. If schadenfreude is your thing, pick it up. Some familiarity with the source material is good but not necessarily required. The authors do a good job of working the lore into the stories, sometimes outright explaining via character thoughts while other times working it naturally into the narrative where simply capitalizing a word cues you in on the aspect of the game they're talking about. It never feels forced, though, or like an out of place lore-dump that interrupts the flow of the story. New fan or old, do yourself a favor and pick this up. It's definitely worth the read. Promise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hollow Courts (A Changeling: The Lost Novella Collection)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Purviews & Monsters
by Victoria S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2023 01:09:07

This has about 13 pages but only 4 of them have any intel at all and if you remove the very large images it's about a page worth of intel. Filld mostly with adverts. The two purviews and two monsters are interesting but not well written and basically not useable. Had this been 25 cents. 50 even, I wouldn't have felt cheated. But there are complete PDFs out there with 20 pages MORE intel for 1/3 the price. I'm finding most everything written by this person is like this. NOT worth the money. If this was pay what you want, or at least a under the dollar price it MIGHT be worth it, but even then the intel wasn't that spectacular and all I felt was cheated out of money I could have given to someone who put effort into giving out something new and interesting.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Purviews & Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
by Lissa O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2023 18:25:26

I love the Scion world and the system that White Wolf created was wonderful. However, 2nd Edition feels like it was rushed and incomplete. There are a lack of sufficient explanations to make the system at all friendly to new gamers and even as someone having been gaming for 20 years I still found myself frustrated to no end. There is too many parts that only try to move but never actually get moving. I found that there was no reason to use many of their new rules and aspects. With saying that, I do feel that they remained true storywise to the Scion world that White Wolf created. Many of the abilities are great. Mostly my disappointment is with the execution of the mechanics and how complicated the system turned out to be. Not a system I specifically will aim to use again... and I'm disappointed that in the end I spent hundreds of dollars buying all the books.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Haunting of Abbeyham Priory! (A Jumpstart for They Came From Beyond the Grave!)
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2023 06:38:03

Recently, I soloed my way through The Haunting of Abbeyham Priory! (A Jumpstart for They Came From Beyond the Grave!) (50 pages). This RPG is set in the 1970s and the characters are in a movie. I did use the five characters that are in this set of rules as my PCs. To solo this I used Betrayal at House on the Hill with a yes/no/maybe oracle. So, the adventure started out with the PCs arriving at the English priory and being forced to deal with some vocal villagers (there was no violence, only talking/scene one). Sister Faustina gives the PCs a tour (scene two), but things change when they discover a secret trapdoor. The PCs climb down through it and start to move through a crawl space. The Sister hits them with a sleep spell.

Scene three is a dream sequence. Diana gets damaged by a beast and her damage carries over to the real world. In scene four, three PCs wake up before the others. They are on the ground, but get kicked in the face and go unconscious. When all of them wake up, they find themselves tied to chairs, sitting at a dining room table. There are more conversations and the PCs realize how much trouble they are in. Next, they are put to sleep with Chloroform. In the scene five dream sequence, they explore a different version of the priory. Rowland the professor finds a lucky stone. He slips it in his shirt pocket and it does carry over to the real world.

In scene six, the PCs are tied to wooden racks down in the basement. Their feet are elevated higher than their heads. They wake up, struggle against the ropes, and are lacerated. Their blood is collected by the devil worshippers, the lucky stone slips out of the pocket, hits the floor, and then Rowland hears a voice in his head. It is the voice of Sister Fortitude. She instructs him to repeat a spell if he wants him and his friends to survive this. He does so. The PCs bleed out. Their blood is taken upstairs. The dead PCs wake up. They are now zombies. This time they all hear the voice, “You are mine”. The zombies break the ropes, and follow a large black cat out of the priory. The PCs have escaped the priory, but what plans does Sister Fortitude have for them? The next adventure will answer this question.

Give this a try! All the rules you need for this exciting adventure are included in this Jumpstart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunting of Abbeyham Priory! (A Jumpstart for They Came From Beyond the Grave!)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2023 15:50:19

Mage is an amazing game. Most mage products are five stars. I gave four stars for this product because some moron editor inserted a bunch of woke garbage. Earier versions are free of foolishness yet this new version's rules are better, more streamlined.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Deicide Compact
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2022 10:32:49

In the World not everyone is a fan of the Gods. The Deicide Compact presents antagonist who for right or wrong blame the divine and their progeny for the suffering of humanity and have organized to fight back. This supplement gives a view into the motiviation of the type of folks who would dare push back against the all powerful deities of the World and how to use them in your Scion campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Deicide Compact
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! Glad you've enjoyed the Deicide Compact!
pixel_trans.gif
Adversaries of the Righteous (Collected Edition)
by Joseph D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2022 12:24:34

Full of compelling NPC's and groups that could serve as the springboard for countless campagins, the Adversaries of the Righteous series has been one of the many great additions to Exalted as part of the Third Edition. I only hope they continue to add characters as part of a second volume.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adversaries of the Righteous (Collected Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
by Louis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2022 02:42:54

I've owned this book for some time now and I'm recently re-reading it as I prepare for an upcoming campaign. I've played all the versions of Vampire, including the latest version of Masquerade. Vampire the Requiem 2nd edition is my favorite version and I think the best version of a Vampire RPG.

Likes:

  • This game is versatile. Out of the box, you get a classic Vampire RPG setting of a hidden society of vampires scheming to get through the night. Tweak is some, and you can get a pathos filled Anne Rice style vampire game, or a Game of Thrones style game of deadly court intrigue, or a slow burning, street level drama of surviving the night or even a Blade-esque dark action and adventure. Play in the default setting or play with the tools in the box to easily make the game what you want it to be.

  • Touchstones. Vampire were once alive people living out their lives. The touchstone represents that connection to that previous humanity. Could be a loved one, a favorite place, something that represents your life's work or anything meanfully connected to your previous life. The touchstone rule provides the mechanism to tell dramatic stories. It's no wonder Vampire the Masquerade 5th edition adopted the Touchstone rule for that version.

  • The five Covenants and five Clans. Covenants are the social/political/religious faction your character can be part of. Clans are the familial liniage you are part of. The mixing and matching of Covenants and Clans for the game setting or character creation make for much depth in what the game can be.

  • Plug and play settings. In the book, there is a handful of plug and play settings that you can set you game in. These settings reflect the many different ways Vampire the Requiem can be played.

I've enjoyed reengaging with Vampire the Requiem. After some time away from this book, coming back to it reminds me once again why this version of Vampire is my favorite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Beast: The Primordial
by Timothy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2022 09:22:37

There is a lot of whining about how this game is for abusers and bullies but I don't see the same outrage for the other game lines. You're playing monsters. Have fun with it and play into the humanity side as well. Never forget this is a gamgame and not real life



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beast: The Primordial
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Kith and Kin
by Christopher G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2022 23:52:27

New Contracts, More Kiths, More Oaths, what else could you ask for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kith and Kin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2022 19:52:03

A setting of subtle brilliance.

Pugmire would make the perfect first setting for a young roleplaying group. That said, it's got a lot of hidden depth and would make for a great campaign setting for adults who commit to the premise.

Initially it's a 5e lite romp with players trying to be "Good Dogs" fighting low stakes monsters - ideal for a smart 8-10yo. Exciting without being nightmare fuel.

As the players mature, you can introduce more morally ambiguous characters (cats) the stakes can ramp up to meet the age group - any 5e compatible Monster Manual should be adaptable.

Finally, the players will be asking the big questions like "What happened to humans? Why is the sea acid?" which would lead to a fascinating capstone quest to actually discover the answers. The book doesn't give them but I'm sure everyone can come up with a satisfying ending to a great and memorable campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1613 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles