Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Scion Second Edition Errata and FAQ
by Dawid C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2021 19:50:31

Does not address any of major game system issues.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Errata and FAQ
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Adventures of Teen Tomorrow (A Jumpstart for Trinity Continuum: Aberrant)
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2021 15:34:25

For the last few days, I have soloed my way through The Adventures of Teen Tomorrow (55 pages available at DriveThruRPG). It is a jumpstart for the superhero RPG Aberrant. I used the Mythic Game Master Emulator as the solo engine. The Teen Tomorrow team all had watch/phone/radios. They also had under-the-skin GPS units embedded under their skin (just like Team Tomorrow).

The adventure starts with the teen team taking on a gang. The complication is that their adult team leader picks up a bus of civilains and throws it at the gang. After that, he uses cars with the drivers included. Murdock quickly calls Electrum (their teacher) and says, “We are at the intersection of 7th Avenue and 8th Street. Pax just threw a bus full of passengers at a gang. Send help. I am on the move. Track me.” She tells her team members, “Help the passengers. I will deal with the gang. Don’t follow me.” So, she gets into a gun fight with the gang. She takes down three of them, but she does take some damage. She then casts an illusion which covers her with blood. The gang leaves the area. She is able to capture the three wounded gang members. Meanwhile, her team members are having trouble with the rescues and first aid. Luckily, Wrestler (Team Tomorrow) arrives and then the paramedics. This is just the first scene (seven scenes total). Later, a total of three characters get captured and have to be rescued. The teen team has trouble figuring out the mystery, they do implement some good ideas, but three members of Team Tomorrow do most of the smashing/overcoming.

This was lots of fun! Give it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventures of Teen Tomorrow (A Jumpstart for Trinity Continuum: Aberrant)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

They Came From Beneath the Sea!
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2021 16:36:42

As a fan of sci-fi and B-movies, I found this a great book with a fun and surprised detailed setting leaning into its 50's sci-fi movie inspirations, while carefully balancing the Red Menace, McCarthyism and other elements of the time period. There is an impressively wide host of over thirty threats, from the all-consuming Aquatepillars, to the mankind-impersonating Crab-People, to the monstrous Centopus the hundred-legged cephalopod. Spread among the threats are a host of plot threads and adventure seeds that immediately made me think of half a dozen adventures I'd be excited to run with this game. The PCs are similarly drawn from the stock characters of the source material, with players inhabiting the Everyman, the Scientist, the G-Man or others. A major conceit of the game is that while the characters are inhabiting the situations as described, the players have a meta level that the game is also a movie, allowing some fun elements like the characters' ability to build up a meta-currency that allows...See more



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beneath the Sea!
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity Continuum: Les Fantômes
by Michael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2021 15:24:08

A great addition to the Trinity Continuum line, this 8-page PDF booklet packs in a lot of ideas and options for heists, capers, and other team-based criminal activities in the Lupin vein.

The book has three main sections: a rundown on the background and current operation of the Les Fantômes organization from the TC setting, new Edges for roguish individuals, and tips on how to play and run heists and capers in the system. I found the last part particularly useful, as it gives examples on ways to avoid some common pitfalls for adventures centered around PCs trying to pull of a complex plan. The offered Stunt ideas are real fun, with options like "All Access" and "Just Another Face" to help you pull off the sorts of things you see in Oceans Eleven and Leverage.

Definitely going to get some use at my table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Les Fantômes
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity Continuum: New Lives
by Troy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2021 13:22:10

This is a nice, short file with solid paths and some very useful skill tricks, like Rope-a-dope. Well worth the two dollars. It's a great example of path construction and skill trick creation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: New Lives
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity Continuum: Aberrant
by P A C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2021 12:28:16

I've never written a review for DriveThru before, despite having spent what must be £1000s over the years. I felt I had to write something for the new edition of Aberrant .... Aberrant was one of my favourite games of all time when it first came out, for its era it was amazingly presented, had a fully realised world but went beyond a normal four-colour setting ... it asked you the question, if you gained abilities that made you more than human, what would you do? Superheroes existed but they were the arm of a multi-national organisation and were as much (if not more) about garnering good publicity and enhancing the public's opinion of that organisation as they were about doing good. There were supercriminals but they worked for crime syndicates and were motivated by money and didn't sit in secret hideout laughing maniacally while they plotted to take over the world ... well, there's Divis Mal I suppose, but that's another story ...

The presence of Homo Sapiens Novus, these incredible creatures, transformed the world, as you would believe they would. The structure behind the setting owed more to Watchmen than Avengers and therefore made more sense. It may be that I'm getting old ... I was incredibly fortunate that the first graphic novels I read way back when were Watchmen, V for Vendetta, Batman Year 1 and Return of the Dark Night ... all of which arose out of the desire to look, as Hollis Mason said, under the hood ... to see why people would don a strange costume or do outlandish things and to look at how beings that could change the world would change ... the World.

Aberrant's first edition asked all those questions and also asked how mankind, shivering in the shadow of creatures powerful beyond comprehension, who looked human but ultimately couldn't be human, would react. How would Homo Sapiens deal with the first threat to their primacy in millions of years ... the answer in the first edition was plausible, chilling and dark and it defined the core drama of the game and gave a solid mystery for the players to unravel, a shocking hidden truth for them to unearth. On a personal level the heroes had to fear their own transformation and being forced away from humanity as the manipulation of quantum itself transformed their body and mind into something other than human ...

So, the 2nd edition. I've only just got it and I haven't read it cover to cover so this review may be utter twaddle, skim reading may have played me false but ... on first impression ... the setting in its broad strokes is still well developed, the system is (arguably) an improvement on the previous edition ... it's more streamlined and it's still well-presented (although a bit too four-colour for me) but what it lacks is what made the previous edition so great, it lacks the darkness that sat at its core, it lacks the moral ambiguity that was engrained in the first edition, where you were faced with opponents (not exactly villians) who's motivations were understandable, even if they led to unacceptable action. The current iteration isn't terrible by any means, it just seems to be a much more standard four-colour superhero setting, there are still morally ambiguous elements and, off-stage but way off-stage, their is the coming apocalypse that helps define the setting but it has abandoned the dark moral conflict that the previous edition had in favour of high action and adventure.

Come back Chiraben, all is forgiven!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Aberrant
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Heroes for the World (Ready Made Characters for Scion Second Edition)
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2021 20:54:07

Six ready made characters that can be used for play at the Origin or Hero level to introduce new players to the game or used as SGCs for an established game? Check.

Eleven story hooks to work into your campaign or run as a one shot? Check.

Quick read that cost less than $5? Check

People who should buy this - people who like Scion 2nd Edition.

People who should not buy this - people who don't like Scion 2nd Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes for the World (Ready Made Characters for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
by Terry R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 23:47:17

TLDR:

Strengths Some wonderfully written individual titans and some amazing "so this is the MO for this group" section. The Theoi writing was just flat out well written. Amazing antagonist lists where the authors seem to have fun putting ancient beasts and legends into a modern world. That's pretty cool. Everyone gets an enemy. For any given agenda, the storyteller has like five options. You want someone to destroy everything? May I interest you in like 12 options each doing it in an interesting way or not? Really solid advice on balancing encounters. Normally books either overmath or get real vague on this shit, not this book. New Knacks/Boons/Relics/Guides awesome The stuff referencing dragon is super optional. I almost wanted more interconnects. If you're "but dragon isn't necessary!" person, it's like maybe 200 words in the entire book and using the power of "just make something up" you should be fine.

Weaknesses I really feel like the book didn't have a unitary vision of what the Titans were. Even a "there are four types of Titans; pantheon rejects, enemies of the gods, those called to primordial, and those who eshew worship" or something could have really helped the book stay together. Like, Aten really wants mortal worship and gets it, but the defining feature are the Callings. Some of those really felt like a god could have one. There was little interconnectedness. It felt like the sections were written in silos and only later lightly connected. A real rogue's gallery is marked by teamwork. I kind of wanted some lair sections. Like you got some cool-ass monsters but like, where do they sleep? The STing antagonists felt real weak.

Minor quibbles: I read the dead tree copy and boy some page numbers would have been great. Finding things in Hero or the rest of the book took a bit of work to do. Alternatively, add way more links in the PDF. There are a few typographic errors and such. Every book has them but if a book has none then the clouds part and the text is pulled heaven-ward. Man, Scion has a lot of capitalized game terms. A few reminders up front would have really gone a long way.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Nemetondevos: Revised
by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2021 05:26:01

The main thing that strikes me about this book - which is absolutley sublime, and would easily be worth whatever amount of money the author asked for it - is how well it leans into the unknowable aspects of the Nemetondevos. Mysteries of the World cites that the Nemetondevos were reborn recently, but doesn't really go into what that means. This book perfectly explores the idea of a pantheon of gods that has been dead so long that they've forgotten what they used to be gods of, and that leaves the reader with a subtle sense of horror, the threat of an enemy you don't even know about. Of particular interest is how the author uses blank spots in our knowledge of the gods and makes them into great story hooks, expertly blending historical context with fantastical storytelling. Easily worth your time reading, and I await further publications from the author with interest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nemetondevos: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The New Gods
by James M. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2021 11:18:50

I probably wouldn't use this in a traditional game of Scion BUT it is fantastic for one focused souly on this pantheon. The writing is evocative, there are more than enough storyseeds to go around, and, honestly, who could pass up to be a Scion of the Atom?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The New Gods
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!
M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 13:04:02
More than trenchcoats and katanas - a Mephisto review

The Art of Mage - 20 years and more

For the anniversary edition of Mage M20, an accompanying artbook has been published, which tries to summarize twenty years of illustration history. Satyros Phil Brucato first looks back self-critically at the beginnings of Mage and the illustration style of "Trenchcoats and Katanas." Subsequently, the reader learns a bit about the workflow in the early years, when illustrations were still sent by mail, revealing glimpses into the early years of White Wolf.

However, the central part is titled Artistic Legacies, introducing many illustrators with a background, anecdotes, and stories - and especially their artistic work for Mage. The artbook impressively shows the range the illustrators have covered and how Mage's graphic representation has changed over the years. The last chapter also presents the illustrations of Mage M20 - and proves that Mage is not just a role-playing game of the 90s. In addition, chapters are dedicated to the signature characters as well as the creation of the Mage Tarot.

I enjoyed the mixture of texts and illustrations immensely because this excursion shows impressively how the complex topics of the most multifaceted game of the World of Darkness is also reflected in an incredible spectrum of artwork. Of the World of Darkness artbooks, this is my clear favorite so far.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Beast Within Revised
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 13:01:48
Back to the beast within - a Mephisto review

The Beast Within - Revised Edition

The original anthology The Beast Within was published back in the early days of Vampire and originally presented 13 stories - fittingly introduced with the 13 clan illustrations. The new edition contains ten stories, two of which were not included in the original book. The setting is Vampire's version of San Francisco. The individual short stories cover very different topics: e.g., a desperate poet stumbling into the world of the kindred, a clanless vampire who is forced to search for his sire, an ancient South American vampire who awakens in a completely alien world.

The individual stories are varied and introduce interesting facets of the game world. However, San Francisco's kindred society plays only a limited role - at least in some stories. Nevertheless, this anthology is still good for learning about various aspects of the kindred of the World of Darkness - e.g., ancient vampires, the social order of clans, intrigues, and so on. From my perspective, the new edition is also an entertaining book in the world of Vampire.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Beast Within Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Heroic Land-Dwellers!
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 12:59:46

Ordinary and not-so-ordinary heroes - a Mephisto review

Heroic Land-Dwellers!

For a quick start in They came from beneath the sea! the first sourcebook offers 16 characters, fleshed out with background and game statistics, who can face the horrors of beneath the sea as everyday heroes (or not-so-everyday heroes). There are several variants for each of the game's different archetypes: fences, KGB agents, famous adventurers, nuclear scientists, and other characters who have come into contact with the dangerous monsters and mysterious conspiracies of the game. In addition, there are entertaining short stories at the beginning and end of each book.

For gaming groups who want to hit the ground running (and/or have a high character attrition rate), the book offers a good range of coherently fleshed-out and well-illustrated pulp characters (who can also serve as non-player characters), so there should be something for everyone.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Land-Dwellers!
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Zeus! We Just Wanna Talk!
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2021 17:08:41

I read this Tasty Bit and I've never wanted to run Scion as much as I do right now. Thankfully for me at least, it doesn't require knowing a whole lot of mythology of the setting or the real world. It's versitle enough to run a game for new players to introduce them to Scion while having enough of a story to appeal to current players of Scion Origin, Heroes, or Demigod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zeus! We Just Wanna Talk!
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2021 12:47:50

This is the most well-rounded, skinnable version of Storypath and I've started using it for all manner of games outside of the Trinity Universe. With only a few exceptions the rules are clear, simple, and versatile. Though this book is the basis for the various Trinity lines, it really works well on its own for all sorts of cinematic adventures. I also appreciate the care to show diversity throughout the artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1360 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles