Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Martin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 19:40:32

This game has opened up my world of reading/thinking and made me a better gamemaster.

I came to the first edition of the game through the creators' connection to Shadowrun. Eclipse Phase takes the technological aspects of that game and advances them to their logical conclusion.

Eclipse Phase has prompted me to ask questions like: What does it mean to be human? Where have we come from? Where are we going?

As a result of this, I’ve roamed through books such as Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel to Yuval Noah Harari's Sapiens and Home Deus and now I'm reading Toby Ord's The Precipice. The latter author is professionally connected to Anders Sanberg, who has also written material for Eclipse Phase.

Of course, none of the above is going to get your players excited about this game. My group are fairly reluctant to learn a new ruleset, but the second edition of Eclipse Phase was easy to explain to players. It also helped that the first season of Altered Carbon was released around the same time as the Second Edition playtest material.

So, I have an ongoing campaign that I love running where the main challenge is keeping anti-matter bombs and large reactors just out of reach so I get a chance to explore the beautiful concepts from this game before they get blown up.

How could you not love running a game where a session typically begins with: three robots that combine to form a giant panda, a neo-neanderthal rights activist, an escaped isolation test subject, a psychic psycho-surgeon, an uplifted octopus and an AI enter a habitat . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Gabriel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 17:33:09

I'm really happy with the 2nd edition. The game is a lot easier to run without sacrificing any depth or flavor. I definitely recommend, and I can't wait for more Eclipse Phase modules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Spencer N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2020 20:24:37

I'm happy to report that the second edition of Eclipse Phase has more or less fixed all of the mechanical problems with the system.

Character creation, once a purely point buy system that more than one of my players described as tedious, is now runs on a streamlined, package buy system, though point buy is available for any purists or min-maxxers that may be interested. For those who are familiar with the first edition, the new system appears to be based on the one presented in Transhuman.

Resleeving - moving your mind to a new body - has also been improved, largely by paring down the number of things your morph affects. While this means that the individual morphs can feel less distinct, it means that it's much more feasible to switch morphs mid-session without the use of a spreadsheet, making it a welcome change, at least in my group.

The four pools are also a great addition, serving both as mechanical advantages that represent a character's enhanced abilities, and as ways to reinforce the fiction of a character.

While a lot has been made of the streamlining done in second edition, Eclipse Phase remains a rules-heavy game, and as such will not be ideal for every group. My group came from d&d, and has not had a lot of trouble picking up the game, though - as with a lot of sci-fi games - the lingo can be a bit of a hurdle.

As was the case with the first edition, the setting is a real treat here - detailed and interesting, with lots of hooks for different sorts of campaigns. A number of my players - even those not traditionally drawn in by setting 'fluff', tore through the material in the core book before moving on to relevant 1st edition books to find out more.

Overall, a great book, and a great improvement over the previous edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by JP S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2020 22:36:25

The long awaited successor to the first edition, and worth the wait. Streamlined rules for morphs and better guidance for new GMs are but two of the myriad extensive improvements that go into this excellent RPG. Pick it up, give it a go, and start telling your stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2020 07:05:49

Eclipse Phase has been my favorite RPG since it first appeared. It presents players with a near future in which the human species is only barely outrunning its mistakes. The worst of humanity's faults led us to The Fall, an apocalypse exacerbated by renegade AIs, the TITANs. Billions of people, the vast majority, died. The remaining civilization lives in the rest of the solar system, in space stations or habitats built on asteroids or planets. The Fall ended ten years ago, but terrible risks remain. Humanity remains on the verge of extinction.

Second Edition streamlines the game in a number of ways. Character Creation, which was complicated in the first edition, is much faster now. There are some small changes to the setting, but for the most part, the various setting books produced after the release of first edition are excellent sources of material. Players can find themselves interacting with uplifted whales near the sun or exploring abandoned outposts deep in the Oort cloud at the egde of the solar system. Or venturing through the mysterious Pandora gates to new worlds throughout the galaxy. They'll face opponents who are no longer human, some of them deliberately. They'll face machines left by the TITANs. A terrifying virus that can mutate them into monsters. Vicious lifeforms on alien planets. Or humans with the worst instincts and the most advanced technologies at their disposal.

The default setting assumes player characters have been recruited by a secret organization called Firewall, which exists to protect humanity from the threats that lead to extinction. There are other options. Characters can be gatecrashers, exploring the new worlds available beyond the Pandora gates. Or, they could be criminals, exploiting other survivors. Enterprising GMs will come up with many other options just reading the setting material.

Posthuman Studios publishes under a creative commons license (foilow this link for details: https://eclipsephase.com/cclicense). That means you can find much of their work for free. They want you to enjoy their work. So do that if you want. And then come back here and support what they've done by paying for a copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by Lachlan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2019 21:01:40

An excellent collection of game seeds to inspire even the most seasoned Eclispe Phase GMs! Well categorised and laid out, with a tag system that makes searching for specific ideas and concepts easy, the Router Case Files is one of the best RPG purchases I made in 2019. I've already worked one into an upcoming campaign of mine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by Kaylee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2019 08:35:59

A fun collection of scenarios seeds for the Eclipse Phase RPG (edition independent). Each seed contains enough information to whet your appetite, but leaves matters vague enough for you to fill in the blanks yourselves. I hope this collection foreshadows future releases & perhaps one day a fully fleshed out campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2019 23:27:14

I love this product. I sometimes have trouble coming up with an interesting premise to get my creativity flowing, so it is really nice to have a collection of plot hooks all conveniently located in once place. There are a wide variety of hooks that can fit into just about any campaign. Oh, and did I mention they are all tagged by topic and there's a nice handy index in the back?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2019 10:40:29

This is a fantastic resource for quick scenario (or campaign) ideas. There are 70 different seeds so there is something for everyone and every game style here. Well worth it for a lazy GM that doesn't have trouble filling in details tailored for their particular player characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Logan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 07:18:24

I've loved the first edition of Eclipse Phase for years now, and have been running a solo campaign for my wife during that time. Now that the second edition has dropped, I can say that the changes to the engine itself are fantastic, and take so much load off for things such as resleeving. Before, it was a whole process that stopped the gameplay dead while players fiddled with their character sheet, changing a dozen different numbers before we could go on with their new morphs, whereas now it's just a plug-and-play. The refined success/failure system is also much improved, as are the much better rep score and networking. I can wholeheartedly recommend this to any fan of 1e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Trevor W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2019 22:52:14

As a fan of the first edition, I had some misgivings about the pool based addition when I had first looked through some of the previews. The changes seemed too divergent and different from the original, and would make it more complicated with no benefit. I'm glad to have been wrong.

That's not to say its any less crunchy than the original. Its just as crunchy, but its modular and easy to understand crunch. So, rather, its crunchy in all the right places. Some of it is streamlined and feels like a far more eligant system than the first edition.

As an example; the changes to Morphs and Egos. Morphs have unique qualities and built in augmentations called wares, but offer no direct changes to Aptitudes. The pools they come with, however, do offer you flexible ways to give handy, lasting bonuses and other fun benefits you decide on. It works out great and gives players both benefit and options, without having certain player types munchin in just the right bonuses. Throughout all this, your Ego Aptitudes and even skills (before bonuses) remain the same. Plus, Aptitudes are no longer limited by morph. Similar to the previous edition in many ways, but easier to work with. Its an approach that really fits the setting, in my opinion.

I find myself liking everything about this new edition. I highly recommend it!

I do have one semi-criticism/suggestion for the publishers: There's a distinct lack of a "slice of life" mission/adventure in any of the current or previous sources. I feel that something like this, an in-game introduction to the setting, would be a very strong addition. The setting itself is very difficult to grok in some ways, in particular an emotional one. I feel Eclipse Phase needs its own Food Fight, though perhaps made into a full mission to introduce the major concepts more gradually, with various actors that represent those concepts. Just some food for thought.

And thank you to Posthuman Studios for making this game and its setting. Keep it going strong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Argonauts
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2019 18:15:49

Great little source book for the nerdy types. Being compatible with second edition is definitely a plus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Argonauts
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2019 22:39:12

Eclipse Phase 2nd edition (EP2) is an amazing and fun game. This edition streamlines play, with loads of input from the gaming community, without sacrificing anything. If you’re familiar with shows like Altered Carbon or The Expanse you’ll be familiar with a lot of the sci-fi present in this game. If you like unraveling conspiracies, pitting yourself against monolithic institutions, survival horror, or the idea of planetary exploration this near hard sci-fi game is a must play.

The game comes baked with premade characters for 4 of your friends. You can choose to play gate crashers exploring ruins on distant and unknown worlds, criminals plying their trade in red, grey, and black markets to undermine hyper capitalists and fascist solar system wide governments, or play secret agents and saviors of humanity fighting against extinction from without and within. Characters range from normal humans to gene tailored super humans, cyborgs, AIs, uplifted Parrots, Monkeys, Apes, Octopus and many things between.

The game smoothly mixes simulationist and narrativist elements into a rule heavy (crunchy) game. This edition isn’t just a rehash of the old system, its a definite improvement. Not only remediating a few glaring issues from first edition, such as morphs, but introducing a pool system that blends crunch with imagination.

The book itself is a work of art. The illustrations, the two page spread, the interactive pdf elements comes together in a great package.

If you want to break from the routine of other games your group is playing and reach for the future and the stars, this is the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2019 07:39:45

One thing to say about this new edition : It's good to see an editor who listen to his games community !! This edition is a huge clarification and simplification of the 1st edition. Where precise data were lacking, the 2nd edition give you the answer (swarm speed ? what about children ? Know skills importance for complementary bonus ? etc ...)

But ... most important ... this 2nd edition is an evolution and not a betrayal of the 1st edition spirit. Hard Science and crunchy rules are still here, just more accessible and with a better presentation. very good job !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2019 04:47:53

I love short fiction anthologies for RPGs, because one single book instantaneously gives you a dozen or so ideas for running your game. After the Fall definitely delivers, offering great bite-sized stories while offering a solid view into the world of Eclipse Phase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 159 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles