Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stargate SG1-31: Female of the Species
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2019 03:07:01

This novel has a prison break, slumber party, and sapphic love! It also does a good job portraying Vala Mal Doran's struggle to fit in with the team, and how everyone is adjusting to her. Lots of character development.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG1-31: Female of the Species
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Stargate SG1-28: Kali's Wrath
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2019 17:38:58

Want to know more about Kali (the Goa'uld)? How about a mission where Sam and Bra'tac team up? More of the mysterious Reetou? Well, the last are a bit under-utilized (I.... know exactly as much about them as I did before reading this), but the first two definitely deliver. Bonus point for more background on the early days of the Goa'uld's dominion on Earth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG1-28: Kali's Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Stargate SG1-20: Heart's Desire
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2019 05:02:38

This novel is set in season 3, after SG-1's escape from Netu. Intending to give his team a softball mission after going through literal hell, Jack instead sees them kidnapped by airship pirates. Sounds awesome, right? Well, it is. With Jack and Sam on one pirate ship, and Daniel and Teal'c on the other, both pairs tackle the problem in their own way - with varying results. This novel has all the Stargate staples, including an ancient map quest, a Goa'uld 'goddess', and 'I can fix that!' from Carter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stargate SG1-20: Heart's Desire
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 4: Setite
by Lucas v. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2018 02:33:39

Wow, what a book. In the beginning I was really wondering what direction the book would go in. My expectation was a epic manipulation scheme and dark god rituals. To my pleasing surprise it was quite a different story. Sure it did have manipulations and rituals, but it focussed more on the 'Good Guy' Setite, a family man and a good friend. It showed more of the clan that I never knew existed. The details are also a strong point: Egyptian terms in addition to the English and very vivid discriptions of the surroundings made it come to live. This was once again a very engaging novel that sucked me in deeper and deeper the further I got. The ending especially was very well in terms of climaxing the tention. I cannot say more without giving spoilers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 4: Setite
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Xavier R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 14:28:36

A smoothly written book that explains clearly most of the subterfuge this world of darkness is all about. If you are looking for a 280-pages piece that submerges you within the conflicts and dances between Kindred this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 2: Assamite
by Juanita N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2015 12:55:35

Intriguging page turner.

I love how the author grabbed you from the first chapter and held you all the way to the end. The author took the three sects of the Assamite clan and blended them into a cohesive whole against the backdrop of the fall of Constantinople. He peppered it with some rarities and made a very interesting and intriguing characters. I highly recommend this for anyone interested in such a secretive clan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 2: Assamite
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Flesh Welder Audiobook
by Crystal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2014 21:37:27

The FleshWelder is a short story based in an apocalyptic world, where fear and violence are used equally to control what is left of the living population. We meet a doctor who has an ability to repair limbs and body parts, taking pieces of the dead to heal the living. He buys these parts off scavengers, trading basic supplies such as canned meat or bullets for them. The other character is The General Pain, a violent man who will rape, kill and plunder whatever he wants. The two characters meet when the General has most of his body burned and damaged from a bomb. After the FleshWelder repairs his broken body, the General walks out without payment. The General pushes himself too far, and the FleshWelder and his nurse take their revenge on the cruel man and his army. 

The story itself reads very much like a western. The descriptions and language used are strong and gritty, matching the world in which they live. How this doctor becomes the FleshWelder is somewhat of a mystery, leaving the reader curious as to how he is able to do this. It is very easy to envision the Wild West of Texas while the story is taking place. The timeframe itself is not explained well, nor is the history if what happened to get to this point. My one criticism is I was left wanting more history surrounding the world and the characters. Even with it being a shorter story, I personally craved more information about the world this story takes place. 

Overall, it is a full story with very little downtime between action. If you are into westerns or fiction, I would recommend this book. You will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Flesh Welder Audiobook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 10: Gangrel
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2013 18:40:01

Jürgens armies under the sign of the Black Cross march out to conquer the east. Against them stand the vile Tzimisce ruled by the Voivode of all Voivodes: Count Vladimir Rustovitch.

But not only those stand in the way of Jürgens men, between their home and the Voivodat lies Livonia, a fierce, primal territory ruled by Quarakh the Untamed and his horde of Gangrel. By his side there is Deverra, High-Priest of Telyavel and Tremere renegade. Jürgen sends out Alexander of Paris to propose a pact or slay Quarakh. But Alexander has different plans. With Quarakhs help he is about to subdue first the Tzimisce and Jürgen, then march against Paris to claim what is rightfully his. When Quarakh declares he is not interested Alexander decides to kill the barbarian, but has no knowledge of Deverra and her liege Telyavel what will give Quarakh a great advantage.

A really interesting novel, especially the difference between the fierce and wild Gangrel and the “civilized” Ventrue conquerors. The description of Quarakh’s customs and leadership is incredible as are the conflicts between the warring parties.

A glimmer in a dark age this novel brings on the fourth storyline, the conquering of Livonia and is a great base for the following novels.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 10: Gangrel
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2013 12:29:50

Excellent start to a chronicle, completely addicted already



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 2: Assamite
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2013 12:51:48

Not quite a sharp or specific (lots more seeming main characters) as the first novel. However, still good and does well at describing the aftermath of the fall of Constantinople. Lots of the knight orders are mentioned, some fuller than others. It also covers three types of Assamites with main characters and some non-Alamut....



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 2: Assamite
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2013 13:02:40

Better than the modern day confusing attempt. A good description of what befell the local kindred at the fall of New Rome. Insightful and a bit of a rollercoaster ride of one's attempt to maintain the dream....despite the treachery of the time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Illara S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 17:10:54

The book is hardly a novel and more a novella, in part because it isn't meant to be read alone but as a whole in a series of thirteen. So you can get away with the shortness of it. Because of the nature of the series it focuses on the viewpoint (for the most part) of two of the Toreador clan and because of this there is a slight bogged down over indulgence in the appreciation of art and the symbolism around it, but what did you expect from a clan of vampires who pride themselves on appreciation of such things. Reading this book cannot be taken alone however and the larger events covered you only get a sliver of understanding, which hopefully is expanded in the other books but given you aren't as focused on order of events & more trying to be character driven, and it's not that strong as there isn't much time to know the characters. Hopefully as the other perspectives come into focus (by reading their books) it will make a larger sense of the machinations involved, and the characters involved get more fleshed out being seen by others. The compilation books I understand give more of a backstory and being more chronological you can see the characters as pieces from a grander perspective being moved around. But I worried I would be lost in trying to keep track of everyone involved so I felt this might be a better way to read the books. Later Ill do the compilations to focus more on order of events as opposed to characters.

Side Note: There is a constant reference to the events in the Trilogy of the Blood Curse but it is not really that important to this story beyond knowing it happened.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 12: Tremere
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 12:58:53

Okay, so it's not THE BEST. In fact, sometimes it's really hard to read or understand if you don't know exactly what you're talking about. Also it seems like the author took a lot of liberties that I can't seem to find anywhere in the books such as the labeling of Secondus or Tertius. I feel like it's a decent representation of the Tremere clan through a novel, just that it's NOT a stand alone novel and not written as one. If you're not reading the rest of the series, the author seriously needed to give more information. It's quite possible to do stand alone novels as part of enriching a series which adding on, but this novel really didn't do that. So it's not great, but it's not horrible either.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 12: Tremere
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by wesley c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2010 18:50:18

the book itself is very well writen and engaging my problem with it is the fact that it is not easy to read on a ereader like the nook or sony reader both of which I tried to put it on and ended up having to read it on my Ipad while not the worst it is not my preferred way to read and is why it only got a 4 rating if white wolf puts a epub format book out that would earn it a 5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

On the Third Day Part One
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/11/2010 08:11:19

A Flames Rising Review:

I became an instant fan of David Niall Wilson’s work when I had read This is My Blood a few months ago. Since reading and reviewing this new personal favorite book of mine, I’ve kept in touch with David here and there. During one of our chats he’d mentioned one of his latest books titled One the Third Day and its subject being deep-rooted in religious themed horror, much like This is My Blood. I was immediately intrigued and I set off to read it as soon as possible.

My original intention was to read it during the week of Easter as the novel revolves around Easter Sunday. Sadly however, this was not to be as my laptop went ill for a few weeks, delaying my reading it (or any of the other books in my E-library waiting to be read and reviewed.) I was finally able to read it this last week, and I’m happy to say that whether you read it during the Easter season or not, the story and the messages contained within it are just as powerful!

Please click on the link below to read the entire review: http://www.flamesrising.com/on-the-third-day-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Third Day Part One
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles