Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Xavier R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 14:28:36

A smoothly written book that explains clearly most of the subterfuge this world of darkness is all about. If you are looking for a 280-pages piece that submerges you within the conflicts and dances between Kindred this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Flesh Welder Audiobook
by Crystal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2014 21:37:27

The FleshWelder is a short story based in an apocalyptic world, where fear and violence are used equally to control what is left of the living population. We meet a doctor who has an ability to repair limbs and body parts, taking pieces of the dead to heal the living. He buys these parts off scavengers, trading basic supplies such as canned meat or bullets for them. The other character is The General Pain, a violent man who will rape, kill and plunder whatever he wants. The two characters meet when the General has most of his body burned and damaged from a bomb. After the FleshWelder repairs his broken body, the General walks out without payment. The General pushes himself too far, and the FleshWelder and his nurse take their revenge on the cruel man and his army. 

The story itself reads very much like a western. The descriptions and language used are strong and gritty, matching the world in which they live. How this doctor becomes the FleshWelder is somewhat of a mystery, leaving the reader curious as to how he is able to do this. It is very easy to envision the Wild West of Texas while the story is taking place. The timeframe itself is not explained well, nor is the history if what happened to get to this point. My one criticism is I was left wanting more history surrounding the world and the characters. Even with it being a shorter story, I personally craved more information about the world this story takes place. 

Overall, it is a full story with very little downtime between action. If you are into westerns or fiction, I would recommend this book. You will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Flesh Welder Audiobook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 10: Gangrel
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2013 18:40:01

Jürgens armies under the sign of the Black Cross march out to conquer the east. Against them stand the vile Tzimisce ruled by the Voivode of all Voivodes: Count Vladimir Rustovitch.

But not only those stand in the way of Jürgens men, between their home and the Voivodat lies Livonia, a fierce, primal territory ruled by Quarakh the Untamed and his horde of Gangrel. By his side there is Deverra, High-Priest of Telyavel and Tremere renegade. Jürgen sends out Alexander of Paris to propose a pact or slay Quarakh. But Alexander has different plans. With Quarakhs help he is about to subdue first the Tzimisce and Jürgen, then march against Paris to claim what is rightfully his. When Quarakh declares he is not interested Alexander decides to kill the barbarian, but has no knowledge of Deverra and her liege Telyavel what will give Quarakh a great advantage.

A really interesting novel, especially the difference between the fierce and wild Gangrel and the “civilized” Ventrue conquerors. The description of Quarakh’s customs and leadership is incredible as are the conflicts between the warring parties.

A glimmer in a dark age this novel brings on the fourth storyline, the conquering of Livonia and is a great base for the following novels.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 10: Gangrel
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2013 12:29:50

Excellent start to a chronicle, completely addicted already



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by Jamie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2013 13:02:40

Better than the modern day confusing attempt. A good description of what befell the local kindred at the fall of New Rome. Insightful and a bit of a rollercoaster ride of one's attempt to maintain the dream....despite the treachery of the time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Illara S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2012 17:10:54

The book is hardly a novel and more a novella, in part because it isn't meant to be read alone but as a whole in a series of thirteen. So you can get away with the shortness of it. Because of the nature of the series it focuses on the viewpoint (for the most part) of two of the Toreador clan and because of this there is a slight bogged down over indulgence in the appreciation of art and the symbolism around it, but what did you expect from a clan of vampires who pride themselves on appreciation of such things. Reading this book cannot be taken alone however and the larger events covered you only get a sliver of understanding, which hopefully is expanded in the other books but given you aren't as focused on order of events & more trying to be character driven, and it's not that strong as there isn't much time to know the characters. Hopefully as the other perspectives come into focus (by reading their books) it will make a larger sense of the machinations involved, and the characters involved get more fleshed out being seen by others. The compilation books I understand give more of a backstory and being more chronological you can see the characters as pieces from a grander perspective being moved around. But I worried I would be lost in trying to keep track of everyone involved so I felt this might be a better way to read the books. Later Ill do the compilations to focus more on order of events as opposed to characters.

Side Note: There is a constant reference to the events in the Trilogy of the Blood Curse but it is not really that important to this story beyond knowing it happened.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 12: Tremere
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2012 12:58:53

Okay, so it's not THE BEST. In fact, sometimes it's really hard to read or understand if you don't know exactly what you're talking about. Also it seems like the author took a lot of liberties that I can't seem to find anywhere in the books such as the labeling of Secondus or Tertius. I feel like it's a decent representation of the Tremere clan through a novel, just that it's NOT a stand alone novel and not written as one. If you're not reading the rest of the series, the author seriously needed to give more information. It's quite possible to do stand alone novels as part of enriching a series which adding on, but this novel really didn't do that. So it's not great, but it's not horrible either.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 12: Tremere
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by wesley c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2010 18:50:18

the book itself is very well writen and engaging my problem with it is the fact that it is not easy to read on a ereader like the nook or sony reader both of which I tried to put it on and ended up having to read it on my Ipad while not the worst it is not my preferred way to read and is why it only got a 4 rating if white wolf puts a epub format book out that would earn it a 5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

On the Third Day Part One
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/11/2010 08:11:19

A Flames Rising Review:

I became an instant fan of David Niall Wilson’s work when I had read This is My Blood a few months ago. Since reading and reviewing this new personal favorite book of mine, I’ve kept in touch with David here and there. During one of our chats he’d mentioned one of his latest books titled One the Third Day and its subject being deep-rooted in religious themed horror, much like This is My Blood. I was immediately intrigued and I set off to read it as soon as possible.

My original intention was to read it during the week of Easter as the novel revolves around Easter Sunday. Sadly however, this was not to be as my laptop went ill for a few weeks, delaying my reading it (or any of the other books in my E-library waiting to be read and reviewed.) I was finally able to read it this last week, and I’m happy to say that whether you read it during the Easter season or not, the story and the messages contained within it are just as powerful!

Please click on the link below to read the entire review: http://www.flamesrising.com/on-the-third-day-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Third Day Part One
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

On the Third Day
by Steven D. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/11/2010 08:00:00

A Flames Rising Review:

became an instant fan of David Niall Wilson’s work when I had read This is My Blood a few months ago. Since reading and reviewing this new personal favorite book of mine, I’ve kept in touch with David here and there. During one of our chats he’d mentioned one of his latest books titled One the Third Day and its subject being deep-rooted in religious themed horror, much like This is My Blood. I was immediately intrigued and I set off to read it as soon as possible.

My original intention was to read it during the week of Easter as the novel revolves around Easter Sunday. Sadly however, this was not to be as my laptop went ill for a few weeks, delaying my reading it (or any of the other books in my E-library waiting to be read and reviewed.) I was finally able to read it this last week, and I’m happy to say that whether you read it during the Easter season or not, the story and the messages contained within it are just as powerful!

Click on the following link to read the entire review: http://www.flamesrising.com/on-the-third-day-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
On the Third Day
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

This is My Blood
by Steven D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2010 14:00:39

A Flames Rising Review:

I’ve only been a reviewer on da’ flames for about a scant 6 months now (my, how time does fly), but I’ve already read and reviewed some good books within that time. In one particular case however, I decided to read and review a book (Personal Effects- Dark Art) after reading a featured preview. As it turned out, this was a good book and was worth taking the leap and I told myself I would review more featured books in the future. And now I’ve recently read the featured preview of This is My Blood. This preview also grabbed me by the attention and I took another leap of faith. Was my faith rewarded?

Well before I answer this question, I feel a need to explain my review style. For those of you who’ve read my past reviews, I hope you’ve enjoyed them. If always been a philosophy and goal to make my reviews as enjoyable, including adding what I think are sometimes witty and/or silly bits of humor, sarcastic remarks, different points of view, where I am coming from on a given subject and so on. I feel that if I can’t keep you interested or entertained along the way, you probably won’t acquire the interest to look into the items that I’ve enjoyed nor think twice about looking into the items that I didn’t. Well, I’m scraping this method this time around for a more serious review.

So why am I traveling along a more serious route today? The answer ties into the first question when I asked “was my faith rewarded?” In a word I could say “absolutely” or even “completely, but I don’t feel that either of these words (or any group of words in general) will do this book justice. This is My Blood is nothing short of amazing, and I believe that no matter how hard I’d try, I won’t be able to give it the praise it deserves. So instead of my attempts at long winded goofy commentary in the hopes of encouraging you to sit down to this book, I’m simply going to implore you to read this extraordinary piece of literature. And to that end, I’m going to attempt to obtain your interest by stating the facts and I see them. So please follow along with me on this one, I wouldn’t just ask if I didn’t feel so strongly about this book.

Read the complete review at FlamesRising.com: http://www.flamesrising.com/this-is-my-blood-review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
This is My Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 10: Giovanni
by rodrigo t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2009 18:05:53

Its a fantastic book...A incredible story...Just read it and discover the magic of white wolf realm



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 10: Giovanni
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
by Kenneth H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2009 18:26:44

A Great Read, Crammed full with suspense. A nice introduction to the OWOD system and time line!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Clan Novel 1: Nosferatu
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Nicklas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2009 09:53:38

Well written, exciting and absorbing, though it drags along on some occassions. 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles