Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2019 23:32:38

An amazing resource for planet building incredibly detailed and informative a great resource for any space adventure



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Glad you liked it, Chris!
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
by Sensible C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 02:23:40

I grew up on "World Builder's Handbook" and "Dungeon Builder's Handbook" by Wizards of the Coast and they served their purpose well, but for less than five dollars, this little beauty handles planet creation a little bit better than the "World Builder's Guidebook", especially with mapping polar coordinate systems, a topic left untouched by Wizard's of the Coast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm really pleased you liked the Handbook and found it useful!
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 17:47:06

I wish I had put something this nice and concise together. Worth it if you love to put a little real-science feel in your SF games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2016 21:21:10

I am a big fan of this sort of guide. It isn't a polished professional product. It is a source of inspiration and ideas. This is a step by step guide showing how anyone can draw a good map. My kids both read it, followed the directions and produced their own maps that looked pretty good. Now we can build new maps anytime.

In fact, I have followed these directions to produce my own maps that I have published myself.

It is simple instructions from a hobbiest, sharing what they have learned. There should be more like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
by Sylvain P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 04:20:44

Excellent reference if like me (and the author) you lack any real drawing skills yet would like to generate map in the style of J.R.R Tolkien ...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Argor Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2015 17:09:57

Out of 175 pages, 168 are the contents. It's a 2d6 plus modifiers system (similar to the Decipher game's: Lord of the Rings & Star Trek RPGs, and probably a few others).

The currency is pennies, farthings, shillings, Guineas, crowns, and halfpennies (Ye Olde money).

The one thing I don't like is the 7 weapon skills (sword/club, axe/mace, pole weapon, unarmed, sling, bow, crossbow). It could just be Melee, Ranged, Unarmed (would make it simpler - to me, anyway).

A fairly good range of skills ranged amongst these abilities (Combat, Agility, Perception, Craft, Knowledge). Attributes are: Str, Dex, Con, Wil, Int (3d6 for reach).

The PDF has quite a lot in it: Bestiary, Races, Brief history, maps, gazetteer, Linguistics & pronunciation. It also has a beginners guide, guidance on being a GM, Argor lite & solo adventure, an adventure for the main rules, blank character sheet and pre-generated characters, pre-generated NPCs, a city resource (Caradelm), plot hooks, technical manual, reference tables, and using Argor rules (or the world) in your own games.

There is quite a lot squeezed into the 168 pages.

At £5.13 ($8-$9?), it's worth pretty much a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Argor Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
by Randy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2015 20:47:13

I picked this up because I was curious as to what method the author was going to use to teach this technique. I was pleasantly surprised that it was indeed good old-fashioned pencil (and pen) and paper.

This is a great resource for anyone that thinks they cannot draw. I, myself, can draw pretty well, but even I learned a thing or two (the highlighter techniques come to mind here). The author teaches in plain simple English and the results are great.

If you're looking for one of those "use this tool" how-to docs, then this is not for you. However, if you are just an average gamer who would love to make some cool maps without 4 years of Art school and thousand dollar computer programs, then this is just what the doctor ordered!

For a buck and a half you can change your skillset. Not many things today can deliver on that!

Buy it...and start mapping!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2014 17:28:44

Excellent booklet, well worth the price if you want to draw your own maps from scatch, don't have an advanced drawing program and are not an accomplished artist. I am not an artist but need some custom maps for my new campaign. I had drawn a few crude ideas, this booklet will help me start all over again and get a much better product. The detail on materials and methods is simple and clear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Distant Vistas
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2014 17:37:47

I started a Savage Worlds space campaign pretty much off the cuff one weekend without having done any work ahead of time to build a cohesive game world. As I wasn't expecting to go beyond a single session, the fact that my group really liked the adventure caught me pretty much completely off guard. I grabbed Distant Vistas between sessions and based a lot of my game world on the material therein. The information presented in it is detailed enough to offer a GM a good foundation. However, there's a lot left open as well which gives me a certain sense of freedom to flex and bend things as I see fit. Overall, I think most people who purchase this will find it isn't a professional-grade product, but enjoy and be able to make good use of it nonetheless. Don't expect to have a 100% complete campaign world, but anticipate a solid foundation upon which to build. Also, it doesn't contain any GM-only secrets so the players can browse the individual articles to get a feel for the overall flavor without finding any spoilers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Distant Vistas
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/13/2012 21:52:17

If you’re running a sci-fi RPG that involves interplanetary travel and you, like me, don’t know all that much about the details of planetary physics, then you owe this resource to yourself and your players. You’ll need to track along with some science and math, but author Mark Wightman keep it simple, always with an eye on helping the GM create interesting yet basically realistic planets. Aspiring sci-fi writers would benefit from this book, too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Last Stand at Kirrinbahr
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2012 21:52:52

This is a well-written paragraph-based solo adventure. The difficulty feels right, and the consequences to your actions feel logical. As with most books of this type, once you complete the adventure there isn't much replay value, although I did feel compelled to try again with different character choices. I only wish that they had used hyperlinks in the PDF for those that play it on a computer instead of printing the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Last Stand at Kirrinbahr
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback comments, Ricardo. During our recent re-brand we took the opportunity to make some improvements, and \'Last Stand at Kirrinbahr\' is now supplied as a bookmarked PDF to make on-screen navigation much easier.
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
by D. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2012 23:47:40

Excellent book, it is short and to the point ! This is not a set of tables to randomly generate worlds, we have this in many sf games anyways. This guide explains you how do planet "work", what is the physic and the logic in their features, climates, etc. It is not too technical and it is very easy to read. Once you have read this book you won't be looking at rpg planets the same way anymore. A MUST READ before going into planet design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GM's Planet-Building Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Per Ardua...
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2011 22:00:09

Per Ardua is a basic modern investigative horror adventure written for Call of Cthulhu using the 2nd Edition mechanics. It is usable within the 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s. The investigation takes place in and around the village of Manderton in Britain.

OVERALL

Per Ardua is a very straight-forward, linear adventure for Call of Cthulhu. At times, it’s a little too linear and lacks much of the flexibility that should be given to players. They layout is overly simple and some of the writing is clunky. It could benefit from a lot of editing and a much cleaner layout and presentation.

RATINGS

Publication Quality: 6 out of 10 Per Ardua’s layout and presentation are very simple but mostly effective. However, there is no table of contents or page numbers and an excessive amount of white space. There are a few illustrations that I find interesting, but are generally too small to be truly effective. There are a set of text boxes in the back supposedly designed as entries in various printed material, but lack any type of design to look like anything other than text boxes. The one thing that truly stands out in Per Ardua are the maps. They are not flashy, but they are effective and well thought-out.

Storyline: 5 out of 10 The storyline is a little bland, lacking much character and setting depth. It develops throughout the adventure, although it feels a little rushed. There is a complete lack of background concerning the storyline and most of the adventure takes place outside of it. It wouldn’t take much work to further flesh out the storyline and give it some flavor, but that means more work for the Keeper.

Desire to Play: 6 out of 10 The adventure is not a bad one. In fact, if you are running a game with new players, it’s simplicity is ideal. Advanced players would probably rifle through it fairly quickly. The biggest problem I have is that during the final scenes, the players could feel very railroaded with the lack of available options. The way the adventure is written makes too many assumptions about game-play and general outcome.

Overall: 6 out of 10 Per Ardua is a decent Call of Cthulhu adventure. It has many of the basic aspects of a Cthulhu adventure, although without much detail. It may actually work better as source material for other adventures given the amount of seemingly accurate or at least plausible content. It could work well to introduce players to Call of Cthulhu, but I wouldn’t recommend it for more seasoned players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Per Ardua...
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the comments, Aaron. Since your review we\'ve redesigned the presentation of Per Ardua. We\'ve changed the layout, added more artwork and completely revamped those text boxes!
Anyburg and the Lands Thereabout
by Julia E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2011 10:41:39

I've wanted a book like this for a long time! Well-written, nicely laid-out, and chock full of great data. Well worth the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anyburg and the Lands Thereabout
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Anyburg and the Lands Thereabout
by Fernando G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2011 13:36:59

Fantastic help to create a realistic town, village or city. Not only offers numbers and statistics of population, density and professions, but also includes a review to add the typical fantastic races like orcs or elves. It is separated in three main bodies: -the town itself, with the minimum professionals per inhabitant to make it independent, divided by sectors (defence, education, trade, religious), with mention to fantasy genre. -the lands and limits of the typical city, natural resources, crops, etc, needed for the number of inhabitants and the type of the city. -several examples including maps and types of fortifications and castles, the example of the design of a town, and a template to create your own cities and maps.

Although most of the information is based mostly on medieval Britain, with little research it can be adapted to most of European medieval cultures and to any fantasy set-up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items