Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Pedro Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2021 11:53:20

Phenomenal book. From start to finish the writing is great, every cult is extremely interesting and provides tons of chronicle ideas. The Hecata write-up on its structure and clan is marvelous as well. Definitely a must buy for V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Maximilian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2021 14:00:39

Vampire 5th Edition didn't hold my expectations. My group is playing Vampire since 1998. There are a lot of editions, and this Edition is a mediocre one. I really liked some new fresh ideas and the art work as a DM, but I don't understand why they organised it like a book. You need to learn very important aspects by heart because you will never find it again ( like while in session). I miss a Quick Build table, a Character traits overview (standard like in DND5). In practice, the system was at first interesting but then a little bit of an obstacle for the flow in the game. This is of course just the experience in my group.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 15:35:51

One big problem that WoD aways had. If the character goes out of USA or Europe the character gets a dumb story.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 15:30:57

Why we don't have this book in V1?

This book has too many good things about, vampire cults, how they work, how they are built and more. I liked the Hecata reunion too.

to be flawless I would say that lineages ban should be suported for old hecata, but is only that stuff that bored me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Lisa H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2021 14:10:48

This book is a Bible for Chicago. There are so many characters and clans, neighborhoods, lore, suggestions for gameplay and plot twists. My only complaint is that the book lacks a comprehensive index. There is so much informatopn here, and the table of contents is good, but an index would really be a worthy upgrade.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2021 03:44:28

The best version of Vampire: The Masquerade that there has ever been. State of the art mechanics supporting a fully realised vision of a world from the perspective of children of the night. Mean, lean and gorgeous in equal measure, and brave enough to recapture the focus and themes of the original.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition
by Barbara T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2021 03:18:33

The book isn't laid out great, and there is a lot of flavour text which starts to get annoying when you're flipping through it trying to find a rule in a hurry, but despite it's flaws I genuinely love this game. I've had so many hours of fun playing it over the last couple of years and plan to spend so many more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2021 01:14:25

Onyx Path Publishing does it again. And by "it", I mean add a wonderful addition to the series!

Taking elements found in both Children of the Blood and Cults of the Blood Gods, this book marries the two:

  • The Wellspring, in Copenhagen Denmark, players are given a taste for what it's like to find the remnants of a cult with no leader. It's a question of: What do we do next? An exploration on how they act in a given sticky/tricky situation.

  • The Family, in Atlantic City USA, somebody’s been talking. Secrets of the Hecata soon find themselves spilled and it's up to the coterie to find out who, why, and then mop up the mess.

  • Open Your Eyes, in Birmingham England, a mysterious figure speaks of Golconda. They perform miracles which sound and seem unbelievable. It's time to separate fact from fiction, and uncover the truth.

  • Old Wounds, in Florence Italy, a celebration is to be had and you’ve managed an invitation. The Family is planning a get-together. Some of those in attendance are finally ready to bury the hatchet.

--

Accompanying these stories and settings, there are new Loresheets:

The Ruby Throat, a Gambling/Crime related sheet set in Atlantic City, though it could easily be moved to other locations if a Chronicle found its setting applicable, the book even goes as far to state that.

Descendant of de Camden, provides benefit for those of clan Hecata in what appears to be the last confirmed ‘bloodline’ of sorts for them (at least for now).

Finally, we have Relics of the Veil; it provides some haunted/shroud/spooky items of interest for those venturing toward the esoteric or necromantic types of characters.

Three new Ceremonies feature in Trails of Ash and Bone, allowing for some measure of protection against (or entrapment of) spirits, mending of the shroud, or the projection of a spirit’s final mortal moments onto a willing participant or an unsuspecting enemy.

Finally we have Ready-Made Characters, giving players the ideal jumping-in point for the stories in the book, or in general for where they might be suited. All set, and ready to play.

--

I’ve found several elements I’ve wanted to cherry pick for my own Chronicles, Characters, but also Locations. They give you enough to work for the stories, but one could cultivate it into their own setting if they were up for the challenge. If I had to compare this book to others in V5, it would be the much loved Let the Street Run Red.

Each story features new SPCs, alongside antagonist stat blocks, and a variety of options for how each could play out. This is baked-in, allowing newer STs better flexibility on how they could tackle the setting for their first time, or for further replays. With Old Wounds in particular they may feel they’re playing a completely different story, given the change in motivations of their potential adversary/adversaries.

Some named SPCs found in Children of the Blood also feature here, allowing for those who have it a deeper understanding of the character, and their motivations (though of course, it is not necessary/mandatory to have it).

==

Yet again, I can’t help wanting more. It's not as if the content is lacking by any means, it's more that you can’t get enough of a good thing when Onyx Path Publishing is involved.

I consider this another knock-out for them. 5 Stars. I can't wait for Forbidden Religions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Chicago Folios (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2021 12:55:27

Onyx Path Publishing gives a great many plot hooks to interweave among any Chicago by Night chronicle:

Taking Anarch, Camarilla, Independent and Mortal stories to give players a chance to experiene and explore a plethora of content. Each with a whole new list of stat block characters, and SPCs to boot. At the end of it all, you're rewarded further with fresh new Loresheets and bloody brilliant Blood Sorcery Rituals.

For new Storytellers, this'll help add to your city and make it all the more hustle-and-bustling. Plenty of jobs, characters, opportunities. Naturally it works well with Chicago, but it could easily be worked into other locations. Custom or otherwise.

Fantastic supplement for Chicago by Night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chicago Folios (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2021 12:55:03

This, is the welcome return to Chicago we've all been waiting for. Onyx Path Publishing does a great way updating the city, and providing the set-up for the Lasombra's defection from the Sabbat.

This is the first foray into what will be V5's city settings. It gives you the breakdown of locations, domains, homestead rules, motivations and the malcontents to murder.

You're shown the various SPCs in all their glory, those who've survived anyway. Still plenty of Elders, but not as it once was. New space and new room made in the vaccum for Neonates and Fledglings such as yourself.

This book contains the hierarchical layout, showing who in Chicago's Government is who they say they are. How they feel toward one-another. Great for new players hoping to get a grasp on how to approach such a thing.

Loresheets aplenty, giving you rich backgrounds to play with in your game.

The introduction of Obtenebration (now part of, and called: Oblivion) and various Chronicle stories to get yourself started filling this World of Darkness with many a-things to do.

Truly, this is a beautiful book and a beautiful beginning. It's quite the love letter to the series and the best starting point for Vampire: The Masquerade V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2021 10:56:00

Onyx Path Publishing digs deeper into Chicago, and its nearing neighbours.

For those Storytellers looking for a way to break the ice:

  • Power Prey introduces the coterie to questionable Kindred and qualms about what they could become. It raises the stakes, putting something on the line that's personal. I highly recommend it as a start in general, but also for Chicago.

  • The Dying Fields gives a new setting, feeling as if the walls close in. A small town, fewer vessels to feed from. Those small-time elements of mystery, eerie cult-isms. Its a great story for those having strayed from the path and ended up someplace strange. Where the trees grow tall, and the crows come to call.

  • Innocence in Blood provides you with all you'll need to give Lupines more of a presence in your chronicles, starting with this one in particular. Giving varying types of Lupine, and their Kinfolk you give the fight of your unlife. Best of luck to you.

  • Rusted Jungle brings Gary Indianna into the forefront. Stepping it up to Chicago to show it what its got. Fall into the befallment of the Circulatory System and the waging war between Camarilla and Anarchs, Gary and Chicago, as tensions grow.

In addition to the spread of awesome SPCs included, you'll find statblocks aplenty. Ghouls, Lupine, Mortals.

New Blood Sorcery Rituals, the Roadside Killer predator type, and Loresheets.

Finally, the Ready-Made Characters so you can dive straight-on in. This is the start of something great, enjoy your stay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Marc T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 05:07:43

Cults of the Blood Gods is further expanded upon in this supplement: This book opens with new SPC Characters and one or two older ones. These work to provide flavour for any chronicle/story, but also tie-in with other entries, such as Trails of Ash and Bone.

Some Ready-Made Characters for anyone wanting to leap straight into the action.

New Cult-based Merits and Flaws, to better you or your adversaries for your involvement in cults featured in Cults of the Blood Gods.

Bloodlines, adding what appears to be the last (for now at least) of the more notable Hecata families.

And cult Loresheets, offering awesome new choices for the many kindred you’ll no doubt be making.

--

I was going to rate this book a 4, for the sole reason that I would have liked to have seen more, but for the price it's offered I think it's spot on. I still certainly wish we had more, but as it is, it's a fine addition. I’m now left wondering when and where we might see some names crop up in later entries (Forbidden Religions).

I’m giving Onyx Path Publishing a 5. A great start to the Supplements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2021 14:52:20

Another top book coming off Cults of the Blood Gods, with a variety of different stories covering how the cults and Hecata can fit it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by José B. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 14:12:47

I'm not a big fan of chronicles-focused books (even if it has some powers and loresheets), but this one hit it right with me. Although I'm biased cuz I love me some Giovanni Chronicles, and Old Wounds and The Family hit it right at home. Open Your Eyes is a very cultish and esoteric one that mixes things a bit in a cool way. I haven't read The Wellspring deeply, but the street/park level cult and mystery seem really involving. All and all, a damn cool book, which I'm gonna use to mix it up and make a Giovanni Chronicles Part IV.S or a Part V-ish. Although a Hecata Chroniclees would be more appropriate I suppose. The themes and tones of each chronicle of Trails of Ash and Bone are very well defined and expressed, you can basically see the colors and smells of each story just by the synopsis and introduction.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2021 21:46:02

tl:dr - Whether you're a Storyteller looking to work elements from Cults of the Blood Gods into your chronicle, a new ST starting off, or just looking for a short story to run, I highly recommend this supplement.

Trails of Ash and Bone is a ready to run story book for Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Eidtion. As it is a supplement to the Cults of the Blood Gods Kickstarter, the theme of the stories center either around cults or the clan Hecata. There are four stories as well as new Loresheets, Oblivion Ceremonies, and Ready-Made Characters to introduce into your V5 game.

Intro Fiction - a brief glimpse into the unlife of Carmen Giovanni as told by one of their ghouls. A good read that sets the tone for things to come.

The stories - All of them are good for different reasons. Each explores different aspects and challenges vampires face. I want to run all of them. Old Wounds has some of the creepiest elements for V5 written to date.

Loresheets, Oblivion Ceremonies, and Ready-Made characters - For a wider audience the loresheets don't add much, they are fairly specific to either a location or clan. They fit well with this supplement but have situtuational use in an average VtM campaign. I was one of the Kickstarter backers who helped develop the Oblivion Ceremonies. If you don't care that I'm biased then they are awesome and provide great utility. I like the enclusion of the Ready-Made characters and I think every book like this with stories should have them. Motti is my favorite, no I'm not just saying that because my liscense plate say Gangrel.

Who should buy this supplement? People who like V5. Who shouldn't buy this book? People who don't like the idea of the Hecata merging through the family reunion or dealing with cults. I'm not sure why anyone who falls into those categories would take the time to read this far into the review, but if that is you thanks for reading this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles