Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Bloodlines: The Devoted
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2020 21:12:42

All in all an excellent book! I very much appreciate the devs' design aesthetic, and will definitely be using some of these in my games. They struck a good balance between keeping the thematics from the 1e writeups intact while not just slavishly copying the mechanics, and I don't see any bloodlines that I would need to ban or mechanically overhaul at my table, which is more than I can say for any of the 1e bloodline books!

The only drawback is that you still need the 1e books for most of those thematics. This book has rules for playing a Macellarius in 2e (and they're great rules; using the Formosae mechanics was a stroke of genius), but it doesn't tell you what the Macellarii are like, what their history is, how their culture is organized, and so on. You still need Bloodlines: the Legendary if you want to know any of that. I understand why it had to be that way, and it's not too much of an inconvenience, but it does mean that if you want to get the most out of this you should already own the full set of 1e books (I think this book specifically requires the three bloodline books, the five covenant books, and the five clanbooks).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodlines: The Devoted
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Bordeaux by Night NPCs
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 13:56:43

Bordeaux by Night The Court (aka Bordeaux by Night NPC's) is a great little book that provides the storyteller with a easy reference to the various NPC's of Bordeaux, including their known agenda's, appearance, and background.

The Tabletop Gaming Club recommends grabbing a copy of this pay what you want book. Though the information is found in the Bordeaux by Night player's guide, this book makes a great easy reference.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night NPCs
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 13:52:55

Ascension's Landscape is an amazing book that takes helps flush out a storyteller's campaign. This book asks a lot of questions and provides answers to theses questions. For example, how dark is your world of darkness, is it a setting filled with violence, or a setting where things go bump in the night. Or how many mages are there, are mages common place, how many sleepers awaken, how dangerous is it to be an awaken mage etc, etc. There are many great things we could say about this product but we don't want to spoil to much.

The Tabletop Gaming club found this to be one of the most useful books we have seen when planning out a mage chronicle. We strongly recommend this book to Mage storytellers. Its an important tool for every storyteller's library.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Longest Night
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2020 05:06:37

This is a fairly decent, if short, work themed around Christmas/Winter for World of Darkness games. My initial instinct was to rate 3 as it covers 3 gamelines in a relatively short amount of pages, which means no one gameline gets loads of coverage and not everything is going to be useful to you. However, objectively each piece is well written and will be useful to someone. That is why I gave it 4. The book covers Mage, Wraith and Vampire, though technically there is also stuff for Werewolf and Hunter too. To read a fuller review, click HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Longest Night
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Manual of Exalted Power: Dragon-Blooded
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2020 11:13:43

A million miles away in terms of content compared to 1st and especially compared to 3rd edition. The hardcover book is a beautiful B&W reprint. Honestly, a lot of people think 2nd edition is a bit clunky, but to me it improved on 1st and doesnt contain all the social justice white knighting and gender politicing that OP Exalted does. That for me is not needed in any rpg. The art is in general superior and the book wont break your arm to hold. EAT a load of this Onyx Path, your Exalted sucks, this is the real deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Manual of Exalted Power: Dragon-Blooded
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2020 11:12:49

I love this book. I think it tackles common questions in a detailed and straightforward way, crucially without destroying the mystery or metaphysics of Mage. The World of Darkness (WoD) is a mysterious and contradictory monster (IMHO by design), so I assume most players have been involved in conversations discussing how fitting the WoD together could work. Example queries:

  • How many Mages are there and how does this affect the Ascension War?
  • How much violent crime does different parts of the WoD have, what does that violence translate social-economically? From when the games were originally created, how do we track the changes in real life to WoD?
  • How does money work in a world of seemingly abundant Supernatural power, and in particular mind control?

And so forth, with each answer typically resulting in more fun queries. I love this about RPGs in general, that my groups and I get to decipher and decide; I’d very much have appreciated this sort of book back in the 90s, when we were are all first getting to grips with the WoD. It is not to suggest that the numerous WoD books have never presented questions and provided several answers, they have; nor to imply that this book is an exhaustive list of queries and suggestions. It’s that Terry’s approach of exploring different answers in relation to each over and also in a focused product is great and pithy; I’m a big fan of altering numbers/dials and exploring the results. I think what really takes this book from being classed as a Complete Success, to a Phenomenal Success, is including so many Story/Chronicle Hooks.

I recommend this book to all. Whether you are a new player or a veteran, there are many things contained within for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Changeling: Infusion & Tale-Craft Cards
by Amanda P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 20:18:11

These cards are quite possibly the most useful thing to have come out of Storyteller's Vault so far.

They're well-executed, well-sized, and generally awesome. My players are going to love them! I printed them out onto heavy cardstock and anticipate much 'ooohing' and 'aaaahing'.

Thanks so much for making these!

(See also the Realms file and the main Arts file.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: Infusion & Tale-Craft Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Changeling: the Dreaming Realm Cards
by Amanda P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 20:16:53

These cards are quite possibly the most useful thing to have come out of Storyteller's Vault so far.

They're well-executed, well-sized, and generally awesome. My players are going to love them! I printed them out onto heavy cardstock and anticipate much 'ooohing' and 'aaaahing'.

Thanks so much for making these!

(See also the Arts file and the Infusion & Tale-Craft file.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Dreaming Realm Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Changeling: the Dreaming Cantrip Cards
by Amanda P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 20:13:12

These cards are quite possibly the most useful thing to have come out of Storyteller's Vault so far.

They're well-executed, well-sized, and generally awesome. My players are going to love them! I printed them out onto heavy cardstock and anticipate much 'ooohing' and 'aaaahing'.

Thanks so much for making these!

(See also the Realms file and the Infusion & Tale-Craft file.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Dreaming Cantrip Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by Jordan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 19:38:06

An excellent book that answered questions I didn't know I needed to ask! The only reason it's not a 5-star rating is that there's always room for improvement, and that some of the sections were unclear about which was the default setting assumption in "canon" Ascension.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Secret Frequency Files
by Sam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 09:54:51

The Secret Frequency has long been my favourite part of the Darker Days Radio podcast, so a supplement dedicated to these plot hooks is very welcome. The book provides some fascinating little hooks and elements drawing upon real-world esoterica and folklore. Each section does a good job in introducing the initial lore before going on to explore how to bring them into your games. Some of them are definitely stronger than others, with the chapter on Black Dogs in particular being one i found interesting with lots of potential (though I will admit to a long time fascination with black dog lore in any case). All in all, a good place to start when looking for something new to introduce to your chronicle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret Frequency Files
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

100 Uktena Kinfolk
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2020 15:00:03

100 Uktena Kinfolk is another solid contribution to the vault. This product is a useful tool when looking for quick npc with a little personality and background. The book gives us a 100 different character names with about a paragraph of background and personality information for each.

The Tabletop Gaming Club found the book useful during their weekly game and recommends this book to storytellers who want to flush out their Uktena based games with little work. We look forward to similiar work from this author.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Uktena Kinfolk
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by Tristan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2020 00:43:54

A wonderful book that explores the various options a storyteller has when creating their own World of Darkness through the Mage paradigm. While the base gamebooks offer their own view of the World of Darkness, there is a vast array of options and questions left for the storyteller to answer. What does it mean if the world had a high mage population? How organized are the various Traditions / Crafts / Conventions? In what ways are the shadows in your World of Darkness deeper than our world? Is it darker than our world? Depending on where you live, mundane reality may be dark enough for your chronicle as is. This book offers many options to help new and experienced storytellers alike flesh out their worlds, with plot hooks and fleshed out options to bring that extra flavor to any campaign. While absolutely made for Mage, I believe this book is worthwhile to any storyteller, as the base questions are mostly the same for all game lines. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Riot of the Flesh
by Scarlett R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2020 06:14:07

Many interesting (and gross) fomori, a great tool for any storyteller.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riot of the Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Rage Across Pindorama
by Scarlett R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2020 06:07:02

Well written, contains many interesting plot hooks and a more detailed and realistic depiction of Brazil in the World of Darkness, gracefully avoiding the classic WoD take of "5 guys who've never been to (place) writing an account on it's supernatural and human history without ever even consulting anybody with in-depth knowledge of it"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rage Across Pindorama
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2500 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles