Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Sorcerer: Paths of Power
by Elijah D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2021 17:16:25

Sorcerer : Paths of Power is the definitive treatment of hedge/ linear magic in the Owod . clocking in at 164 or so pages ( Sorcerer revised is 130 pages ) ,It builds on, clarifies , and updates the source material to the standard of the 20th anniversary iteration of the rules . It also provides one of the best explanations of focus i have yet to read . This may be my all time favorite purchases from the Storytellers vault: its one of the works that just screams for a POD release. Charles Siegel does good work .This is his best yet . Buy This !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorcerer: Paths of Power
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Descendants of the Three Sisters: Native American Clans of the Northeast
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2021 15:08:03

Whilst of limited use in campaigns without some reworking this is a fascinating insight into Native American culture, presumably written by Native Americans.

I found all three types of vampire presented well written and a pity they limit themselves to NE America and Native American childer.

I would definitely like to see more products like this.

Kind Regards

David



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Descendants of the Three Sisters: Native American Clans of the Northeast
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by Jason K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2021 14:57:04

This is an excellent resource that will give you enough fodder to carry a chronicle well into, well, forever. A great addition to any storyteller's arsenal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mockery breed: Murder birds
by Ellen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2021 10:08:01

These 'Were-cassowaries' are a great idea and worth exploring, but I think they need more polish, detail, and mechanical work. However, this little pdf is Pay What You Want, so the author isn't asking much.

I think that with additional work and detail, these could become a very solid addition to Werewolf: The Apocalypse. As they are, I like them but do have some thematic and mechanical concerns.

The Good:

It's entirely plausible for Pentex to unleash these things on Australia. They're certainly an improvement over hypothetical dingo-based War Wolves, on a continent where wererhinos really won't work. Cassowaries are fierce and dangerous birds, and suitable stock for a Mockery Breed. The idea for how they turned towards Gaia is a good seed, and of all the Mockery Breeds they have the best chance of redemption. The name is also great - fitting and very 21st century. Overall, this is a great idea.

The Unpolished:

Thematically, the Murder Birds' redemption is too easy and complete for me. I think the Werewolf setting demands a much more arduous and unfinished path. Gaia immediately adopting a creation of Wyrm-industry and turning them into a full Changing-Breed without Wyrm-taint just isn't plausible to me - I think She would demand ages of service to Her before She'd bless and embrace them, if it's even possible. The mental realm they inhabit is a cool idea but would make more sense with an origin from a captured Mokole, rather than a Corax; a genuine Yathamaya would be a good explanation for learning about Gaia. Making their redemption and new allegiance an ongoing process, a path they have only started upon, would also create more possibilities for moral grey areas, conflict, and character/story development for Murder Bird PCs - or even for Gaian shapeshifters who want to help them.

Mechantically, I don't think it's plausible for them to have the full range of breeds and forms - no canon Mockery Breed has that, and I don't belive Pentex could pull that off. I'm not sure the powers are balanced, but they won't play in a mixed-Breed group, so maybe that doesn't matter.

Lastly, the layout isn't professional, and there's no artwork.

Conclusion:

With all that said, Murder Birds are worth using for any Werewolf game in Australia, Papua/New Guinea, Nusa Tenggara, or Maluku, either as player characters or as a completely unexpected mystery (and moral conundrum) for any Changing-Breed. As antagonists or wild cards, you could throw them at any WoD splat (except wraiths) and enjoy the players' confusion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mockery breed: Murder birds
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mage The Ascension Tarot
by Danny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 13:41:14

Super happy with these. My old deck got destroyed.

The quality of print, if you look really close, isn't quite the same as the originals but that's just me being fussy. And the card weight is slightly closer to a normal playing card than the originals. But again, fussy.

As I said I am made up I have this deck back despite these slight criticisms.

(the postage to UK is killer so check before you click)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Paradigm Explored: Wyrd and Weft
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2021 19:21:38

Though there are a few minor snags in the layout work, the inclusion of a form for correction makes that an easy to ignore issue. Otherwise, this book is excellent, and I recommend it to everyone.

It is an in-depth look at a specific Norse practitioner, explaining both how to do Norse magick (through the Focus system, Rotes and Wonders) and generally attempting to make the Focus system more concrete. By focusing on this one character, it gets very concrete with how her magick works and includes several allies (and given the topic, they're arguably a part of how the magic works as well).

Overall, it's a very good product that does useful things, and I hope to see more like it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paradigm Explored: Wyrd and Weft
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Tribebook: Shadow Lords (Revised)
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2021 17:47:53

I was worried because I read that some print-on-demand books suffer from quality control issues, but I couldn't be happier with my Shadow Lords Tribe Book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tribebook: Shadow Lords (Revised)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mage Made Easy: Advice from That Damn Mage Guy
by Zantigui D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 13:37:17

Un must have pour tout jeune Conteur désirant masteuriser à Mage. Clairement, être maître du jeu peut des fois être déroutant mais ce bouquin répond aux principales questions qu'on se pose: comment démarrer, quel type de jdr débuter, doit-on mélanger toutes les traditions, etc... C'est du pratico-pratique d'un Concepteur de jeu à un MJ.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage Made Easy: Advice from That Damn Mage Guy
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Rite of the Spring
by Zantigui D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 13:35:14

Ce scénario complet a une structure simple mais claire et facile à prendre en main. Les conséquences amusantes sur le métagaming (modifie les règles même de Mage) sont amusantes et particulièrement immersif. S'adapte à tous les joueurs mais c'est encore plus amusant quand un des joueurs au moins est un technomancien (il sera ainsi directement impliqué). Amusant le jeu de mot de Spring et Sproing (le son émis par un ressort qui se détend..) Vraiment une pépite !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rite of the Spring
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Hunter: The Vigil
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2021 13:29:08

as of this review, 2nd edition isn't out so i am reviewing the 1.5 edition (with Mortal Remains)

unfortunately they don't have the hardcover POD, but personally doesn't bother me.

this is a game where you can fight the supernatural, however, over time you will go insane from the constant horrors and eventually, go mad, if you have the slasher book, become a serial killer.

this is a really fun game for new players who want to get into the Chronicles of Darkness line of games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hunter: The Vigil
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Strange Shades: Mekhet
by Al F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 18:53:15

Loved the book, it is REALLY great to see the "clanbooks" get a second edition update. If I had one bug it would be that the Khaibit were left out(they kinda had an update but you have to find the white-wolf page on their web site)... But that's a pretty obscure quip... All in all, great book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Shades: Mekhet
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

World of Darkness: Slasher
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2021 14:58:55

to clarify what this book is.

they put World of Darkness on the cover to increase sales, but it is a Source Book to Hunter the Vigil. this book is about making serial killers in Hunter the Vigil, and what cells, compact, and conspricacies have Slashers in their group.

this book is not for the feint of heart (any of the WoD/CofD books aren't frankly) as it dives deep into the pyschology and mindset of a serial killer. its very interesting and complex. from your typical masked murderers, to the charismatic killers with calling cards, and so on.

the reason this book is a source book for hunters, is that at some point, hunters go insane. they see horrors that only their group can understand, and what happens when their convictions are shattered? what if they start questioning humanity and start culling them to prevent vampires to feed on them? so many role playing possibilities.

as of this writing, you can only get this source book seperately, however, the 2nd edition of Hunter the Vigil will have this book, so if you want to wait, there you go, if you want to use this book for your Hunter game have at it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Slasher
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Paths of Storytelling: Vampire (Original Scan PDF)
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 15:56:03

A great little chose your own adventure for Vampire. Throw back to the early 90s, when they were rage.

The tabletop gaming club recommends picking up a copy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paths of Storytelling: Vampire (Original Scan PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Twists of Obscenity: Esoterica of the Baali
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 11:41:32

Twists of Obscenity Esoterica of the Baali takes a deep dive into the Baali bloodline, This book is a very well put together and provides us with new paths, disciplines, bloodlines, merits, flaws, demonic investments, and even new bloodlines. The final chapter gives us various NPCs that represent the many different ways that a Baali could be played.

The Tabletop Gaming Club liked this book, but we would never ever allow it into a player's hand. But if you want to flesh out your Baali NPCs, this is a must have book. We could say a lot more about this book, but we would just be repeat what other reviews have already stated. We strongly recommend this book for those storytellers wanting to explore the depths of evil that are the Baali.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Twists of Obscenity: Esoterica of the Baali
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Wicker Wars: The Philippine Shadowlands
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 10:19:41

Wicker Wars: The Philippine Shadowlands is wonderful book that provides the history, geography and factions of the underworld of the the Phillippines. The title of the book refers to the three wars that effected the phillipines and its shadowland. A significant section of the book was devoted to exploring the third war (the Phillippine- American War).

The Tabletop Gaming Club really enjoyed this setting book. We recommend it to any Storyteller of Wraith wanting to set a game in the Phillippines. Its an amazing read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wicker Wars: The Philippine Shadowlands
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2949 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles