Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HIJACK: The Writer's Guide to the Strix
by Gabriele L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2019 06:35:59

Only notes, without "real true" about their nature ...? I expected something about a little example of a new splat, a mechanic...but nope. Pay for a piece of notes... this was mine error. Never again. Change title in " Writer's NOTES about Strix", a guide? Really, no!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
HIJACK: The Writer's Guide to the Strix
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Witches and Pagans
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2019 16:04:43

This book was exceedingly uneven.

The interstitial fiction was well-written, but throwing in the sort of epilogue "Winter" that didn't resolve the plot threads brought up earlier (except the blindness) was unsatisfying and anticlimactic.

The history section had good pieces, but it also 1) took the story of Lillith from ben Sirach like it was real and not just a satire (this is a pet peeve of mine, and it is unlikely that pagans in the 15th and 16th century would especially know this story, either, so making it a core part of their history is weird) 2) treats the Burning Times as a thing that actually happened, when the "witch burnings" were almost all about Christian Heretics, Jews and Muslims being murdered and 3) calling choosing Eloine to be on the First Cabal Lady Nightshade's greatest achievement is reallly strange because first off, it's picking a representative (as opposed to helping create the Council of Nine) and second, the First Cabal was a disaster!

The mechanical sections were generally ok, describing some rotes, some merits and flaws, some backgrounds and abilities. Nothing especially good, but solid.

The templates and the summary of Verbena (well, pagan, but mostly Verbena) magick in that era was quite good, overall.

So, probably worth picking up as "Traditionbook: Verbena (Sorcerer's Crusade Edition)" but take some things with a grain of salt, and don't be disappointed if things feel a bit flat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Witches and Pagans
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Cults of Rome, by Rose Bailey
by Nana K O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2019 15:05:30

I. Love. This. Book! I am a huge fan of Vampire and your work, and the history is a main reason! I've read your lore information on Rome and methuselahs and seeing this is epic!!! I appreciate the care and depth that went into this book, but a part of me wants to ask about religions like Judaism, Samaritanism, and Zoroastrianism. I feel like those faiths are rather important due to Zoroastrianism being the faith of Rome's greatest competitors and Judaism and Samaritanism because of their own complex religious and cultural changes during this period, even outside of the schisms with Christianity. Maybe even a flashpoint of a few other paganisms during the different eras of Rome because it in part feels like a set up for Byzantium. I love this supplement!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of Rome, by Rose Bailey
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Truth Until Paradox Revised
by Vonja K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2019 01:22:45

It's still good after all these years (I will admit to bias; I first read it when I was a baby mage player) but the "revised" version is missing half the stories. Maybe the person working the scanner got bored halfway through - I really wish they would have kept intact. Some of the original stories I hated (Seven Sages - I still don't understand it) are in there while other more traditionally MtA flavored (Candledark) got dropped.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Truth Until Paradox Revised
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Order of Reason
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2019 10:36:26

I wanted so badly to like this book.

I love Sorcerer's Crusade and Mage in general, I love the Technocracy/Order of Reason, and Brian Campbell has been involved in several of my favorite Mage supplements over the years. Unfortunately, this book is the worst book in the line that I've read (Sorcerer's Crusade, and the only one I haven't read yet is Witches and Pagans). In the end, this much needed book had some good ideas (I liked the breakdown of the various guilds, the interstitial fiction, and a few other things) but overall, it was a mess.

The primary problem is that the editor did a terrible, terrible job. The book was riddled with typos. I don't demand perfection, but the density was high and basic words had misspellings. Considering that the book was published in 2001, well after the advent of word processors and spell check, this is inexcusable. To be honest, though, I found the spelling errors to be annoying. What was worse than annoying were the other errors in the book. There were several references to the "nine Conventions" of the Order of Reason or to the "other eight Conventions." This is tough to have, considering that there are eight Conventions (and though the number varies over time, I don't believe there are ever more than eight, and certainly not on the Sorcerer's Crusade era). The book doesn't even manage consistency on material that originates in it: are there 13 or 14 Masters the rule the Order? Several times the number 13 is mentioned (it basically switches part way through the book) but earlier on describes 2 from each of 6 of the Conventions and then 1 from each of the remaining two. Finally, on the editing front, there is some inconsistent formatting: every single Convention gets a paragraph or two about who they are before launching into the guilds. Except, for some reason, the Artificers, who are first in the order!

Aside from the editing leaving much to be desired, the book is very inconsistent with the rest of the line. It feels like it was intended to be a standalone game with its own mechanics loosely based on Mage. But it can't be that, it's a supplement for the Sorcerer's Crusade line, and one of the later ones, so it needs to be consistent with what came before, at least setting-wise, or else it's providing a system update (perhaps to Revised, which had come out, but these rules are very much not Revised). The book likes to hand out "reroll 10s" like it was a Chronicles of Darkness game, as just a small boost with no other consequences. But it's doing so on rolls that it's normally extremely difficult to get to reroll 10s on, like Arete/Enlightenment rolls. The biggest one, though, is that it states, definitively, that Daedaleans with Arete up to three can't use vain Science. This directly contradicts the Artificer's Handbook and the Swashbuckler's Handbook. It also leans heavily on the idea of characters doing magick intuitively, without meaning to do anything at all, which flies in the face of Mage's conceit that magick is an expression of Will. Sorcerer's Crusade is a bit looser about the ST just declaring a character is doing magick without the player saying so, but still, this took things to a rather different degree.

Overall, this book was bad. I wanted to like it so much, and the parts in it that are good are great. But it BADLY needed a better editor, and perhaps a little bit more pre-writing work to make it feel more like it fits with the rest of the line.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Order of Reason
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mysterious Place: The Cabin
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2019 17:35:24

This book describes a setting / monster that is unique. A mysterious cabin that turns supernatural creatures mortal once again. There is something dark and twisted beneath the miraclious cure. This product provides classic and subtle horror that can be used in almost any of the Chronicle of Darkness lines.

The Tabletop Gaming Club really enjoyed using this setting, and strongly recommend it to storytellers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mysterious Place: The Cabin
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Ages Knightly Characters Gallery
by Jacob K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2019 05:03:21

Excellent and fairly historically accurate pictures that are very good value for money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages Knightly Characters Gallery
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

HIJACK: The Writer's Guide to the Strix
by Dominic B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2019 01:31:45

It'soverIt's over 5$ but less than 20 pages long. What's there is good but I'm having trouble justifying paying that much for so little content.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
HIJACK: The Writer's Guide to the Strix
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Swashbuckler's Handbook
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2019 22:27:53

I'm not quite sure what I was expecting (maybe a more action oriented book) but what I read wasn't it, and it was great. This book reads more like The Courtier's Handbook and because of that it's SO much more useful than the book I was expecting.

It contains a primer on the royal courts of Europe (and to a lesser extent Africa and Asia), and the people and Mages you might encounter there. Best of all, in the middle, it turned into a de facto High Guild Convention Book (with a dash of Ksirafai Convention Book) talking about subguilds and characters important not just to the High Guild but the entire Order of Reason and the Technocratic Union also.

The mechanical parts (rotes, wonders, abilities, merits and flaws, stunts, weapons etc) added a lot of flavor and make it a lot clearer how to run a character in the high paced world of court intrigue and Three Musketeers (any version) heroics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Swashbuckler's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Mirrors: Gabriel's Horn
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2019 17:22:55

Mirrors: Gabriel's Horn introduces us to a alternative setting for Chronicles of Darkness. The realm of Gabriel's horn is a prison for mortals whose sins are so great that darkness claims them, trapping them in a dark reflection of the world. The book provides alternate character creation rules, along with rules for spirts, ghosts, and the sins that make up rest of the realm.

The Tabletop Gaming club loved the setting presented in this book. A skilled storyteller can use this setting to bring out the psychological horror of realizing your trapped... you're friends aren't your friends but mere manifestions of the realm... We strongly recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirrors: Gabriel's Horn
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the kind review!
Sid's Real Life - Book 2
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2019 17:01:57

Sid's Real Life Book 2 continues the story of young Sid and R'sel. Like book one, the book is a very fun and quick read that leads you wanting for more. The author knows how to get his readers invested into the story.

The Tabletop Gaming Club recommends this book to everyone that likes to read. The story is captivating, we are sure that most readers will enjoy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sid's Real Life - Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Sorcerous Ways: Mystic Martial Arts
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2019 16:57:18

Sorcerous Ways Mystic Martial Arts introduces some new charms that combine sorcery with martial arts, that can be used by exalted or mortal (if the moral has the appropiate merit). The book focuses on the Empty Mind Style of martial arts, and presents charms/spells associated with this mystic martial art.

The Tabletop Gaming club found most of the concepts interesting. With a little work this concept could be expanded upon. For the price, we recommend this product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sorcerous Ways: Mystic Martial Arts
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

100 Glasswalker Kinfolk
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2019 14:45:37

100 Glasswalker Kinfolk is another solid contribution to the vault. This product is a useful tool when looking for quick npc with a little personality and background. The book gives us a 100 different character names with about a paragraph of background and personality information for each.

The Tabletop Gaming Club found the book useful during their weekly game and recommends this book to storytellers who want to flush out their Glasswalker based games with little work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100  Glasswalker  Kinfolk
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

OneShot - Rettet der Hambacher Forst
by Moritz V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2019 20:04:30

Eine spannende Idee, dieses aktuelle Szenario für Werwolf umzusetzen.

Leider ist die Erzählung wenig spirituell und hat auch wenig Horrorelemente. Alles erscheint aber mondän und menschlich, bis auf dass auf einmal auf einen Schlag hunderte Menschen getötet werden.

Da wäre mehr gegangen, keine genauer erklärten Plagen oder Fomori, keine gute Beschreibung der möglichen Handlungen der Spieler, wenig Dynamik, und die Haupthandlung nach dem "Baggerunfall" erscheint eher wie eine Zusammenfassung nachträglich unter ferner liefen...

Der Text strotzt vor Rechtschreibfehlern und Layoutglitches.

Ich glaube als Kinfolk-Abenteuer mit etwas Aufwand ganz nett umumsetzbar.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OneShot - Rettet der Hambacher Forst
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dying in Your Sleep
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2019 12:49:56

Dying in Your Sleep introduces us to a new Key and seven new manifestations associated with it. The book focuses on the theme of sleeping and dreaming which we found to be an interesting ascept to explore. There is also a section on crossing over with Changeling the Lost, which might make for interesting storytelling.

The Tabletop Gaming Club enjoyed the flavor of this product very much. We found that the powers presented in this book make for fantanstic storytelling when the campaign is written in such a way to make them shine. Definetely, can run some Nightmare on Elm street feeling games using these manifestations. We recommend this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dying in Your Sleep
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2251 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles