Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Razors and Thunderbolts: The Ksirafai
by Anders S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2018 10:04:56

Razors and Thunderbolts is a short but well written overview of the mysterious Ksirafai in Mage: the Sorcerers Crusade. It gives some good advice on how to use them either as player or non player characters. As NPCs these shady agents can be either protagonists, antagonists - or both!

What brings the score down for me is that a big part of this already thin book is made up by character concepts with full page character sheets. While very diverse and interesting, I would have preferred more background material, perhaps some example rotes or NPCs.

Overall a well written and good-looking book that appears rather thin, but still worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Razors and Thunderbolts: The Ksirafai
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the rating and review! I understand where you are coming from with the page count. I ultimately needed to make a choice whether to have printable character sheets that would be ready to use at the table or to go with a more condensed stat block for each pre-gen. I elected to go with the character sheet in keeping with older World of Darkness Tradition and Convention books. I found that in creating the text this did prove useful as a way of envisioning each character while looking at the spread with their image and stats in order to craft a backstory. Hopefully the included backstories each give players and Storytellers fertile enough seeds to drop these characters into a game while still illuminating life among the Ksirafai. In any event, I thank you VERY much for taking the time to review Razors and Thunderbolts. Reviews and ratings are massively helpful to both creators and customers. Thanks, Travis
These Mean Streets
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2018 18:58:16

Extremely well put together book to help with LARP games (Mind's Eye Theater), returning play to the scope of a few blocks or a city with the idea that drama of reconciling who you were with what you are, or the drama of trying to live an authentic life in a noir world of conspiracies and cloaks of respectability, can be just as grand as world-spanning tales of blood sorceries.

Needed another editing pass, admittedly, but the book is slick. Fonts are quite readable, structure of the book is to the point and a Storyteller or LARP participant or runner can easily find what they need for planning their game. But I'm a noir fan to begin with and the blend of reminding players about the noir and punk possibilities inherent in Vampire the Masquerade works well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
These Mean Streets
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Werewolf Gift Compilation
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2018 02:27:22

First off, I would like to state from the outset that the concept behind this book is absolutely solid. While vampires are creatures of stasis, werewolves are creatures of dynamism. As the world changes around them, so too should the Garou change, and so too should the Gifts that the Spirits reveal to them change.

A book like the Werewolf Gift Compilation is something that has been a long time coming, and to be completely honest, I’m not sure why it has never been addressed by OPP or WWGS on an annual time-table to keep the interest in the game – not to mention the game’s pulse - hammering along.

But that’s exactly why the Storytellers Vault exists, and author Zachary Ball has taken the bull by the horns with this endeavor.

When I first saw the book listed on the Storytellers Vault, to be completely honest, I was hoping for a Werewolf: the Apocalypse’s answer to The Enlightened Grimoire for Mage: the Ascension; a collection of all of the Garou Gifts that have been presented across 20 years and four editions of the game’s existence. However, it is important to note for anyone who is thinking this that the Werewolf Gift Compilation is not that book.

The Werewolf Gift Compilation is a labor of love collection of 80+ never-before-published Gifts for Gaian Garou to use at their Storyteller’s discretion. Some are interesting, albeit not all that well thought out and, on their surface, somewhat practical. Smolder, a Level One Wendigo Gift, is right up there in utility with the Level One Bone Gnawer Gift The Hungry Hound. The bonus being that Kinfolk can employ the Gift as well, making it even more valuable. Shadow Leap, a Level Four Shadow Lord Gift as an example, is one hell of an idea. I think it would have worked out better mechanically as a Level Two or Three Gift given what it achieves for the Garou employing it… and unfortunately, that seems to be the primary complaint that I found with the book as a collected work.

Most of the Gifts that are presented in The Werewolf Gift Compilation are grossly overpowered. A Level Six Gift called Silvered Rage that turns the Garou’s flesh into what is, effectively, a coat of armor made of silver (with no immediate Gnosis loss, and instead, an absolutely hideous botch consequence), Blood to Dust, while presenting as a Level Five Theurge Gift, allows a Garou to turn the Blood Pool of a vampire into dust on a Gnosis Roll at difficulty of 9… and while it’s a cool idea, it isn’t very practical at all in that you have literally a 20% chance per Gnosis point to turn a single Blood Point into dust and MAY be soaked by supernatural means, including Thaumaturgy Rituals or Paths… maybe.

The ideas behind most of the Gifts seem somewhat thought out, but not entirely, and the mechanics that govern the usability of the Gifts seem - for lack of a better word - clunky.

The Level Two Glass Walker Gift All Things Equal Glass is a nifty take on a concept that seems to be inspired by the “Gun Kata” used by the Tetragrammaton Clerics in the movie Equilibrium.

I will say that if you’re running a game with Kinfolk PCs that have the Gnosis Merit, then there are a few really interesting Level One Gifts that the Werewolf Gift Compilation can arm them with.

The organization of the book could have used a bit more work. I can appreciate the thought that went into organizing the Gifts in the manner with which they are presented, however, a functional Appendix which includes page numbers for each Gift would have been fantastic to have and would have only added to the overall usability and functionality of the book. Ease of use is a big deal… but I also understand from first-hand experience how difficult navigating InDesign Templates can be.

So, in closing, there are a few interesting ideas in the book. The Bunyip and Croatan Gifts are a nice touch, and while there are a handful of Gifts that I could see modifying for use by players or NPCs, many of the Gifts, as presented, need a nice bit of alteration before they're ready for table-top play. From both a writing - as well as a mechanical - perspective.

I think the most impressive aspect of Werewolf Gift Compilation is that it sets a previously non-existent bar for other books to follow, and to improve upon.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf Gift Compilation
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Curse of the O'Tolley's Burger
by Adrian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 17:42:07

These types of titles represent great investment for any Storyteller, and can easily be used to spawn entire chronicles. The format follows that a story seed is presented, some steps and avenues for exploration and (in some cases) resolutions are suggested, and then relevant statistics are provided for adversaries. In this title, the Pentex subsidiary O'Tolley's appears to be at the centre of an incident involving the Sept and it falls upon the Pack to investigate the sinister goings-on. Overall, the layout is very professional, clear attention to detail, and a strong writing style that demonstrates a great grasp of Werewolf: the Apocalypse. You can tell that the author has put a lot of thought into the logical flow of information, and with a little work, any Storyteller could adapt this to their table. It represents excellent value for money, and I'm keen to check out the rest of the range. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of the O'Tolley's Burger
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Bloody but Unbowed
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2018 00:02:21

Disclaimer: I was an accredited playtester. That being said, I had such a good time playing this scenario, I wanted to own it for a game I am about start.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloody but Unbowed
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

SotM's Guide to Storytelling
by Jon G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2018 07:05:17

This is an odd book. Elements of it are very good and practical. Others are gatekeepery, suggesting that if you’re not capable of doing postgraduate level research on your setting you need to sit on your hands.

At the end of the day it’s exactly what it says on the tin: Secrets of the Masquerade presents a guide to running games like she does. Self-limiting and sometimes disagreeable, but a fat sight more interesting than most of the Storyteller’s Vault because it’s focused on praxis instead of shovelling out More Content.

I endorse half of it, disagree with two fifths of it, and wish she’d cut some in favour of more depth for what she actually gives a toss about. Split down the middle, err in the author’s favour for trying to do something different and worthwhile.

Full review here...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
SotM's Guide to Storytelling
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Forgotten Thaumaturgies
by Eric G. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2018 05:05:38

Awesome! now my Tremere is going to be more legendary



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Thaumaturgies
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Forgotten Thaumaturgies
by Esther N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2018 00:58:46

I have been playing Vampire for many years and this book gives us new paths of thaumaturgy to explore, and some very interesting ones. Heavy Metal Sorcery is very fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Thaumaturgies
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2018 14:07:05

Forgotten Thaumaturgies is an interesting look at some new thaumaturigical paths. The concepts behind the path of Ghouldom and the Path of Mentorius were extremely interesting. Also interesting was the Heavy metal sorcery section, a path that combines music and magic.

There are a couple of issues with the book. Some of the paths seem to have issues with the mechanics. For example the path of mentorius focuses on magic that allows the sire to influence his or hir childe, but the fourth dot is a power that lets the childe use the skill of their mentor. Not sure how this is suppose to work, does both the childe and mentor need to have the ability?

In addition, the Combined Disciplines sometimes combine a discipline with a thamaturgy path, one even combines a thamaturgy path with thamaturgy itself.

In general, We recommend the book, but some of the paths need a little retooling to fit in most campaigns.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Sorry, bad translation, you copy the Ability, not the "skill". If your mentor has Brawl 3, you get Brawl 3 during a scene. You Ability is replaced for the mentor´s Ability. I´ll change that. Yes, you can combine Disciplines and Thaumaturgy, see Player´s Guide to Low Clans. If you have more doubts, you can tell me ;)
These Mean Streets
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2018 10:07:40

First off, I think that it's important to state that when it comes to Mind's Eye Theatre, I am NO EXPERT. But in all fairness, I don't think that you'd have to be an expert with the rules or the variations of the systems from tabletop to MET to see the germane utility of this book.

Written and developed by Drew Stevens, These Mean Streets takes a Vampire adventure back down from a massive mythology and returns it to a more intimate venue: a game that focuses on a Troupe and their interactions with their own, street-level politics, intrigue and concerns. From the opening of the book, I was - quite honestly - enthralled with the beauty of it. It is quite possibly THE MOST BEAUTIFUL Storytellers Vault Publication that I have ever seen to date. The photographs evoke a sort of quiet, first-person voyeuristic emotion and really add to the content and overall "feel" of the book's work. To be completely honest, I think that there's a part of me that would recommend These Mean Streets for no other reason than to work as a MODEL for other authors and layout/designers for the Storytellers Vault to sort of set the standard. The artwork and layout are literally without peer.

The book focuses not so much on the overarching intricacies of Kindred/Cainite lore and legend, but on how a younger vampire - generally, a newly Embraced vampire in the past two decades or so - would handle themselves and how they would view unlife in the modern setting of the current World of Darkness. There is an enormous amount of care taken not only to explain why the author is writing the book the way he is, but to explain why it is that his book is an asset to both players and Storytellers. He explains the use of the "Street Level" game, which is the human experience of the inhuman monster within the setting of Vampire: the Masquerade.

The architecture of the book is arranged so that the author takes the time in each section to actually TROUBLESHOOT your adventures with your players for you in anticipation of snags that could (and often times do) come up when you're dealing with intelligent people playing an intelligent game. Sometimes, players forget that their characters do not necessarily know what THEY know, and that their characters are not necessarily going to spend a whole lot of time learning what the players know. This is a very important distinction in play, from my standpoint, and I dig it. The author also takes time to explain that, while you may be playing an inhuman monster, you ARE STILL a human being doing so, and that you should be aware of the fact that the fellow members of your Troupe are human beings as well and deserve he respect - at all times - that human beings deserve because they're human beings. I find it SAD that he had to waste words SAYING this... but this is the world we find ourselves in: we seem to have to remind adults that they are adults and should adult... even when they're having fun.

The Setting Specific Mechanics are exceptionally cool. Unaccepted is, essentially, the PITCH of this setting in that NO VAMPIRE society is going to accept the Troupe yet. They have to rely on themselves and each other to get through the Modern Nights of the World of Darkness. This strengthens the individual character as well as her ties to her Troupe's characters and makes for a dynamic that is unimpeded by the somewhat tiresome concept of entering the city, being accepted by a Prince, finding Elysium, blah blah blah. There are simply more pressing matters for the Coterie to concern themselves with than Camarilla or Sabbat politik at this time.

The Setting Specific Merits & Flaws are absolutely awesome. So much so that I truly believe that they should (and could, with little effort at all) be adjusted and added to the tabletop rules for Vampire: the Masquerade. I'm not going to go into any of them here. Buy the book. They're worth it.

That same anti-spoiler ideology applies to the Backgrounds that are presented in These Mean Streets... or rather, the Backgrounds that are AMPLIFIED by the book. The author takes existing Backgrounds and teaches the reader how to best use them for characters and in regards to stories being told in a Street Level/Back Alley game.

Chapter Five explains the pros and cons of being a Vampire in the 21st Century of the Information Age, the Internet of Things, and the All-Seeing Eye - mechanics included - as it reflects on Kindred/Cainite society. To say that it's useful would be an understatement. It affords both players and Storytellers conceptualized ideas they they might not have thought about before where their Vampire games were concerned.

Chapter Six is undeniably the most interesting chapter of the book from my personal perspective: It explains the "Domains" of Blood, Sweat and Tears and affords Troupes the concepts for something very similar to Garou Questing, called Conspiracies in These Mean Streets. Examples of Mundane, Elaborate and Monstrous Conspiracies are provided.

All in all, a VERY SOLID and VERY BEAUTIFUL resource to add to any Mind's Eye Theatre game, and a boon for Storytellers looking to add something intimate and close-knit for their friends to play with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
These Mean Streets
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness
by Shannon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2018 05:13:18

First off, I want to make a bit of a personal declaration, and I hope that you'll all bear with me on this while I try to keep it from turning into a personal rant atop a soap-box.

I don't write reviews for books/supplements/jumpstarts/etc. that I don't like.

I learned a long time ago back when I was co-running Ex Libris Nocturnis (it was a great site. Ask your parents.) that there is already a massive amount of negativity present throughout the internet without me adding to it. Now, fast forward fifteen years into the FUTURE from that point, and the negativity has multiplied exponentially. It's one thing to write about something that you have a personal, vested interest in - sexism is bad, national socialism is bad, homophobia is bad - and tell the world about the negative emotions that it stirs within you... but a GAME? A game should NEVER stir up vitriol inside of of you. If it does, close the book and walk away from the game. Don't take the time to write a nasty, negative review of something you don't like because it's just not your cup of tea, or because the author(s) who wrote it didn't happen to write the book that you wanted to read or have written for you.

There's no point. It does nothing but make the internet more negative.

I only write reviews of things that I feel positively about in this iteration of me.

Now, that being said? I REALLY DIG Heirs to the Mountains of Madness.

Now, let me be clear here... this is NOT a complete setting. This is NOT a collection of Rotes and Spells and Adjustments and Procedures. This is NOT a stand-alone book to just give you a whole lot of crunchy purple-flavored goodness that adapts Mage: the Ascension rules to use with it.

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness is a JUMPSTART for a Chronicle, or if you'd like, for something smaller if you're playing with people who have never played Mage: the Ascension before.

The jumpstart is written by Josh Heath, the mastermind behind High Level Games, and I'm proud to call him my friend. However, have no illusions about THAT, either... just because I'm your friend doesn't mean I'm going to make the sign of the cross over every single thing that you write and call it scripture. To DO THAT would make me an unreliable peer, and I'd like to think that Josh and I are peers at this point where this stuff is concerned.

First off, if you've got friends who THRIVE on tromping around Lovecraftian New England, then you're going to love this jumpstart. It is literally packed with little odes to H.P., and I can't offer you too many details other than that without spoiling things. The name dropping is seamless with the manner in which Josh sutures Mage: the Ascension with Lovecraft's weird fiction. The jumpstart itself is set up for use by either Technocratic or Tradition Magi, and the plot synopsis of what you're going to be doing, why you're going to be doing it, and what happens when you do it are quick and dirty without being at all wordy.

Here's the deal, guys and gals... if you PLAY Mage: the Ascension, you're SMART ENOUGH to know what to do with this thing. If you're using it to kick off a Chronicle, then God's speed to you. If you're using it to introduce new players familiar with Lovecraft (or Hell, even Call of Cthulhu) to Mage: the Ascension, then make sure you download a copy of the Quickstart Guide to accompany this jumstart and everyone at the table will be more than ready.

All you need after that is guacamole and some mood music. Boom.

After the initial setup of what's going on, Josh does what he does BEST, in my personal opinion: he gives you READY-TO-PLAY characters. You have no need to generate a ton of NPCs, because they're all here, they're all viable, and they're all logical to the story.

Another quick note here: For the record, these Magi are NOT "overpowered" or "statted-out too high." They're high-end Magi who can make things happen and, if necessary, really push back if they're pushed against. They're not supposed to be freshly generated Mage PC templated. They're NPCs. They do what the PCs CAN'T readily do FOR the ST. Just thought I'd interject that, because it seems to be important, and I've read a couple of things lately about how "Mage NPCs seem to be overpowered."

No more so than a Vampire Elder... but whatever.

Now, within these NPCs, there's one named Walter Gilman.

I'm not sure if Josh did this on purpose or not, but it's FREAKIN' HILAROUS, especially if you're a fan of Lovecraft's works. The stats on this cat are PERFECT, and the punch-line is funny while still being dreadfully serious... like you DO with Mage.

So... you get a PLOT, an OUTLINE for a story with conflict, intrigue, the potential for weird, Lovecraftian-inspired Talismans/Wonders, SIX really cool pre-generated NPCs, and a nice HOOK that proves the point that Mage: the Ascension is the PERFECT SETTING for cosmic horror and weird fiction. If your players are into the Lovecraft cosmology, you REALLY need to check this jumpstart out.

You can thank me later for the recommendation. I wouldn't steer you wrong.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heirs to the Mountains of  Madness
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Vampire: The Masquerade - 2nd Edition
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2018 08:44:50

This is the definitive edition of Vampire: The Masquerade. The 1st edition certainly paved the way, but this slim hardcover was the book on the table anywhere you went within a year of its release. The glossy pages, effective black and white art, and strong focus on the gothic-punk setting thoroughly captured the magic that made Vampire the hit it became. Those of you who have only played later editions will note some major details missing from the book. The Sabbat is barely detailed (this is before the first real Sabbat guide was released). Many of the Disciplines could use a bit of balancing. The game has that sense of limitlness boundaries, and is not yet yoked to the pervasive overplot that would sell splatbooks but cripple the life of the game in the long run. A fantastic read, and entirely playable to this day. Still my go-to-edition, even with Revised, 20th, two editions of Requiem and now 5th edition existing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade - 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Progenitors Crash Cart, Issue 2
by Drew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2018 08:10:26

TL;DR: An excellent examination of a Progenitor hard at work, and the web of plots (tying to Mage, Werewolf, and Vampire) that swirl around him. The smattering of toys and rotes at the end are the icing on a delicious cake.

Progenitors Crash Cart: Issue 2 focuses on Dr. Evan Grillard, a model member of the Progenitors; by day working to help the medically underserviced and impoverished of Tampa, while at night... he engages in more questionable practices. Because Dr. Evan Grillard is a barabii, a Mage turned Nephrandus.

The majority of the book focuses on Dr. Evan's methods, both for work and for keeping himself safe from discovery (as well as the unfortunate fate of those who pierce his deception), and how a subset of Tampa's other supernaturals think about him. Grillard is an excellent character in himself, and better for having such a deep well of potential story hooks in so many directions. The ties to Tampa are also fairly shallow, which would make Grillard easy to transplant to other settings and games as needed.

The tail of the book has a handful of Artifacts and Rotes (excuse me; Enhancements and Procedures) which could see broad use in any Mage game, either as toys for the players or tools for antagonists.

The layout is generally solid (apart from the author's propensity to italicize words for emphasis maybe a little too often). The interior art is also excellent; in particular, the twisted Major Arcana style full page illustrations are just the right kind of grotesque and disturbing.

I can only find two criticism worth raising; first, we learn almost nothing about the other members of Grillard's Amalgam. Considering the detail we get about more tangential relationships, this feels like a sad oversight. Second, Dr. Grillard himself suffers from the same sort of stat inflation (Enlightenment 8? Seven spheres, rated at 3, and Life at 4?) very common to Mage NPCs.

But neither of these are remotely deal breakers. Crash Cart 2 delivers well on what it promises.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Progenitors Crash Cart, Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Bloodline Cambridge A Daytona By Night Supplement
by Drew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2018 18:55:12

TL;DR: Great concept of a bloodline based on twins, but it falls down a little on the execution.

The Cambridge Bloodline is a custom bloodline that exclusively Embraces identical twins from within the family. One twin receives the Embrace, while the other is ghouled in order to act as a caretaker and conscience. That's a really cool idea, and can work extremely well for antagonists- knowing that Alex is a vampire, and yet seeing her walking around during the day will be an excellent plot twist. I could also see the Cambridge bloodline being a lot of fun for the right players, although I suspect that it would have to almost be only the two players, or risk the game getting eaten by Cambridge Stuff (tm).

I do wish there was a bit more in there about what happens when one twin dies if the other lives, and/or playing with more identical twin weird synchronicity tropes.

The Discipline spread of the vampire side of the lineage is Dominate, Temporis, and Thaumaturgy -which makes very little sense, and feel like they were picked more for power than appropriateness. Temporis especially sticks out; I'm willing to give Thaumaturgy a pass (with a bit of a side eye) owing to the backstory and the mystical connection shared between the twins, but bringing Temporis should always mean a significant focus on the nature of time- really, it's a Discipline that should almost never show up in a bloodline unless you're playing directly in/with the Brujah/True Brujah split.

The combo disciplines at the end also suffer from this a bit. Cohabitation and Merging are basically just a superior Possession; Cohabitation also only requires Dominate 4 and Temporis 2, meaning that you could get Possession-but-Better before even getting actual Possession. In line with the 'wish for more twin hinky nonsense', I would rather have seen a custom Discipline in place of Temporis, focused on weird twin synchroncity stuff. Knowing where one another are, sharing senses, sharing Willpower, sharing blood, sharing damage, etc.

Presentation is generally solid. It uses the two column format, and I really like the Cambridge bloodline icon; it feels very fitting. The art is otherwise a bit spare, but generally well selected.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodline Cambridge A Daytona By Night Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness
by Drew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2018 13:50:10

TL;DR: A stylish book made with the promise of jump starting a Mage game of Lovecraftian horror-mystery, but only makes use of some Mythos-inspired set dressing.

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness is a name filled with the promise of Lovecraftian horror- but instead, mostly relies on Lovecraftian references. In Providence, RI, a Technocratic Amalgam and Tradition Chantry have both gone dark to their respective larger organizations, fallen under the sway of an ill-omened book. Said book claims to depict the means of creating a Nephrandic Caul- as well as a means to reverse the process.

As a hook for a Mage game, that's totally workable! But it's using the surface most trappings of Lovecraft's works, rather than either attempting to set up cosmic nihilistic horror, or introducing creatures or phenomena beyond the ken of man or Mage. I was hoping to see things like the Zigg'raugglurr (fourth dimensional entities that do crazy time-and-space shenanigans), or locations where the laws of reality (consensual or otherwise) were implied to be breaking down, and how that might change the way Awakened Magic works.

(An exception to this is the Ecstatic Mage, Walter Gilman, who has been possessed / is being transformed / consumed by some kind of intelligent spore, which is brilliant and the sort of creepy thing I'd want more of in a book with this name and concept)

Additionally, the NPC stats of the Mages are kind of wonky and on the rather high side. Arete ranges mostly from 4 to 6, with every character at least one dot in almost every or actually every Sphere, as well as either Mastery in one or multiple Adept rankings. (Poor Walter Gilman, again a Cult of Ecstasy member, and the only Mage in the book with no dots of Time- although this looks like it might have been an editing error)

The book looks like a professional White Wolf product; good use of the template, generally well-chosen art. The only quibble I have in terms of style is with a real photo used for one of the character portraits, while line art is used for all the others; the difference jumps out and is kind of glaring.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heirs to the Mountains of  Madness
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1947 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles