Storytellers Vault
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Gilded Cage
by Kyle B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2020 01:30:29

I found this to be a very dry read, compared to the other nine or so VtM books I've read. It repeats itself often and makes vague excuses why it can't provide more information/flavor on the topic at hand. That being said, it does cover the many ways vampires obtain influence in the mortal world. I especially liked how it empathesizes how differently the Sabbat operate from the Camarilla. I don't think it mentioned the Anarchs at all. There are quick snippets in most sections stating which clan(s) is most interested in which area of influence.

The two sections I found most useful: 1)How to run a business. It's just a quick snippet, but has super simple mechanics. 2)Political Landscape. Again it's just a quick few pages. Provides simple step by step instructions on how to create a web of intrigue. Ties everything together to make an interesting chronicle. Wish the whole book would have been like this!

So overall this book did not have to be 113 pages, half that would have been fine to get the main points across. I would have appreciated some lore tie ins, new mechanics, or just any flavor to spice things up. I would only recommend this if you're a completionist or are desparately trying to run a very political chronicle.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gilded Cage
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Dark Colony (WW2212)
by Stéphane R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2020 06:10:21

I'm very unhappy. I don't criticize the work of the authors but the work of the one who scanned the book. It's a very bad work. A lot of pages are blurred. Some are not even straight. I paid 8,88€. For this price I expected something better. Something professionnal. It's not. It doesn't deserve this price. I'm very disappointed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Colony (WW2212)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

200 Black Spiral Dancer Kinfolk
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 17:42:29

200 Black Spiral Kinfolk is another solid contribution to the vault. This product is a useful tool when looking for quick npc with a little personality and background. The book gives us a 200 different character names with about a paragraph of background and personality information for each.

The Tabletop Gaming Club found the book useful during their weekly game and recommends this book to storytellers who want to flush out their games with little work. The only issue is that there is a clear difference in the writing style and format of the second 100 characters in the book. The first 100 entries follow the same format as the other kinfolk books while the second set of 100 does not. This sudden change in format was a little jarring, but did not take away from the usability of the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
200 Black Spiral Dancer Kinfolk
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Endless Death, Volume Two: The Blood of Caine
by Oliver S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 12:29:22

Another excellent volume and as expected well worth the money. Wonderfully written with senerios for every clan and variants. Very interesting ideas & additions for Embrace scenes that will enrich the story for any of my new players! I will be adding almost all of this new material to expand our character roleplay (and will ofcourse be bringing this into our character videos on our Summaries of Darkness YouTube channel) and even managed to add one or two of the interesting lineages to work for our characters! Great attention to detail on the Baali depending on their Patrons. The Becoming section was very well thought out and seemed like the writers really touched on the core concepts of game; that element of personal horror.

Thankyou once again and keep up the good work, looking forward to the next volumes especially Four&Five!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Endless Death, Volume Two: The Blood of Caine
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Sorcerer Revised Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 01:04:24

This book was a substantial expansion and update of World of Darkness: Sorcerer, but had many problems that the previous edition lacked. First, the good: the powers were updated nicely, including some Paths being made substantially more useful without, in general, being overpowered. The Fellowships were good, and including psychic powers and Fellowships made the book seem more complete. There were, however, some bad things as well. Much of the ST advice is generic to the point of recommending that the best way to have a lower power game is to give out less XP. The Merits and Flaws section was mostly lackluster, with two standout bad merits: Blood Magic which gives no benefit whatsoever as written and Struggling Awake, which allows a sorcerer to use Forces 5 one time in ten (they are, in fact, the same price). Another odd thing was that there were not one but two factions of nasty sorcerers whose entire Fellowship was founded on hating Jews, which was a bit uncomfortable, though one was largely broken. And another big piece of bad advice was that a mage could possibly have numina, a thing that is implicitly declared impossible in other books.

Overall, it's a good book with some weird aspects that are best ignored or require fixing, a solid update of World of Darkness: Sorcerer to Revised Edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sorcerer Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

10 Animalistic Features
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2020 22:28:43

This PDF gives you exactly what it says it will. It's given me some good ideas to use for when my Gangrel players (and the rare Nosferatu that takes the Bestial flaw) frenzy. I might try a couple of them out myself in an upcoming LARP where I'm planning to play a monsterous Gangrel with a frenzy problem. It's a quick read and a handy resource to have, while implementing some new ways to use the Gangrel clan flaw.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10 Animalistic Features
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Many thanks for this wonderful review! I hope it serves you well!
Mage Made Easy: Advice from That Damn Mage Guy
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2020 16:33:30

TL;DR the book covers what the title says and has some useful suggestions. If you are a Mage fan this book has ideas for you. If players/STs are struggling then I definitely recommend this book. If you are a Mage expert, maybe this book is just a 3/5 for you, since experts likely have many proven dynamic pitches, plus the ability to quickly adapt and personalise chronicles; but maybe they’d still get something from this book, or enjoy reading more Mage things.

For those wanting more details, here is a deep dive. From my experience, players new to Mage typically fit into one of the following non-exhaustive groups:

A) Those that need help with the scale and implications of the setting. Character creation alone introduces a lot of Factions; does a player need an overview of each?

B) Those that struggle with the concept of what Spheres can do, plus maybe the rest of Mage’s metaphysics: Paradox and its many manifestations, the different realms, and in particular the topic of what counts as Coincidental / Witnesses / Vulgar magick.

C) Those that also that struggle with A + B.

D) Those that struggle with neither.

For people wanting more advice for dealing with Group B, I can appreciate why some might give the book a 3/5. However, from a certain P.o.V., Satyros does provide advice about the Spheres, from Focus over Spheres, ways to reconsider Witnesses and Vulgar Magick, different ways to use Paradox, to highlighting centring a game low level characters and stories, on more mundane but personal matters. My advice is don’t be quick to dismiss how these threads interact with each other.

Some might think advising people to strip back the scale of Mage, especially given the vast number of books, never mind just looking at the size of Mage 20th, is a simple and maybe even useless answer. I disagree, years ago I used to talk about the rich setting and the fun creativity of the Spheres, some of the players admitted to being intimidated before they began. When I returned to Mage I had an easier time persuading some new players to explore the game by focusing on the personal, not trying to summarise lots of factions, history, or metaplot.

I particularly liked the Arcane Approaches section. Whilst some may view this section as being weak or even obvious, maybe in hindsight it is. Personally, I think it helps make things easier, especially when combined with the rest of the book.

Will players in Group D benefit from this book? The title itself then should be an obvious indication to them about the book’s goal. It seems unlikely that Group D will see this book as a must read; I don’t think it is for them, but if someone enjoys reading Mage books, then I’d recommend this.

Could this book have gone further for those in Group B? Maybe, but I’m not sure more explanations will achieve what some are after. I’ve not experienced long-term problems with people in Group B, since over the course of a chronicle they have learned their characters range and explored different potential; but, I appreciate others may have different experiences. There are other products available that look at the Spheres, Nodes, etc., and maybe this work will inspire another product focusing on the details that some are after.

I enjoyed the book and I think this book succeeds in its goals, 5 drivethrurpg, 4 on Goodreads. :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage Made Easy: Advice from That Damn Mage Guy
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2020 16:09:48

Interesting take on a Storyteller's Guide. While no mechanics are involved per say, the core of this work really focuses on helping the ST make the game their own for all versions of Mage: The Ascension (1, 2, Revised, 20). Clear cut layout and "Story Hooks" to use as examples for gameplay make this a valid addtion to any Storyteller's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Chicago S.W.A.T. (An Introductory Story for V20)
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2020 09:41:26

Chicago SWAT is a very well written adventure for the world of darkness, in which the players take the roles of five chicago police officers who must navigate their way through a world where vampires are real.

The Gaming Club enjoyed playing through this story, but then the harsh reality of the real world came crashing into the game. The big issue in this game is thy players are playing police officers, which almost none of them have any redeeming qualities. One of them is actually described as assassinating criminals instead of arresting them unless stopped. Now this book was written before the tragic shooting of George Flyod,but the PC's presented in this book a perfect reflections of what is wrong in the real world police departments.

This product is very well done.... and we think at any other time a book like this might have been acceptable. We would strongly recommend the authors to maybe rework the pregenerated PC's and their moviations. The world needs examples of good cops... not corrupt cops. Leave the corrupt cops to the NPCs. Let the PC's be the heros not the villians.

This product would have been a 5 star product if the subject matter was slightly different.

Sorry that this review had to to be influenced by real world situations.

Note: We just wanted to mention as a follow up to the review. That the Tabletop Gaming Cllub's stance is that the world of darkness games are a line of games where the players are suppose to try play characters that are trying to resist falling prey to thier own inner beasts and demons, even while surrounded by a world of darkness. We are aware many of the new editions of the games fail to emphasis that part of the game, and even encourage players to play characters that embrace their inner monsters. That being said, Chicago SWAT does focus on those dark choices and its ultimately up to the players and the GM on how to face these issues. That being said the club is happy that we do have this well written and thought out product in our library, and we will play it again numerous times over the years, but we will be tweaking aspects to present at least the player characters in a more positive light



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago S.W.A.T. (An Introductory Story for V20)
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
I thank you for your very well written and thought out review. Over the past few weeks I have been struggling with what this book means in the current climate of police brutality and protests against such. I started writing this book almost 3 years ago, when things were not different, but not as publicized. If anything, please know that I intentionally wrote the "heroes" (PCs) to be confusing at best in the hopes that the players would ask difficult questions. Whether racial profiling is acceptable is built into this book. Whether brutality is acceptable is built into this book. I did think about all these things, even before George Floyd's murder happened, in an effort to confront these issues. IMHO this is what the World of Darkness -SHOULD- be; a way in which we, as gamers, can discuss relevant real life issues.
By Banner Bound
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2020 15:52:15

By Banner Bound expands of the banner houses presented in the C20 Player's Guide. Chapter one is dedicated to expanding the Banner Houses by detailing a numerous houses. Chapter two details three of the Arcadian house while chapter three details the severtal clans. The appendix provides us with the new art convoke, along with several new treasures.

By Banner Bound is a well written supplement and we found it useful in our Changeling campaign. The Tabletop Gaming Club strongly recommends this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By Banner Bound
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Manual of Exalted Power: Eternals
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2020 15:43:36

The Manual of Exalted Power: Eternals is a 294 page book that introduces us to a new type of Exalted the Eternal. This book is packed full of good stuff and is high quality. The authors provided us with both a rich background for the Eternals as well as balanced rule mechanics to play on of these Kharmic Exalted.

The Tabletop Gaming Club truely enjoyed this produced and have included Eternal exalted in our campaigns with out disrupting the balance of our game. We strong recommend this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Manual of Exalted Power: Eternals
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

The Long Road
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2020 15:34:36

All about the road for your hunters. First chapter has some rules about driving, vechicle times and long with new edges, merits and flaws. The second chapter gives a storyteller some advice and rules for "heat", which appear to be a reskinning of rules from Blades in the Dark. The second chapter also introduces 'vehicle archetype' which denotes the personality of a vechicle. The final chapter is content (location, people) to use in a game.

The books suffers from some layout issues, even the table of contents is incorrect. Though the book does make some nice references to other producted which can be helpful. Overall the book is interesting and the gaming club is happy to have a copy in their library.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Long Road
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Legacy: Nightwalker Second Edition
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2020 15:07:05

Legacy Nightwalker 2nd edition is a quite short presentation of an Acanthus variant : unseelie inspired mage. The attainments presented look reasonably well balanced.

Almost nothing bad to say about the way it is presented, the biggest one would be the backcover being used in the text.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy: Nightwalker Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Orpheus Character Creation Quick Reference
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2020 15:03:16

This reference book is an impressive work putting all the references in one place. However that is only the references, don't expect to create a character with that. We suppose they couldn't legally put everything there but it will help the storyteller collect everything in one document. Minor faults in the production but overall it's very neatly done.

The Tabletop Gaming Club recommends this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orpheus Character Creation Quick Reference
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks much for the feedback If you find an error in the .pdf, please feel free to let me know by email at raymonddidit at gmail!
Les Héritiers des Montagnes de Folie
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2020 15:00:15

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness is a jump start adventure for Mage the Ascension. Being a jump start, the product does only give a little bit of background and story direction. Though the initial spark provided does give a wide variety of directions for the story to go in.

The Tabletop Gaming Club did enjoy this product but the we were a little dispointed in the advertised Ctlhulu story hook, as it was a little underdeveloped. Overover the book is worth its current price of $1.49.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Les Héritiers des Montagnes de Folie
Click to show product description

Add to Storytellers Vault Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2625 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles